1. Muxi

    Muxi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Germany
    Is not an emummc.kip in the atmosphere folder required? So far, 4mxw has not released anything!
     
  2. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,301
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    He "released" it multiple times on discord.
     
  3. Banner24

    Banner24 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
    i boot always into the RCM after the atmosphere logo :O
     
  4. Chocola

    Chocola GBAtemp Meowgular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Some users said that they didn't need it, on my case I have the patches and work fine (but with partition method).

    If you need the patches, I compile both from 4mxw repository, let me search my thread and I link it to you for the patches.

    Found: https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-setup-atmosphere-emummc.541060/page-2#post-8679301

    You can download the patches here if you don't like to compile yourself.
     
    Last edited by Chocola, Jun 19, 2019
  5. Muxi

    Muxi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Germany
    Ahh, I've paid my attention to his github.....Thanks for this advice

    Thanks for that. I have already tested the last version from Discord, as well as the linked version of this file in vain. Are there any additional steps required for the emuMMC file version?

    In addition to the kip file in the atmosphere folder, I also created a folder "emummc" in root, in which there is an emummc.ini with the following content:

    [emummc]
    emummc_enabled = 1
    emummc_path = /emummc/nand
    emummc_nintendo_path = /emummc/content

    I have placed the split image nand files (created via SX OS) in the folder emummc / nand and set the archive bit for this nand folder.
    What have I done wrong, or overlooked?
     
    Last edited by Muxi, Jun 19, 2019
    Rocca likes this.
  6. Banner24

    Banner24 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
    I did this:
    [emummc]
    emummc_enabled = 1
    emummc_path = /EmuMMC

    and created a folder in the EmuMMC named eMMC and there were the boot0, boot1 and 00.
    But i get a boot into RCM, now i try fat32 with the new kip files, i think my was broken.
     
    Last edited by Banner24, Jun 19, 2019
  7. Muxi

    Muxi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Germany
    But what about the archive bit, which, according to Changelog, has to be set for the folder with the nand files? Did not you do that?

    or does the archive bit have to be applied to the entire folder structure?
     
    Last edited by Muxi, Jun 19, 2019
  8. Banner24

    Banner24 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
    I thought I knew what meant, but meanwhile I do not know.
    I'm sorry.
     
  9. Chocola

    Chocola GBAtemp Meowgular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Korea, South
    The config are correct, and didn' extra step are required, but as I read, the SX OS emunand put a "signature" on the first file and atmos expect the boot0 on this place, so it's possible that you need trim the signature from the first file (the first 1024 bytes) to do this on linux you can do with dd, on Windows I don't know:

    Code:
    dd bs=1024 skip=1 if=<first sx emunand file> of=<new first emuMMC file>
    But I don't know if with this work or you should realign all data after this, but i'm sure that this are falling on your emuMMC setup.
     
  10. Muxi

    Muxi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Germany
    This is the section from the changelog, the bold marked area describes this:

    Support is also included for redirecting NAND to a collection of loose files on the SD card.
    • This can be done by setting emummc!emummc_path to the folder (with archive bit set) containing the NAND boot partitions' files "boot0" and "boot1", and the raw NAND image files "00", "01", "02", etc. (single "00" file with the whole NAND image requires exFAT mode while multipart NAND can be used in both exFAT and FAT32 modes).
     
  11. Chocola

    Chocola GBAtemp Meowgular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Korea, South
    Yes, on file based method the archive bit are required, the files that SciresM talk are the backup files generated by Hekate, if you don't want waste time fixing the generated files by SX tools you can extract them with Hekate, for split image files you just need put a FAT32 SD card on your Switch, Hekate gona dump it splited because the FAT32 didn't allow files more larger than 4GB and these files are 100% valid for emuMMC without need any extra step.
     
  12. Muxi

    Muxi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Germany
    Nice shit .... I knew that the thing has a catch ... of which I understand nothing. I have to try it now with a Hekate Nand backup. Too bad that I have only an account link in my SX OS file emunand .........

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I know....I have not used exFAT on the SD card in the console for a long time because of the danger of data corruption. I am Mr. FAT32!
     
  13. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,548
    Country:
    Chile
    You need to delete previous system modules installed on titles folder, for example emuiibo, freebird, sys-clk, and that app ti light up the home button. Or else the system will get stuck on Switch logo :c
     
  14. Zidapi

    Zidapi GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,091
    Country:
    After copying across the new files can I update via System Settings?

    I usually use Choi but the “Sith” hasn’t added the 8.1.0 files, and I don’t have access to a PC right now.
     
    rufuszombot likes this.
  15. Muxi

    Muxi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Germany
    Is there anyone here who has already emuMMC as a file variant, already running?
    I did not manage it with the Hekate Nand Backup either ........

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I have no modules installed by hand, but use the start-setting of Atmo Release 0.9.1
     
  16. Dave_Chad

    Dave_Chad GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    I have tried but still can't get file variant running.
     
    Muxi likes this.
  17. Muxi

    Muxi GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Germany
    As it seems, currently only the partition variant runs satisfactorily, although in my opinion the file variant is more recommendable because of the user-friendliness.
     
    loler55 likes this.
  18. stick267

    stick267 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2018
    Messages:
    595
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty cool that the emuMMC funtionality works with an already-created SXOS hidden partition. I've had that running for like a year so it's nice to just keep it rolling with that.

    What's everyone's plans for their emuMMC setup? My sysMMC (I guess we should call it that now) is on 5.1 so I'm gonna keep it there for the eventual PegaScape functionality. Then I'm thinking two separate emuMMCs:

    One clean, up-to-date emuMMC for legitimate/online play and one dirty emuMMC for offline homebrew/NSP usage.
     
    PHiLiPZ likes this.
  19. qris1

    qris1 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Sweden
    I just updated to the latest version of Athmosphere, injected latest hekate and when I launch the cfw the Athmosphere logo pops up and then black screen, everytime I try. But I'm still in RCM. Any ideas?
     
  20. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,284
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hekate doesn't work with the latest Atmosphere I believe.
    Try using fusee instead of Hekate for booting up.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - development, Atmosphere, Firmware