Atmosphère 0.17.0 released; Fusée now supports Mariko units

atmos.png
The 42nd official version for Atmosphère, version 0.17.0, is now available from @SciresM . While it comes with several updates, the most significant one is the Fusée support for Mariko units. The developer notes that Fusée was heavily rewritten in order to add support this hardware but also points out that Mariko hardware currently have no software exploits. Fusée works when loaded from bootloader context with the right keys in the security engine. Fusée-primary was also updated in the 0.17.0 version.

This update also fixes an issue with Erista hardware in the way shutdown is performed and reduces power drain on these consoles from within Atmosphère. The full changelog since the last release can be found below:

  • fusee was heavily rewritten in order to add support for Mariko hardware.
    • Please Note: Mariko hardware currently has no (and may not ever have any) software exploits; fusee works when loaded from bootloader context with the right keys in the security engine. No means of getting the system into this state is provided.
  • An issue was fixed in the way shutdown was performed on Erista hardware.
    • This fixes an issue that caused OFW to black screen on boot after power off from atmosphere without first doing a reboot.
    • This also substantially improves power drain when the system is shut off; consoles powered off from Atmosphere should now drain battery at the same reduced rate as original firmware.
  • A number of minor changes were made, including:
    • A number of inconsistencies in the build system were fixed.
      • For those building atmosphère at home, the boot sysmodule will no longer rebuild every time make is invoked.
      • This substantially improves build times during development iteration.
    • sm was updated to more accurately reflect how official code manages request deferral.
    • mesosphère was updated to more accurately reflect official kernel management of the trace buffer.
    • mesosphère was updated to improve kernel loader's logic by taking advantage of the assumption that we only boot our kernel, not Nintendo's.
  • As it has been a few months with zero reported issues, mesosphère is now opt-out.
    • Users who wish to begin using or continue using mesosphere should use the standard/cool kids zip ("atmosphere-").
    • Users who wish to opt-out of mesosphere should download and extract the opt-out zip ("atmosphere-WITHOUT_MESOSPHERE-").
  • Several issues were fixed, and usability and stability were improved.

You can grab Atmosphère 0.17.0 via the official GitHub page linked below.

:arrow: Atmosphère GitHub Page
 

codezer0

Gaming keeps me sane
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
3,559
Trophies
2
Location
The Magic School Bus
XP
4,438
Country
United States
Okay, good to know Atmosphere can support a Mariko switch. but considering Nintendo went ballistic and arrested all of team xecuter, how the hell am I expected to get an SX Core to install on it? never mind that micro-soldering is beyond my skill levels and I'd just as likely fry my Switch trying to install it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: digipimp75

ahan

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
179
Country
United States
Spacecraft NX. Requires you to remove your backplate and plug in your modchip to your PC to write to the chip. Afterward you just put Hekate or fusee-primary on the root of your SD card named "payload.bin"
oh like the little USB part? And can I do this before I install the core?
 

Kioku

猫。子猫です!
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
11,915
Trophies
2
Location
In the Murderbox!
Website
www.twitch.tv
XP
15,904
Country
United States
oh like the little USB part? And can I do this before I install the core?
I want to say yes..You can try. I had someone else install my SX Core.

If I'm honest though? I'd install it like normal. Then once you know the chip works, flash Spacecraft.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

i'd rather just get an unpatched switch, and chip it, and not have to spend 80-100 bucks extra to do the same, unless a newer chip comes out...
Understandable. I do hope that they push out a newer chip.
 
Last edited by Kioku,

ClickCLK

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2009
Messages
79
Trophies
1
XP
1,444
Country
Serbia, Republic of
You mean stealing Atmos (and Nintendo) code and charge for it when you can download it for free? Or maybe release a chip that ruined hundreds of consoles around the world?

Sorry for offtopic, but how does sx modchips ruined consoles?. Not defending/judging, just really interested.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quarions

Quarions

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
91
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
732
Country
France
You mean stealing Atmos (and Nintendo) code and charge for it when you can download it for free? Or maybe release a chip that ruined hundreds of consoles around the world?
Nice straw man.
Not only a straw man but also making up obvious lies. What a genius.

Your IQ is even lower than what I initially thought that’s crazy.
 
Last edited by Quarions,

Deleted member 668561

GBAtemp Official Psychonaut
Banned
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
1,875
Trophies
0
Location
somewhere within 4 dimensional space-time
XP
2,654
Country
United States
You mean stealing Atmos (and Nintendo) code and charge for it when you can download it for free? Or maybe release a chip that ruined hundreds of consoles around the world?

Wtf? Why does it matter, you're using code to run stolen and pirated/unlicensed software, whether the code is made by one unlicensed dev or another, either way in the end all (99%) people care about is pirating, it's not even about homebrew anymore


If you don't like it, make your own cfw and functioning mod chip, and give it away for free....
 
Last edited by Deleted member 668561,
  • Like
Reactions: Quarions

ahan

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 22, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
18
XP
179
Country
United States
I want to say yes..You can try. I had someone else install my SX Core.

If I'm honest though? I'd install it like normal. Then once you know the chip works, flash Spacecraft.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Understandable. I do hope that they push out a newer chip.
would it be easier to boot atmosphere on the clones when they come out
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    For batch operations.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Massivley so. Glad I'm getting more experienced with it now
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Hey can you make this [inane change] on 50 servers?" Yes.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The scenario in question is to do disk erases on some storage servers at my job that have I think 12x 14TB spinners, SATA SSDs, and nvme disks. The process I'm using to erase the spinners is to kick off an ATA Security Erase in the disk's firmware, then once that's done do a dd zero-fill as a second pass.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    These spinners take like 22h per each of those operations
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'll admit sometimes it takes me longer to write and debug a script that will do that for me, than it would take me to make the changes manually, but this is more fun.
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And running it over a serial console I'd either have to spin up a dozen and a half screen sessions or just run one operation at a time
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Wrote a horrifyingly long one-liner to do all of that - spin up a shitload of screen sessions, run these commands to it, pipe output to kmsg so it shows up in the default tty's shell, and some other shit on top of that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't you run pssh?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Some day I'll write out a properly formatted shell script that lives on our firmware server or git repo and just call that, and have that handle every kind of server we run much more gracefully than my hobbled together atrocity does right now
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pssh - nope. 1, what I'm doing gets done from our bootable provisioning environment, and you can only interface with that via serial console - we don't accept ssh connections on the servers in that state, and 2, I don't even know if our bootable environment has pssh baked into it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    3, I've never even heard of it before lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Anyway I can open serial console sessions to multiple devices at the same time, and broadcast my input to all of them (iTerm on Mac is the terminal emulator I'm using). It's just a matter of how many commands I'd have to run by hand, and how long they'd take otherwise lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just assumed you were working via SSH. I know my way around that. If a server is only accessible locally it's waaay beyond saving from my end so I let the DC team work on that :tpi:
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I *am* the DC team :P the remote arm of it, anyway
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Trust me, I wish I could do everything I need to do via ssh. Working through these serial console servers suuuuuucks in comparison
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    SSH rules
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I love that there's a network filesystem that runs on top of ssh - sshfs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I use it in most of my home network for mounting network storage in various *nix VMs
  • Veho @ Veho:
    sshfs you say...
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I use SFTP but it doesn't have the bells and whistles.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Dumb dx11 and lutris
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    sshfs allows you to mount networked storage on a machine as a FUSE filesystem. It's sftp under the hood but has all of the interactivity and usability you'd expect of a locally mounted filesystem. Downside, it can slow down a little bit with massive directories, but I haven't personally run into that yet
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    This perspective is all linux oriented fwiw. I believe there's an sshfs driver for Windows, but I haven't used it yet. and no idea for MacOS
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ftp is life if not on wifi
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Ftp is life if not on wifi