Apparently, R4 doesn't have 100% Compatibility...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Nero, Oct 5, 2007.

Oct 5, 2007
  1. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    *Taken directly from http://wiki.scorpei.com/index.php/R4_compatibility_list*

    1321 Machi no Pet - Ya - San DS (J) (Loli) 1.11 Freezes on main screen

    This is probably old news, but the R4DS no longer has 100% DS Rom Compatibility.

    ~Good thing that it isn't a game that anyone plays, and cares/knows about.

    [​IMG] R4DS
     


  2. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    Ya, not to be an ass, but no shit.
     
  3. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    Well, sorry for not knowing.

    I always assumed that R4 had 100% Compatibility, so I never checked. [​IMG]

    I was, however, checking Homebrew compatibility, and I saw that ROM was marked red.

    P.S: Don't click on the link, I accidently mixed it with the asterick at the end, and it leads to a different part of the site; that leads you to a... Weird website. [​IMG] Forgive me.
     
  4. wiithepeople

    Member wiithepeople ^^didn't play it that much, but I love it =D

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    the banned
    Country:
    United States
    If no one cares why did you post this?
     
  5. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Welcome to the internet.
     
  6. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] Thanks for the comeback Urza.

    [​IMG] I was gonna say something back.. but meh..

    Did you get your AKR.P.G yet? I haven't seen you mention it yet.
     
  7. Vermilion

    Newcomer Vermilion Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    France
    We don't give a s***, certainly an annoying game [​IMG]
     
  8. CannonBallZ

    Member CannonBallZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United States
    Good to know MisterNero, and to all those snippy idiots posting...
    SHHHHHHHH...
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The R4 actually does patch games in memory. Games from the same company can usually use the same patching method, but if a new developer appears there's a chance a new firmware update will be needed to fix the internal patching methods. I know it takes "clean roms" and it doesn't modify the actual files, but it does do on-the-fly patching, as do most slot-1 devices.
     
  10. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    People will care when the incompatability that is causing that game to not function starts to affect games that they care about.
     
  11. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Bamboogaming is the only place that has them right now, but I'm not paying 90USD then waiting two weeks for shipping.

    PSXboy HAD them, but apparently sold out two hours before I checked. Only 75USD there.
     
  12. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The R4 didn't have 100% compatibility before that game came out. If you have to fix a game with another 'ARM7' file that doesn't mean the Flash cart has 100% compatibility


    So...there [​IMG]
     
  13. Nero
    OP

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Well, retman.

    If the game is playable, then it is compatible with the R4, right?

    [​IMG] However, in my case; the game is unplayable (Won't boot up)
     
  14. pkprostudio

    Member pkprostudio No

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    As long as it's some stupid Japanese game, no one cares.

    And yes, R4 have 100% compatibility. How many of you guys downloaded that game and found out it didn't work?
     
  15. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh...Worms Open Warfare 2, doesn't work unless ARM7Fix. There's at least one other game.
     
  16. pkprostudio

    Member pkprostudio No

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I'm talking about the stupid game nobody cares about.

    As long as it will work at some point, it's compatible to me.
     
  17. Jeda

    Member Jeda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Just testes both with and without Arm7 fix. Have to confirm freezing in both cases. Works without problems in No$gba so image should be fine.

    And I do believe this kind of thread is important, even if it is just a stupid jp doggy game no one cares about [​IMG]
     
  18. pkprostudio

    Member pkprostudio No

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    As long as I can play the games I want, I consider R4 to have 100% compatibility. [​IMG]
     
  19. hanman

    Member hanman I'm a pretty lucky guy

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Galbadia Garden
    Country:
    United States
    by that reasoning, if there were only 3 games you wanted to play, and only those 3 games worked, then the cart would still have 100% compatibility.

    YOUR LOGIC FAILS
     
  20. pkprostudio

    Member pkprostudio No

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    But I did not said that I only want 3 games. Besides, why would I care for a game I will not play.

    MY LOGIC RULEZ
     

Share This Page