Hacking Anyway to use more than 64GB SD card internally?

blazingwolf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
564
Trophies
1
XP
1,048
Country
United States
I bought an SDXC card, not noticing that the 3DS does not support SDXC due to only being able to format in exFAT and NTFS, which 3DS can't read. I found a tool that will let me format it in FAT32 but I can only use a 32GB parition.

1. Are there SDHC 64GB+ cards?
2. Is there a way to format this card so I can use all 64 GB or should I just return this card get a 32GB one? I only plan to use this for my 3DS so it just looks like I'm wasting money and space.
 

leerpsp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
1,742
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,871
Country
United States
Return it and get a 32gb, The 3ds can only support any thing above 32gb so you are stuck with 32gb or below.
 

leerpsp

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
1,742
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,871
Country
United States
Return it and get a 32gb, The 3ds can only support any thing above 32gb so you are stuck with 32gb or below.

Disregard that I did not mean to double post.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,385
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,017
Country
Norway
I bought an SDXC card, not noticing that the 3DS does not support SDXC due to only being able to format in exFAT and NTFS, which 3DS can't read. I found a tool that will let me format it in FAT32 but I can only use a 32GB parition.

1. Are there SDHC 64GB+ cards?
2. Is there a way to format this card so I can use all 64 GB or should I just return this card get a 32GB one? I only plan to use this for my 3DS so it just looks like I'm wasting money and space.
It should work as long as you format it to FAT32. Windows won't do it for unknown reasons, you can use easeus partition master.
 

blazingwolf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
564
Trophies
1
XP
1,048
Country
United States
Yeah I've got it formatted but can only use 32GB, I don't know if these programs will format 64GB partitions using FAT32, I think 32GB is hard limit.
 

blazingwolf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
564
Trophies
1
XP
1,048
Country
United States


I did, and I can only get it to format the first 32GB of the card, I need to know if its actually possible to create a FAT32 partition using the entire 64GB.
 

mrolive

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2014
Messages
547
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
462
Country
Canada
It is possible. Albeit 32GB is the official limit there are reports of even 128GB SDXC working provided it is forced to fat32 format.

Not sure why Nintendo would limit the 3DS at 32 GBs. Pretty much makes going all-digital redundant.
 

Searinox

"Dances" with Dragons
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
2,073
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
Bucharest
XP
2,203
Country
Romania
32GB is not a hard limit. Third party software will FAT32 format 64 and even 128GB cards easily. The FAT32 filesystem limit specification is around 2-8 Terabytes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mmn

Deleted member 177877

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 13, 2009
Messages
254
Trophies
0
Location
Chi Town
XP
162
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: ground

Searinox

"Dances" with Dragons
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
2,073
Trophies
1
Age
36
Location
Bucharest
XP
2,203
Country
Romania
Not sure why people are still using random programs. Should only be using the official SD formatter to format SD cards:
https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter_4/

Nintendo also recommends using the tool above to format SD cards:
http://en-americas-support.nintendo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/220/~/how-to-format-an-sd-card

This tool should allow you to format the card to FAT32. If you still only see 32 GB after formatting, you got a fake/counterfeit card.
Because the official SD Formatter abides to the specifications and REFUSES to format an 64+GB card in anything except exFAT or NTFS. The idea here is to break the rules and force the card to format in the officially unsupported format: FAT32.
 

Alexisss

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
104
Country
United States
The reason why a lot of format tools don't support formatting >32gb as FAT32 is because FAT32 was not designed to handle that large of storage. It can, it just wasn't designed for it, so the further you go beyond 32gb, the slower it gets. Microsoft also probably struck a deal with SD and the major manufacturers, giving them cheaper licenses if they agree to format the card as ExFAT. This way companies like Nintendo, Android phone makers, camera makers, etc are forced to buy the much more expensive licenses for ExFAT rather than the much cheaper FAT32 licenses.
 

blazingwolf

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
564
Trophies
1
XP
1,048
Country
United States

RandomUser

Rosalina in Plush Form
Member
Joined
May 9, 2010
Messages
967
Trophies
1
XP
1,042
Country
United States
I don't know if it will work or not, most likely not. If you have VMWare Workstation, you could mount that SD card as "physical drive" for a virtual hard drive, then boot up guess OS and the disk manager in Windows should give you the option to create and format the drive as FAT32 to full capacity. However be very careful when using this option, if you select the wrong drive, you could really cluck up your computer.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I've been taking fiber pills, eating more grapes, switched to wheat bread in hopes to lower it
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I like wheat bread, I even like the chunky wheat bread with pieces of whole grain in it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Been getting this honey wheat bread from aldis pretty decent not very sweet to out do it
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Me making any food at home is an improvement to how I use to be
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I have an bread machine and use it alot, better than breads you buy, but don't last as long, cause no bs preservatives
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I got compliments about my weight loss and thought well guess I can pig out again now I'm the piggy
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    My biggest prob is alcohol, definitely is fattening
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I know when to stop at least honestly don't get those that go and go with food
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Or those that order 2 big macs , large fry, ice cream sundie, then a diet coke
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I might get downing two big macs but nah that's it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ok that will be $15.99, cash or charge?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My go to orders usually a mcdouble and a mcchicken and I'm happy rarely mess with fries
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Pro tip ask for that clowns jizzmac sauce on your mcdouble
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Do they charge extra when you add sauce,etc? I know burger king used to not, but don't know nowadays
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They may squrit it for free if you ask nice
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Last time I got bk it was 35c per sauce fuck you king of my nutsack
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'll buy a bottle of baby rays BBQ for $2 and add it from home out of spite
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I like baby rays, my favorite is KC masterpiece tho. Figured all you could buy is that there.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    The metro doesn't discriminate good sauce
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Baby Rays isn't that what killed the crocodile hunter?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    If only he had done an endorsement for them....
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Oy mate don't let a bad bbq sauce kill your party! Baby Rays are killing it!! The flavor hits you right in the chest!
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    My phone only has 13% battery so i don't have much time left
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Now 12%
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Happy birthday, btw
    BigOnYa @ BigOnYa: Happy birthday, btw