Hacking Anyway to Extract IOS from ISO / Disc?

StuMcBill

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
108
Country
Hi,

After trying to run Original Animal Crossing on my 3.2E with Starfall to avoid updates I was just getting a black screen when trying to run it.

I found out that I was missing an IOS file that was included on the disc. (IOS38 I think?)

Is there anyway I could have found out what was needed and ripped it from my disc myself?

I hope this makes sense!

StuMcBill
 

StuMcBill

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
108
Country
Thanks guys.

Is there anyway I can figure out what IOS's games need and a list of which ones are Homebrew Unfriendly?
 

WiiPower

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2008
Messages
8,165
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
Gambia, The
StuMcBill said:
Thanks guys.

Is there anyway I can figure out what IOS's games need and a list of which ones are Homebrew Unfriendly?

Just install all original IOS which aren't installed, with this you should be very safe. To look if you already have a IOS55 for example, just look with AnyTitleDeleter, if there is a IOS55 you could delete.

To look which IOS a game uses, you have several possibilities:
- You could extract the tmd from the .iso and look with a hexeditor into it
- You could use the IOS Version patcher on the .iso of the game to see what it says
- You could just use SoftChip

The info which IOS is used is displayed very short in SoftChip, so you either have to have good eyes or to enable the logging and look into the logfile in /SoftChip/ on your sd card
 

wanders

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
63
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
100
Country
United States
I can't think of a game dependency list so you'll have to check yourself somehow. That said, Animal Crossing is the only one that uses IOS38 AFAIK. And that new Need for Speed game uses IOS55. Everything else uses the ones you probably already have.

Anything IOS37 and above is inherently patched to fix the trucha bug. There are ways to patch the bug back in to at least some of them, but they're not really 'unfriendly' to homebrew if left as is. Just installing the IOS38 off your AC disc should be fine.
 

digitydogs

404 Error: Member Not Found
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
1,352
Trophies
0
Location
Md,US
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
United States
I'll have to do some searching, and check my memory card if that fails.... But wiigator released a tool specifically for seeing which ios a game uses. ill post with a link to it once i find it.
smile.gif
 

StuMcBill

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
33
Trophies
0
XP
108
Country
digitydogs said:
I'll have to do some searching, and check my memory card if that fails.... But wiigator released a tool specifically for seeing which ios a game uses. ill post with a link to it once i find it.
smile.gif

Thanks that would be good!
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Cheapest I found $230 tax/s&h +1