Hacking Any possibility of listening to audio while playing games?

Haloman800

a real gril
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
1,874
Trophies
1
XP
1,749
Country
United States
I'd like to be able to listen to one of my books on tape while playing a DS, GBA SNES, or NES game.

Is this possible? If so, please explain what to do.


Thanks.
 

Haloman800

a real gril
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
1,874
Trophies
1
XP
1,749
Country
United States
The reason I ask a question is because I don't know the answer, it wasn't rhetorical.

I knew I'd get some sarcastic answers. I'm still grateful for the them, but the failed attempt at humor isn't needed.


Thanks.
 

Terminator02

ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
4,516
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere near monkat
XP
1,026
Country
United States
i remember this question coming up somewhere else

the reason the PSP can do it is because it constantly runs a firmware ontop of the game it's playing, with the DS multitasking just doesn't happen, i don't think it will with the 3ds either
 

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
2,984
Trophies
0
XP
2,521
Country
Terminator02 said:
i remember this question coming up somewhere else

the reason the PSP can do it is because it constantly runs a firmware ontop of the game it's playing, with the DS multitasking just doesn't happen, i don't think it will with the 3ds either

No it doesn't. The PSP does it by loading a custom module along with the game. The DSTwo could do it, if you could figure out a way to get the sound from the DSTwo's CPU to the DS's speakers without slowing down the emulated cart reads (as there is only so much bandwidth in the DS slot, which would have to be shared between audio and cart reads).
 

Terminator02

ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
4,516
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere near monkat
XP
1,026
Country
United States
nl255 said:
Terminator02 said:
i remember this question coming up somewhere else

the reason the PSP can do it is because it constantly runs a firmware ontop of the game it's playing, with the DS multitasking just doesn't happen, i don't think it will with the 3ds either

No it doesn't. The PSP does it by loading a custom module along with the game. The DSTwo could do it, if you could figure out a way to get the sound from the DSTwo's CPU to the DS's speakers without slowing down the emulated cart reads (as there is only so much bandwidth in the DS slot, which would have to be shared between audio and cart reads).
o.O i'm pretty sure that's what I heard someone else say, although i could be wrong, but that sounds interesting, maybe it could work on slower games like brain age etc...
 

Fishaman P

Speedrunner
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
3,308
Trophies
1
Location
Wisconsin
Website
twitch.tv
XP
1,964
Country
United States
You could do that from the DS's launch. Just plug a male-male headphone jack all the way into your tunes and half-way into your DS. Game sound + music playing through DS at same time! YES, this DOES work.
 

Terminator02

ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
4,516
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere near monkat
XP
1,026
Country
United States
Fishaman P said:
You could do that from the DS's launch. Just plug a male-male headphone jack all the way into your tunes and half-way into your DS. Game sound + music playing through DS at same time! YES, this DOES work.
the point is to have the DS itself play the music so you wouldn't need an mp3 player
 

BassAceGold

Testicles
Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
496
Trophies
1
XP
437
Country
Canada
Rydian said:
BassAceGold managed to make a screenshot plugin for the DSTwo, but that's way less intensive than music playing, and it only works during DSTwo homebrew (as that runs on the card itself).

It is not a plugin that runs on top of or with anything. It is just some code that developers can add to their code to take screenshots of their apps. Nothing more.

Music while playing a game would be most likely impossible without wrecking the game. Once a DS game is loaded, that game gains control of all the hardware, which would cause conflicting issues for the Supercard to use the DS hardware as well to output audio.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,930
Country
United States
BassAceGold said:
It is not a plugin that runs on top of or with anything. It is just some code that developers can add to their code to take screenshots of their apps. Nothing more.
Ahh, never knew that, the way the DS2x86 author and you worded it made me think it was a plugin.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: @BentlyMods, Priiloader and BootMii as boot2 and you're all set