All I need?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by playallday, Jun 16, 2008.

Jun 16, 2008

All I need? by playallday at 7:36 PM (6,014 Views / 0 Likes) 40 replies

  1. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    k I'm buying a fat PS2 soon so I'm seeing if I have what I need to play DVD backups.

    I have (or soon have)
    PS2 (with the front tray cover off)
    TDK DVD+R 16X (or -R, I have both)
    Independence Compiler 4.1 (For the CD exploit installer)
    COGSWAP.ELF
    PS2 Memory Card
    Swipe Card (slide tool)
    Any PS1 game
    original DVD game that is a larger file size than the backup
    Action Replay Max
    Dell burner

    And yes I have all of the DVD backup software.

    So I've burnt the CD exploit installer with COGSWAP.ELF.

    And this is how I boot up the CD exploit installer?

    1. Have AR dongle in a memory card slot
    2. Power on your PS2
    3. Insert AR disc
    4. At the AR menu, select Start Game, With or Without codes
    5. Use Flip Top or Swipe/Slide Card to open PS2 tray
    6. Swap/Insert your PS2 CD exploit installer
    7. Close Flip Top or use Swipe/Slide Card to close PS2 tray then press X
    8. Screen will change and exploit installer will now boot

    And this is how I use COGSWAP?

    Thanks for helping!

    P.S. I know I'm a newbie to PS2 but ask about DS and I know!
    P.P.S. I posted this on afterdawn but no one posted back [​IMG] Long live GBAtemp [​IMG]
     


  2. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    bump.

    Why is no one helping? Are PS2 backups fans mean?
     
  3. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know how that works, or I would help
     
  4. Jack-Of-Trades

    Member Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    wow that's complicated to load a backup...

    No offense but since you don't have it yet you may want to get a xbox there a lot easier to mod and have a bigger variety of use

    And I'm guessing thats a more complicated form of swap magic?

    If i was you i would look into this

    http://www.modchipstore.com/ps2-boot-discs...rive-1-281.html

    Fliptops are for the slim i belive
     
  5. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can't use a action replay to boot backups, just to let u know before you waste your time, you need to use swap magic discs + slide tool, nothing else.
     
  6. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Just get a modchip seriously, what a waste of time...
     
  7. Jack-Of-Trades

    Member Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    Have to agree on that one modchips work 100% if installed correctly

    But look for a solderless one the ps2 is a pain to solder to 20+ wires on small contacts
     
  8. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I'm like a xbox (not 360) hater so don't ask [​IMG]..

    Oh and I don't like using my card numbers online (and don't reply "why not???")

    EDIT: Can I use this ARmax?
     
  9. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
  10. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    ba-bump
     
  11. imtony

    Member imtony GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    Don't listen to that lol
    But I've been inquiring about the same thing.
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=89943
    Theres this new thing out called FreeVast.
    Its like memento memory card except free!
    All you need is to do is to be able to run homebrew so that you can install it on your memory card.
    What I did was I bought Code Breaker 8.1(alternatively, you can use ARMAX also) on ebay for about 10 dollars shipped. I followed this instruction http://www.psx-scene.com/forums/424968-post14.html to get it installed on my Memory card. After I got it on my memory card, I downloaded ESR beta r7a and put it in my USB drive to move it into my memory card. Then, I downloaded memento firmware 1.1 from the memento website here http://www.mementoteam.com/downloads.html and used it to patch my ISO files and then I burned it. After that, I just stick it in the PS2, and with FreeVast, it autoboots into uLE with just the memory card in. From there, I launch my ESR and I can play my games with no problem! I tried MvC2 and Persona 3 undub remix and both worked perfectly! No Swap card, no openning disc tray, none of that! Did all of this with only 10 dollars and a USB drive laying around. If you have any questions, just ask.
     
  12. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks but can you just tell me if my edited 1st post will work?

    EDIT: Thanks but isn't FreeVast not out yet?
     
  13. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    k I'm so lost.

    1. Don't I just use ESR beta r7b or FREE_MCBOOT_1.4b not both?
    2. I don't need a Swap card?
    3. Is the link you gave me going to work for AR Max(not CB)?
    4. Do I need a PS1 game?
    5. Do I put the burnt game in before I boot up or after?
     
  14. imtony

    Member imtony GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    1. Free_mcboot_1.4b is so that your ps2 can go directly to uLe without a trigger disc or anything. It installs on your memory card and boots directly off of it.
    2. Nope
    3. Use this one for AR Max http://psx-scene.com/forums/freevast/58387...ion-replay.html
    4. Nope
    5. Doesn't matter, As long as you have the disc in when you load ESR then it'll load.
     
  15. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    indeed it is but let him learn the hard way, he will soon tire of swapping discs constantly.
     
  16. imtony

    Member imtony GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe you haven't been kept up to date. He's getting a cheat device to use an exploit to install FreeVast on his memory card. With that, He can use this other new homebrew called ESR to boot disc without the need of swapping at all. He does not need swap magic at all. All he needs to do is patch his games with memento patcher and it'll work without swapping. This is the cheapest and easiest way for him to play backups.
     
  17. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry to bug you but.

    1. Where do I put Free_mcboot_1.4b on my MC?
    2. Do I just run Free_mcboot_1.4b once?
    3. If 2. works then can't I boot it up on any exploit(a way to run .elf files)?
    4. Whats "uLe"??? (EDIT: k i know what uLaunchELF is, does Free_mcboot_1.4b have it in it or do I need to get it?)

    Thanks!
     
  18. imtony

    Member imtony GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
     
  19. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Independence Compiler 4.1 (Using uLaunchELF as OS)

    And I'll be booting it up this way.

    1. Have AR dongle in a memory card slot
    2. Power on your PS2
    3. Insert AR disc
    4. At the AR menu, select Start Game, With or Without codes
    5. Use Flip Top or Swipe/Slide Card to open PS2 tray
    6. Swap/Insert your PS2 CD exploit installer
    7. Close Flip Top or use Swipe/Slide Card to close PS2 tray then press X
    8. Screen will change and exploit installer will now boot

    YOUR ARE THE BEST!!! YOU ARE LIKE A MOD!!!
     
  20. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Look if going to play a game for 3 sec true, but I like to play my games for over 1 hour at a time.

    P.S. I guessing you sell modchips or something and/or your so out of date.
     

Share This Page