Hacking AK2i water resistance or lucky? =P

heartgold

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
4,378
Trophies
0
Location
London
Website
Visit site
XP
2,085
Country
Hey you all, I would like to share with you all, it's quite funny. The other day I was running my bath, I was standing by the side of it, I tried to eject my ak2i out the ds, however it went jumped out and went flying in to the bath where if was filled up with water! i :wtf: My heart panicked, I was like 'oh noz' what's gonna happen to my games and savefiles and gonna need a new flashcart, I quickly grabbed the ak2i outta the water and dryed it with a tower, took out the mini sd card, put that aside and started blowing my flashcart and also my blowing and drying my mini sd card, i was blowing in to the sd slot and the connectors of the flashcart and sd card for like two minutes, I thought it died, I didn't have any hope of it working, I slid the mini sd card into ak2i, put it back into the ds, powered my ds on, to my amaze, the ak2i game symbol came up, I then loaded it up, all my games showed up and it was working fine and even now. So AK2i water resistance or what?
tongue.gif
guess I was lucky
happy.gif
 

R2DJ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
1,898
Trophies
0
Location
London
XP
815
Country
heartgold said:
Hey you all, I would like to share with you all, it's quite funny. The other day I was running my bath, I was standing by the side of it, I tried to eject my ak2i out the ds, however it went jumped out and went flying in to the bath were if was filled up with water! i :wtf: My heart panicked, I was like 'oh noz' what's gonna happen to my games and savefiles and gonna need a new flashcart, I quickly grabbed the ak2i outta the water and dryed it with a tower, took out the mini sd card, put that aside and started blowing my flashcart and also my blowing and drying my mini sd card, i was blowing in to the sd slot and the connectors of the flashcart and sd card for like two minutes, I thought it died, I didn't have any hope of it working, I slid the mini sd card into ak2i, put it back into the ds, powered my ds on, to my amaze, the ak2i game symbol came up, I then loaded it up, all my games showed up and it was working fine and even now. So AK2i water resistance or what?
tongue.gif
guess I was lucky
happy.gif
smileipb2.png


Nah just joking. You were in luck! Better story than my 3G iPod Nano surviving a run through in the washer, since the contacts are exposed.

I suggest backing up your saves though. There is a chance that it might die...
 

Xarsah16

GBATemp's Official Village Dingus/Idiot
Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Hyrule
XP
450
Country
Yeah, you're lucky, most gaming electronics are nowhere near waterproof LOL.

I did have an almost similar scare today, though. I have a pretty DS phat that I gave a lovely paint job. I was worried because I thought it wasn't working. I forgot I had left the charger in my back pack. At my school, because it's finals week, Coca Cola came to distribute free Coke Zero soda. I loaded up my backpack. The charge cord for my DS phat got all wet from the ice. I dried it off completely, and then plugged it in. I saw the orange light meaning my DS was charging, but the odd thing was that it wasn't turning on. Turns out, my battery was deader than dead, and I just had to let it charge up for a minute to turn on. I didn't know if the water had affected my charger in any way, but apparently it works like a charm just like it used to.
 

Leonidas

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
479
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
sLOVEnia
XP
89
Country
Slovenia
You were lucky, because the water clearly didn't break into the Acekard's plastic shell, and the micro SD's are pretty waterproof too. Just make sure the cart and it's contacts are completely dried out, before you start using it again.
 

dottor_male

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
181
Trophies
0
XP
105
Country
Italy
Well, even if the water touch the board or the microsd, as long as you dry them before using, every electronic component should work without problem. (there are problems if the water, drying, leave traces of minerals on the circuit...)
They break down because of short-circuits caused by the ions present in the water. If there is no water when you switch them on, no problem!
 

heartgold

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
4,378
Trophies
0
Location
London
Website
Visit site
XP
2,085
Country
Leonidas said:
You were lucky, because the water clearly didn't break into the Acekard's plastic shell, and the micro SD's are pretty waterproof too. Just make sure the cart and it's contacts are completely dried out, before you start using it again.

Yup I've made sure they are competely dry


QUOTE(dottor_male @ Dec 10 2009, 01:58 PM) Well, even if the water touch the board or the microsd, as long as you dry them before using, every electronic component should work without problem. (there are problems if the water, drying, leave traces of minerals on the circuit...)
They break down because of short-circuits caused by the ions present in the water. If there is no water when you switch them on, no problem!

True what you said, I was worried just incase it got damanaged as there are risks, that I may have lost all my save files on my mirco sd, i didn't really care about the ak2i. but yeah, happy ending
 

phoenixclaws

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
497
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
USA
XP
203
Country
United States
Yeh nice going with the drying it and letting it sit because as soon as a charge of electricity had gone through it would have sparked and fried it.
Besides it's nice to know that an A2Ki is relatively inexpensive to replace
smile.gif
.
 

mysticwaterfall

Streamforce Supreme Commander
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
1,874
Trophies
0
Location
Right behind you
XP
668
Country
United States
The microsd reader they used to include with the AK2 is preatty sturdy too. Mine went through the washer and dryer 3 times and still worked. Died after the 4th time though.

(Before you ask why it got washed so many times... I would put it in my pocket to/from school, then forget about it)
 

bach3609

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 31, 2009
Messages
367
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Loading................
Website
Visit site
XP
78
Country
The all long lasting acekard 2i
smile.gif
Mudproof, waterproof, poop-proof long lasting card.

Nah just kidding, it was probably luck. I think you should let the AK2i dry out first in case it shorts out and blows a fuse in your DS.
tongue.gif
 

shamiko_

~
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,757
Trophies
1
Age
27
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
308
Country
basicly in genaral if you have any elcronics that somehow get in contact with water
here is what to do
1.GET IT OUT
2.GET A TOWL AND DRY WITH A TOWEL OR HAIRDRYER
3.REMOVE ALL REMVABLE DEVICES EG:microsd's BATTERY
4. PLACE THE PODUCT NET A WELL VENTALATED PLACE
5.WAIT

thts just the genaral idea,i realised this when i misakenl dropped m ds lite on the bath and it died
sad.gif
 

italianmod

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
89
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
United States
Not lucky, just science

As far as I know there isn't a battery or any electricity in an acekard or microSD while it is out of the DS (i may be wrong and if I am then ignore the rest of this) and since there is no electricity than the chance of something breaking because it went into water is extremely slim.

Almost any electronic that doesn't have power going to it can be put into water, taken out, dried very well, and then given power will work perfectly. Do I suggest you try this? Not at all. If you do and something goes wrong don't say "well that guy on GBAtemp said it'll be fine" then try to sue me or something because I'll just laugh in your face and throw out a few insults.
 

Critical_Impact

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2005
Messages
173
Trophies
0
Location
QLD, AUS
Website
Visit site
XP
308
Country
If you drop anything electronic in water, dont use it until you have
Submerged it in metho then dried it using rice. Metho evaporates to nothing and the rice will soak up all moisture. Once done your electronics will be good to go. Well, apart from maybe the battery if it has one inside it. Mine got drained when I dropped a cart into the water so I had to replace it.
 

jurassicplayer

Completionist Themer
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
4,483
Trophies
1
Location
Pantsuland
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
2,846
Country
United States
Critical_Impact said:
If you drop anything electronic in water, dont use it until you have
Submerged it in metho then dried it using rice. Metho evaporates to nothing and the rice will soak up all moisture. Once done your electronics will be good to go. Well, apart from maybe the battery if it has one inside it. Mine got drained when I dropped a cart into the water so I had to replace it.
What is metho o.0? I understand why the rice is useful though xD (although I don't think a ton of people just happen to have a buch of rice laying around to dry sodden electrical equipment).
 

h8isgr8

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
31
Country
United States
jurassicplayer said:
What is metho o.0?

Methanol.

Rubbing alcohol will work to (preferably the >90% stuff)

Actually, you should at least rinse with distilled water if you don't have alcohol. Tap water can still leave behind conductive mineral deposits when it dries.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Don't buy used ram it's too cheap now lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    But it's probably on board ram with that device
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah, it's a SoC.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I've done more shell scripting in my current job in the year and a half I've been here than I did in my entire 8+ years at my last job. Wild.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Scripting isn't even in my job description, but it enables me to, say, take multiple hours of multiple touches to servers to run commands over the course of a month, to a few minutes and it's ready 2 days later.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Shell scripting is very useful.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    For batch operations.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Massivley so. Glad I'm getting more experienced with it now
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Hey can you make this [inane change] on 50 servers?" Yes.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The scenario in question is to do disk erases on some storage servers at my job that have I think 12x 14TB spinners, SATA SSDs, and nvme disks. The process I'm using to erase the spinners is to kick off an ATA Security Erase in the disk's firmware, then once that's done do a dd zero-fill as a second pass.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    These spinners take like 22h per each of those operations
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'll admit sometimes it takes me longer to write and debug a script that will do that for me, than it would take me to make the changes manually, but this is more fun.
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And running it over a serial console I'd either have to spin up a dozen and a half screen sessions or just run one operation at a time
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Wrote a horrifyingly long one-liner to do all of that - spin up a shitload of screen sessions, run these commands to it, pipe output to kmsg so it shows up in the default tty's shell, and some other shit on top of that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't you run pssh?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Some day I'll write out a properly formatted shell script that lives on our firmware server or git repo and just call that, and have that handle every kind of server we run much more gracefully than my hobbled together atrocity does right now
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pssh - nope. 1, what I'm doing gets done from our bootable provisioning environment, and you can only interface with that via serial console - we don't accept ssh connections on the servers in that state, and 2, I don't even know if our bootable environment has pssh baked into it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    3, I've never even heard of it before lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Anyway I can open serial console sessions to multiple devices at the same time, and broadcast my input to all of them (iTerm on Mac is the terminal emulator I'm using). It's just a matter of how many commands I'd have to run by hand, and how long they'd take otherwise lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just assumed you were working via SSH. I know my way around that. If a server is only accessible locally it's waaay beyond saving from my end so I let the DC team work on that :tpi:
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I *am* the DC team :P the remote arm of it, anyway
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Trust me, I wish I could do everything I need to do via ssh. Working through these serial console servers suuuuuucks in comparison
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    SSH rules
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I love that there's a network filesystem that runs on top of ssh - sshfs
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I use it in most of my home network for mounting network storage in various *nix VMs
    Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy: I use it in most of my home network for mounting network storage in various *nix VMs