1. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,162
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I'll be doing a clean install too instead of just updating. I did the same from 4.05 to 4.55 and from 4.55 to 5.05.
    First I will make an official backup of my profile on 5.05 so that I can restore that profile on 6.72 to keep my saves compatable.
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  2. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,025
    Country:
    United States
    I'll need your help moving my saves to a new profile. I don't really understand the instructions or I've forgotten them. I have my saves backed up via ftp, the payload, and via usb.
     
    Leeful likes this.
  3. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,162
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are using the saves on a different profile then you will need to manually backup each decrypted save using savemounter, then mount and overwrite each save on your new profile. It will be a long and tedious process.

    On the other hand if you keep your profile (and it is activated) you can just use USB to backup/restore your saves.

    Remember, savemounter will not work on 6.72 until it is ported so that would be a problem unless you did it all on 5.05 first.
     
  4. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,025
    Country:
    United States
    how does save mounter work? is it like open each game or something?
     
  5. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,162
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Basically you open each save in save mounter and it gives you the decrypted version that you copy to your PC via FTP.
    To copy the save to another profile you would do the same process but overwrite the decrypted save with the one you backed up on your PC.
     
  6. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,025
    Country:
    United States
    when you say open each save, do you mean physically opening the game, then loading the save?
     
  7. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,162
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, having the game running can cause problems.
    Load the payload on your PS4
    Open savemounter on your PC
    Choose the CUSA of the game and mount it.
    The decrypted version of the save is now in the /mnt/pfs/ of your PS4.
    Use FTP to copy the save file to your PC
    Unmount the save in savemounter.

    https://github.com/ChendoChap/Playstation-4-Save-Mounter
     
    hippy dave and godreborn like this.
  8. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,025
    Country:
    United States
    when it says little endian, do you mean byte swapped like it is on the vita?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    like AB CD would be CD AB?
     
  9. obidion

    obidion Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have ps4 pro on 5.05 - always used thru dns setting. Created new profile- I guess it was never connected to PS4 store - can I still back up 2 profiles to usb to keep saves? Or they won’t work and I have to use tool mentioned above?
     
  10. seanp2500

    seanp2500 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,385
    Country:
    United States
    why not just use both? that's what I do and it's how I get over 10tb of capacity.

    Gosh I am very concerned about updating. I remember updating before and doing it while running hen payload. What I worry about is the update rebuilding database then all my fpkg gone. I see some helpful comments from Leeful but still I would love a gameplan mini tut for that issue. I will contribute anything I learn. People seem to think that installing via recovery will fix that issue but I am not so sure. Thankfully I have a 2nd jailbroken ps4 that is for experimenting I can sort of use as a throwaway.
     
    Hayato213 likes this.
  11. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,025
    Country:
    United States
    why not try backing up the app db with sg and db payload, then reinjecting it via ftp?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    it works on the vita. the app.db is the metadata indexer that records PARAM.SFO information. you can open it with sqlite browser like this:

    upload_2020-7-8_6-44-43.png
     
  12. hemi426

    hemi426 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    Belgium
    some guys on twitter updated from 5.05 to 6.72 using the normal usb offline method in the ps4 menu (not the safe mode) and had no rebuild,so waiting until further testing and feedback is available.
    also going to wait for stooged until he updates his payloads

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    if you want the tweet:
    https://twitter.com/sjmak83/status/1280549918780907523?s=20
     
    Last edited by hemi426, Jul 8, 2020
  13. KiiWii

    OP KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,569
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @hemi426 stooged went awol, idk if he’s coming back....
     
    peteruk likes this.
  14. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,025
    Country:
    United States
    I figured you wouldn't have a rebuild. just back up the app.db just in case. you won't have to worry then. it contains position of the games on the home menu, but I don't really know how to read the ps4 one. the vita one uses page and position from 0 to 9 for a total of 10.
     
  15. hemi426

    hemi426 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    Belgium
    well then i have a problem, hoping he will surface or maybe someone else is going to update the payloads
     
    Last edited by hemi426, Jul 8, 2020
    KiiWii likes this.
  16. seanp2500

    seanp2500 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,385
    Country:
    United States
    stooged went awol lmao something tells me he will resurface I hope he is ok. Jeez what a world. Definitely one of the best the scene has. So ok someone else did a usb install at dash. See when doing the prior 2 migrations I will call them I did them both inside dash while hen running not recovery. Man the anticipation is wild. KiiWii needs to set up a text notification service hahaha
     
    hemi426 likes this.
  17. Adam512

    Adam512 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    There are things that are missing, for example the disk "CUSA-14881" (disk RE3) could also be playable on 7.02.

    I hope your project has a better database. We are very much looking forward @KiiWii :)
     
    Last edited by Adam512, Jul 8, 2020
    Leeful and KiiWii like this.
  18. KiiWii

    OP KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,569
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think it’s pretty cool, it’s useful for me.

    I have far more planned to be implemented, for now just basic lookup functions work.
     
    Leeful, azoreseuropa and peteruk like this.
  19. Leeful

    Leeful GBAtemp Member
    Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,162
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a great tool and will be invaluable especially with what is goin on right now with the new xploit dropping.
    I've only tested a very early WIP version but even that has come in handy to me on many occasions. @KiiWii is doin a great job with it. Can't wait to see the final release.:):)
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  20. Naxster

    Naxster GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    610
    Country:
    Sweden
    I have a stupid question :P

    Right now i have firmware 5.05. If we want to update the firmware, should we first enable updates by clicking on the "Enable Updates" in X-project and then update it in safe mode?

    Or is it "safe" to update it in safe mode even though we have blocked all updates?

    I won't update it now. I am going to wait until we get a fully working 6.72 exploit :)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Exploit, [AIO], Guide