Advantages/Disadvantages of using a Modchip instead of the Twilight Ha

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Link5084, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Can anybody list some? I was wondering if getting a modchip installed is better than using a Twilight Hack
     


  2. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    An advantage is that (at least so far) you can update to any version firmware and your modchips still work. You get a full 6x read speed instead of 3x. If installed correctly and you use a wii-clip, you can remove it and leave no traces behind. (Might be possible with homebrew as well, if you really know what you are doing)

    Thats all I can think of at the moment.

    An advantage of homebrew channel (installed via twilight hack) is the ability to install VC wads

    I say the best option is: Both

    But if its one or the other than.. modchip might have a slight edge. That might change when savemii / cSM is released. Time will tell.
     
  3. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    By the moment, thinking on cost, Homebrew is better, an you can do many things,if you want to play backup discs on your Wii, ModChip is your best option...!! [​IMG]
     
  4. Monster On Strin

    Member Monster On Strin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    The other side of the internet
    Country:
    United States
    Modchip
    +
    faster loading
    boot by disc channel
    better compatibility
    -
    cost money
    soldering needed(or wiiclip more money)
    breaks waranty
    --------------------------------------
    twilight hack
    +
    free, easy
    allows to also boot homebrew
    -
    takes time to boot having to go through channels
    gets constantly blocked by nintendo
     
  5. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    You can always do both right? If the homebrew channel gets blocked or whatever its still possible to play backups discs on Wii because of the modchip?
     
  6. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Er. Thats what my post said? Your best option is both [​IMG] Besides which, Im pretty sure once you have a modchip you can use a backed up copy of zelda to perform the to hack. So it doesnt end up costing you twice as much.
     
  7. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yes and yes..!! [​IMG]
     
  8. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    or doing the Disc installation of Homebrew Channel..!! [​IMG]
     
  9. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    What's the best mod chip to use? And do pretty much 99% of backed up Wii games work with it?
     
  10. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Im at about 40 games and all work so far. Ive heard some people with around 200+ games that all work. So yes. 99% if not higher [​IMG]
     
  11. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Depends how old your console is...

    Game compatibility is nothing to do with the mod chip... unless you have a really old one that gives 001 errors on some games.
     
  12. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    I bought my Wii three months ago, so it's pretty new. If I get the WiiKey installed, would any GC backup work if I burn them to a Wii disk?
     
  13. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, Gamecube backups work burned onto a DVD-R disc. Here's what you have to do before we can help you any more on modchip choices. First, go to Wii Drives and type in your Wii's serial number (it's on the bottom of your Wii). Then tell us what kind of drivechip it says you have. Once that's done we can tell you which modchips are the best for your Wii.
     
  14. bytor

    Member bytor GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you have a PAL Wii then you'll need to have the Wiikey 1.9g firmware installed to play all GC Backups correctly. The 1.9s firmware breaks the Audio Fix for PAL consoles. I have the 1.9g firmware and have had no problems playing any game and I've tried most of them. [​IMG]
     
  15. Phratt

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    Can you only use GC back ups with a modchip, or is it possible with a backup loader?
     
  16. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Their Wii is 3 months old, so they'll need to get a Wiikey 2.
     
  17. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    I'm extremely tired of hearing questions about a Gamecube loader! It ruins the forum with at least 3 new topics coming up every day about the same thing! No, there's no Gamecube loader. You need a modchip.
     
  18. turok4n64

    Newcomer turok4n64 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    United States
    That is not true. There is a Gamecube loader that does not require a modchip
     
  19. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    Well yeah but it loads off an SD Gecko and the compatibility is really low. So I don't really count it.
     
  20. Link5084
    OP

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    A Wiikey 2? Seriously? I thought just regular WiiKey's can work fine on new Wiis and can play all GC backups correctly. So if I have a NTSC Wii would Wiikey 1.9g work with all GC backups and Wii games, or do I need a Wiikey 2?
     

Share This Page