4gb Card...

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by bentbob, Jan 25, 2008.

Jan 25, 2008

4gb Card... by bentbob at 12:40 AM (848 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. bentbob
    OP

    Newcomer bentbob Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Please dont laugh im new at all this stuff.

    will a 4gig microsd card work with a R4?

    simple, easy question... now let the laughing commence [​IMG]
     
  2. diglett

    Member diglett GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    No. 2gb is the limit.
     
  3. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    I heard that there were non-SDHC 4GB microSD around Hong Kong, but they were very unstable, and corrupted often.
     
  4. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    ^ I object. (referring to diglett)

    From the R4 Teams website:

    Q: How many files can I have on the R4?
    A: R4 Adapter supports 128MB~4GB TF(MicroSD) card , 4GB=32Gbi
     
  5. diglett

    Member diglett GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    A few threads ago, I looked very hard to find a 4gb non-hc micro for sale. They are out spec, but I've seen them in SD and MiniSD. I haven't seen any more than a rumor of a MicroSD version.

    With SDHC taking off, the chances of finding these elusive cards isn't getting any better. I think you can assume for practical purposes that 2gb is the limit.
     
  6. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    True. Also, 4GB (non SDHC to be exact) are very slow cards. Playing ROMs on them are beyond logic. It is safest to assume that 2GB is the limit.

    However, the poster wanted to know if a 4GB card will work on the R4, and the answer is yes.
     
  7. bentbob
    OP

    Newcomer bentbob Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the answers folks, it looks like buying a few 2gig cards would be the best solution [​IMG]
     

Share This Page