1. Slyakin

    Slyakin See ya suckers
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, once people figure out how to dump 3DS games, I'm sure a proper flashcart/boot.elf will reveal itself.

    It will take a LONG time though. Just get the 3DS for now, and buy legit... I guess.
     
  2. Jayc

    OP Jayc Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Senegal
    Okay. I think I'll get the 3DS after all.

    And I do buy my games. I've got only ten DS games, though, so that's not saying much.
     
  3. ShadowSoldier

    ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,382
    Country:
    Canada
    Don't worry, you probably have more DS games than 95% of the users on this site.
     
  4. Ringo619

    Ringo619 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    United States
    dumb question imo but hey who am i to judge?
    i'd go with the 3ds
     
  5. FlashX007

    FlashX007 GBAtemp Maniac
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly after the information I have seen on it I would say don't because of one reason. That reason being if you want to pirate games rather than purchase. The 3DS will have automated system updates and they can track any program you use on it so once they realize a flashcart was used on it they will update your system making it totally useless. Plus they will have frequent updates. I have a XL and I would gladly sell it and gather some money to buy it but I want to see what happens first and play it safe. Besides it will get cheaper later on. I always get new releases a year late.
     
  6. That's complete and utter bullshit. Nintendo won't brick your system.
     
  7. FlashX007

    FlashX007 GBAtemp Maniac
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    United States
    I heard otherwise dude. It happened to a few people. When you put it on the charge stand and you have wifi on the system gets updated automatically. When that happens the system information gets downloaded and sent to nintendo for info. such as if the user is pirating. Then along with the update they disable the system. What I heard dude. Besides if true or not I am still going to wait.
     
  8. machomuu

    machomuu Drops by occasionally
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,442
    Country:
    United States
    Case in point, it hasn't been confirmed yet. In the cases where it has happened, no proof has been given.
     
  9. Dr.Aqua

    Dr.Aqua GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    As u said
    Dsi is cheaper
    If you have 300 and feel its worth it go ahead but
    if thats too mch get a dsi when their price drops
     
  10. mkoo

    mkoo GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    I thought it was 250? is US
     
  11. Slyakin

    Slyakin See ya suckers
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Country:
    United States
    1) No, it has not happened to ANYONE. The only update that happened was for system performance. Don't be ignorant.
    2) NO. The system only notifies you about an update. It can't automatically update itself. That has been confirmed.
    3) Has not been confirmed.
    4) Same as 3.
    5) You just conflicted your 1) statement. Smooth.
     
  12. Dr.Aqua

    Dr.Aqua GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    Slykin is right dude
     
  13. jceggbert5

    jceggbert5 Check out my hack, New Retro Mario Bros.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Country:
    United States
    Tax'll be about $19, plus any warranty...
     
  14. dgwillia

    dgwillia The Bacon Lover
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Country:
    United States
    Unless your getting a really good deal, why not just get the 3DS? For now atleast Flash Carts work, and we can take that whole "Brick your system" thing as a giant bit of anti-piracy hype.

    I could understand if you were just trying to decide whether to upgrade or not, but if your buying a new system, why not get the best one [​IMG]
     
  15. YayMii

    YayMii hi
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,916
    Country:
    Canada
    The bricking 3DSs is purely hype. The updates rendering flashcarts unusable is a possibility, and the automatic updates is illegal unless stated in the EULA.
     
  16. DiscostewSM

    DiscostewSM GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,446
    Country:
    United States
    3DS or DSi? It really depends on what you want to do with it.

    The 3DS is a DSi + next generation handheld combined in one. If you were looking to have a unit that played only DS/DSi games, then no reason to get a 3DS. Both the DSi and 3DS have update-able firmware, so both can block flashcards when they get updated and will require the card makers to make their own updates to get them working again. The flashcard makers grant no guarantee that nothing will happen to the device they are used in, so you're at risk no matter which device you get should you use one in either one. Doubt Nintendo will purposefully disable your unit if a flashcard is used, mainly on the basis that such checking is not going to be perfect, resulting in the possibility of completely legit devices being affected (like the incident with the Wii some time back), leading Nintendo to spend a lot more money and resources in hardware replacement/repair.

    Edited for clarification of last line
     
  17. Evo.lve

    Evo.lve All that you could be.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Country:
    1. Nintendo can't remotely brick your system. That violates numerous laws in pretty much every country. Just like how Sony removing Other OS violated certain laws, because Other OS was an extremely hyped feature that Sony advertised greatly.

    EDIT: To everyone who's going to say "But it's not like anyone bought it for Other OS", that's true, but you can't just remove a feature that you advertised, hyped and promoted so much it's not funny (It only does everything. [USER EDIT: Poorly.])
    2. Even if Nintendo could remotely brick your system, they wouldn't because in doing so they'd lose a lot of sales.

    Hardware- and technologically wise, the 3DS has three screens. (the top screen functions as two, that's what gives you the 3D effect, and to whatever moron that said that because the top screen has so much power, it can emulate GameCube, I'm thinking of - and laughing at - you now).

    It's surprisingly underpowered, but then again your decision depends on what you want to do with your console.
     
  18. Chhotu uttam

    Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Country:
    India
    then dsi games would work on 3ds or not?
     
  19. AlanJohn

    AlanJohn くたばれ
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,699
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Yes, The 3DS supports DS and DSi mode.
     
  20. Sonataroger

    Sonataroger Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    It has 3 screens. to do the 3d it needs a screen underneath so it's layered
     
Draft saved Draft deleted