1.08 and skins?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Brien Zee, Apr 21, 2007.

Apr 21, 2007

1.08 and skins? by Brien Zee at 6:44 AM (2,093 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Brien Zee
    OP

    Newcomer Brien Zee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    i just updated my girlfriends r4 to the latest version.
    i tried to add a skin made by akotan, but its not loading.
    i have them in the system folder. but when i load the r4 it goes to the default beta skin.
    anyone have an idea why this would happen?
    i noticed there is a "theme" folder, i just deleted that because the directions said it detects the theme thats in the system folder..

    any ideas?

    thanks
     
  2. Brien Zee
    OP

    Newcomer Brien Zee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    i think i figured it out.
    i'll report back.
     
  3. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    pressed select?
     
  4. Brien Zee
    OP

    Newcomer Brien Zee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    i messed up the folders.
    i haven't updated in awhile, the new firmware is a lot different and i misread the r4 site.
    the sticky r4/m3 thread in this forum cleared it up for me.
     
  5. Brien Zee
    OP

    Newcomer Brien Zee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    well i put the themes i wanted in "_system_" then "themes" then "theme01" and so forth.
    a total of 6 themes.
    i just deleted the other folders. because the thread said i didn't need them all..
    but i push select and nothing happens..
    i've checked the folders, to me it seems right, but nothing is happening...
     
  6. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    X:\_system_\themes\theme01
    that's how I've got mine.. maybe the cart just can't work with skins.. other people have had that problem
     
  7. Brien Zee
    OP

    Newcomer Brien Zee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    i've had skins on it with the old firmware...
    why would it just not work with the new firmware? o.0
     
  8. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    hm.. maybe download the new firmware again?
     
  9. Brien Zee
    OP

    Newcomer Brien Zee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    i'm gonna try that in a few.
    and i'm gonna try loading it with windows...
    i'm loading it was linux right now, games and stuff work fine, but you never know the skins might be really touchy about how they are loaded.
     
  10. suske1245

    Newcomer suske1245 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey Guys, same problem with my R4ds, i can not skin it, i have tried all the ways, pressed "select", changed my month on the ds (to enable the automatically skinning feature of R4ds) but no success. i have a gray R4ds which i brought from acegamestore.com shop in Moorabin, Victora, down here is Australia. Every thing else works but i can not skin it. My folder are arranged in the same order as .TakaM mentions. Maybe its just the Batch (or maybe its just mine). I am currently using v1.07 of the kernel system.
     
  11. Brien Zee
    OP

    Newcomer Brien Zee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    i just reuploaded the kernel. and it wroks now.
    so i don't know.
     
  12. suske1245

    Newcomer suske1245 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, i think its just my one, as mentioned above some R4Ds has problems with skinning.
     
  13. Brien Zee
    OP

    Newcomer Brien Zee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    just delete all the loader files and system folder.
    then reload it with the newest kernel.
    check to see if that works before trying to add your own skins
    it worked for me.
     
  14. suske1245

    Newcomer suske1245 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Australia
    I cant even change the skins that came on my cd which are already in a the V1.07 System folder (which i simply copied and pasted from the cd to my Micro Sd card.
     
  15. myclock

    Member myclock GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    if you are just wanting one theme on your R4 then you just put the skin in X:\_system_\themes without any folders inside that.

    if you want more then you need to create 12 folders in X:\_system_\themes\theme01 to X:\_system_\themes\theme12 and put each theme in each folder.

    you dont need 12 themes, lets say you only got 4 themes, so you would make themes01 to themes04 folder
     
  16. suske1245

    Newcomer suske1245 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Australia
    Tried all sort of combinations already, but thanks anyways mate.
     
  17. Nenyana

    Newcomer Nenyana Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Try putting your skins inside of the theme04 folder, delete all of the other ones and after the beta theme is loaded, press select. I had the same problem and this solved it.
     
  18. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    When you update the firmware on your R4, make sure to delete the "_DS_MENU.SYS" file and let the R4 re-create it upon the first boot after updating. Be sure to have at least 4 megs free for the file to be created.

    Maybe that is the culprit that prevented the skins from working.
     
  19. Trace II

    Newcomer Trace II Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    I think the skins go by the month, as in _system_/themes/theme(month)
     

Share This Page