1. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,145
    Country:
    Poland
    Dunno. I just wrote it from XC2 perspective.
     
  2. Vandes

    Vandes Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    Thanks for this!
    A question: you say you want to prioritize horizontal resolution over vertical, but your settings show the opposite (your vertical res is 432, higher than the default 378). Did I get something wrong?
    Also, could you clarify the reason for setting red_AtRate at 0.85?
     
  3. Dan_12

    Dan_12 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Spain
    Where can I find a tutorial for newbies?
     
  4. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,145
    Country:
    Poland
    To reduce framedrops by giving higher resolution jumps in heavy areas.
     
  5. lh411

    lh411 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    China
    so wo should "autoredution enabled=false? and red-auto=off” to close Dr resloution.
     
  6. rsc-pl

    rsc-pl GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    Poland
    I can confirm that overclocking alone made this game look way better (especially environment textures). At least in docked mode.
     
    Last edited by rsc-pl, May 30, 2020
  7. MasterH@X

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    France
    So after some hours in the game, playing in portable mode with the official charger, with native 720p (so no dynamic resolution) ReverseNX set to docked mode, and some overclock (1428MHz CPU, 844MHz GPU and 1600MHz RAM), I can tell you it's very smooth and functionnal. (So if you play docked, it'll be the same)
    With those settings, the game looks stunning, it's incredible what we can do on this game, the difference is huge. And there's headroom if in the game there's more demanding area, I can still overclock the CPU and GPU more.
    Yeah it's a bit hot, but it doesn't get past 50°C or 323,15K, so it's fine if you think it could damage the console.

    In a day or two, I'll record a short video (with no spoilers) demonstrating how it behaves, I can't right now.
    Oh and I really recommand you the sysclk module for the Telsa Overlay, it's way more easy to tune clocks that way.
     
    Last edited by [email protected], May 30, 2020
    RahFah likes this.
  8. DJPAUL1990

    DJPAUL1990 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    But tesla dont work with sxos? Im right?
     
  9. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,145
    Country:
    Poland
    Wrong. It works from 2.9.5.
     
    DJPAUL1990 and toto621 like this.
  10. iacErPUL

    iacErPUL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hello there. I mainly play on docked and I get the feeling that there can't be much changed to increase the fidelity. I know of overclocking for more headroom as well as improving the adaptive resolution, either upping the minimum resolution or getting rid of it. When editing the config, handheld definitely sees improvements but I am wondering for docked. Any suggestions for further improvement or are we at a limit?
     
  11. Duppex

    Duppex Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you share your config settings. Thanks
     
  12. DJPAUL1990

    DJPAUL1990 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I cant get it to work. Where to put the files?

    Root of SD or in the switch folder?
     
  13. williamprvz

    williamprvz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    France
    what setting can i change for handled mode without overclocking ?
     
  14. masagrator

    masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,145
    Country:
    Poland
    What FW are you using? You need to be on 9.0.0+
     
  15. iacErPUL

    iacErPUL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Belgium
    Got a couple of screenshots. Both as 720p with no dynamic resolution. One has no AA at all and no bloom, the other only has TMAA on as well as bloom. TMAA does soften the image but cleans up those harsh edges quite a bit.
     
  16. DJPAUL1990

    DJPAUL1990 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Works now B-)
     
  17. MasterH@X

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    France
    Till someone find how to increase grass distance, things like that, we cannot do better than 720p on Switch.

    My best advice is that you experiment yourself. Personaly, I only put max resolution on docked with no dynamic res.

    red_Auto=on
    red_AtMaxX=1.0
    red_AtMaxY=1.0
    red_AtMinX=1.0
    red_AtMinY=1.0
    red_AtRate=97.0

    Still, in some demanding areas, even with all clocks at max, it can lag a little, if you don't mind some slow downs then give it a try, if you absolutely want smooth and locked 30 fps with no hiccups at all, then experiment yourself and try different values.

    So the soft one is with all enabled ? I think if we could achieve something a bit more sharpenned than that, it would be the perfect spot.
     
  18. iacErPUL

    iacErPUL Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Belgium
    So comparing the soft one to the original config file, they're practically the same. Some settings are different but the difference isn't big enough. I decided to settle on native 720p with no TMAA, the shimmering is quite bad though which is one of the reasons why I tried to avoid it. However, the sharpness and clarity are probably the best you can get. With TMAA on, the shimmering is greatly reduced but the whole image is softer. TMAA may still be interesting to explore though, I'll have to find the sweet spot for sharpening with TMAA on during docked mode. I have ordered a mCable alternative, which would give me upscaling as well as anti-aliasing. I'll see how things go.

    EDIT: Finally reached Gaur Plain and found quite severe jaggies on the plains at the distance (improving draw distance would really help) with no TMAA and "AntiAliasing=on". This led me to do some testing on sharpness settings with TMAA on. Sharpness is adjusted by changing the value below "tmaa=on/off", counting for all 5 settings.

    tmaa=off and AntiAliasing=on, best sharpness but bad jaggies
    Xenoblade_Chronicles_Definitive_Edition_5_31_2020_12_31_09_AM.jpg Xenoblade_Chronicles_Definitive_Edition_5_31_2020_12_32_13_AM.jpg

    tmaa=on and sharpness set to 0.0, the best improvement in jaggies and shimmering but very soft image
    Xenoblade_Chronicles_Definitive_Edition_5_31_2020_12_26_55_AM.jpg Xenoblade_Chronicles_Definitive_Edition_5_31_2020_12_27_51_AM.jpg

    tmaa=on and sharpness set to 0.5, probably the sweet spot: reduces the jaggies and shimmering and being not too soft, has slight artefacts when moving camera or character
    Xenoblade_Chronicles_Definitive_Edition_5_31_2020_12_20_59_AM.jpg Xenoblade_Chronicles_Definitive_Edition_5_31_2020_12_20_08_AM.jpg

    tmaa=on and sharpness set to 1.0, improvement in jaggies and shimmering but has bad artefacts, quite noticeable when moving the camera or character
    Xenoblade_Chronicles_Definitive_Edition_5_31_2020_12_23_46_AM.jpg Xenoblade_Chronicles_Definitive_Edition_5_31_2020_12_24_46_AM.jpg
     
    Last edited by iacErPUL, May 30, 2020
    Dragunet likes this.
  19. thieve

    thieve Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Argentina
    Can confirm that leaving bloom on makes the game look better, for example, Monado sword is 1000 times better with it. Weird, i'm almost sure that turns off also god ray as well... i recommend leaving it on.
     
    Last edited by thieve, May 31, 2020
    Lagunriv likes this.
  20. Dragunet

    Dragunet Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Spain
    Can you share de config file you are using?
    Even though I've edited mine with your tips it looks no where as clean.

    I'm using Atm 12 so layeredFS should be working not sure why I don't get the same results :(
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Definitive, Xenoblade, Edition