ROM Hack Xenoblade Chronicles 3D Save Compression

moosehunter

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
It appears that Xenoblade 3D uses a similar or identical format to the Wii version, but the save files are compressed with a format I haven't seen before. The header starts with !qbz. I've uploaded some compressed and uncompressed samples in the hopes that somebody more experienced than me might be able to help.

Attachments

• Saves.zip
    29 KB · Views: 406

moosehunter

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
It does seem to swap each word of the original file. After the first 0x20-ish bytes it would only be compressing zeros. What algorithm might give the data that repeats the way it does in the compressed file?
ObdsCbb.png

MK73DS

Non-commutative algebra
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country
France
Hi,

I'm trying to figure out how to decompress XB3D saves, but I'm not very good at this :(
I tried a lot of methods, zlib, bz2, gzip ... without success :(

I found some things, I think that the 0x8B first bytes aren't compressed. I found in this "header" some similarities with the uncompressed Wii version (some "magic" numbers in common, they are just reversed), and we can clearely see the name of the characters so this part doesn't seem to be compressed.
Then, at 0x8C, there are 4 bytes which are the same (only for non empty save ?) : CE FA ED FE
I googled it without succes, I only was able to find that this is the magic number of some old mac binaries or whatever :/

Here is a screenshot with some of the similarities I was able to find :
hKJVIrS.png

If anyone can help us it would be very great :)

Thank you :)

WulfyStylez

SALT/Bemani Princess
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
For the record, these saves seem to be compressed with Nintendo's proprietary CX compression, in the Huffman mode. AFAIK there's no public tools to handle this type of CX compression, though it could readily be reversed from the game code itself or the wii or 3DS SDKs (for symbols).