Xbox hard drive upgrade options?

raynor_ni

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
101
Trophies
1
XP
1,732
Country
Hey guys, decided to fire up my old xbox, and all I can find for it is the original hard drive.
So I decided to upgrade that, but all I have spare is some sata drives,
which I have managed to get working and move all the save data to it.

It boots in the xbox just fine but just to the plain ms dashboard.
I used Mechassault to softmod it originally but sadly the dvd drive refuses to read it.

I do have the eeprom backed up and i tried using xboxhdm with my sata-ide adapter. but my current pc has 1 ide port and refuses to boot from dvd when the sata-ide adapter is in.

What's my choices here? I'm more than a little out of the loop when it comes to the Xbox.
As far as I can see it I have 3 options:

Suffer with the 8gb HD,
Buy a replacement DVD,
or try to find a decent IDE drive somewhere

Any options would be appreciated.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,500
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,566
Country
Antarctica
You can connect the SATA drive to a Kingwin SATA-IDE adapter.
Be sure to look up the exact model on the XBMC forums.

You could tweak the laser POT on the DVD drive a bit to get it to read again, enough to boot up an exploit game.

Or you could flash the TSOP if you have a 1.0-1.5 Xbox
 

raynor_ni

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
101
Trophies
1
XP
1,732
Country
Yeah I have a sata-ide adapter, it's not a kingwin as you've mentioned though.
The Xbox is 1.4 but I've never soldered nor even own a soldering iron but I completely forgot about a pot tweak.
Cheers.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,500
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,566
Country
Antarctica
You technically can even do it with a trace repair pen.
Only thing you need to do is bridge a few points to make the TSOP writable.

A hacked BIOS can accept HDDs without a HDDKey.

Good luck tho!
 

raynor_ni

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
101
Trophies
1
XP
1,732
Country
Weird update: I bought some component cables over the weekend so thought I'd give them a test,
so I put back the original (and modded) hard drive back in, accidentally left the Mechassault disc in and... it booted.
It even let me load the "run linux" save and everything lol.

Powered off, put the sata hard drive in annnnd.... it refuses to boot again.

I swear this Xbox is taunting me :rofl2:
 

raynor_ni

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
101
Trophies
1
XP
1,732
Country
it boots to MS dash fine, no error codes or anything. I do get an error code 13 if I use a 40pin ide cable though. Needs to be 80pin for it to boot.
 

raynor_ni

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
101
Trophies
1
XP
1,732
Country
Tried with 4 IDE cable's (2 40 pin, 2 80 pin) and my results are:

With 40 pin AND sata hard drive either error 13 or error 21, if I use original 8gb ide hard drive all is fine including booting discs.

with either 80 pin and sata hard drive boots fine to dash but dvd drive (it's a phillips) refuses to load any disc (tried multiple games, music cd's etc..)

This thing has won lol, at least until I try a pot tweak or solder to enable a TSOP flash. :bow:
 

raynor_ni

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
101
Trophies
1
XP
1,732
Country
soooo... I gave soldering a go.

My (current) problem is this: as I have a 1.4 Xbox with a winbond chip, I'm using HeXEn to attempt to flash it,
following the guide on this very forum, I get to the point where it asks me to pick a bios to flash (from Gentoox)
and it says "no bios files in C:\BIOS"

The files are there if I use a file manager to browse to it, so I dunno what gives.
:huh:
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,500
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
22,566
Country
Antarctica
It's possible yep, but I don't recommend it.
Easy to fuck up and a bricked BIOS means you'll have to hardmod it.
Or chuck it in the bin and get a new one.
 

raynor_ni

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
101
Trophies
1
XP
1,732
Country
yeah there are. As I posted above, Gentoox doesn't see any files at all in C:\BIOS, and I presume slayers simply crashed (otherwise if it had actually erased surely I'd have a brick?)

I presume I'm doing something wrong here but I don't know what.
If the solder wasn't done right, wouldn't it report that write isn't enabled or similar?
 

raynor_ni

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
101
Trophies
1
XP
1,732
Country
I have. For some reason Gentoox doesn't see them, it reports "No BIOS files in C:\BIOS.". Is there a recommended programme to do this other than Gentoox?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also im gonna finally install the steam client
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Then uninstall it five minutes later, jk
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    ok steam clint still works for some reason
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    client*
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    my steam friend id is 1625764420
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nighty night
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Darkness is my friend, I become invisible in the night.
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Best camouflaged
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I fear not the dark... the darkness fears me... lol
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    shoot, i'll send you a friend request ig
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    This Facebook?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Playing pool alone is pretty boring...wifey out of town tonight. Prob over at K3nv2's house again.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    She tried thank god for ring
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Did you know they made black chalk, i had no idea but luckily my man gave me some for free, cause my felt is black.
    2eb22a39-4fda-4594-8b11-da4942b24075_1500x1500.jpeg
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Race
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    Hiya
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    oh dear. making codes for nes is kinda stressful. i'm trying to think of cool ideas that haven't been thought of before. it's hard to be original, and i don't wanna make codes that already exist!
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    I may make a post asking for code ideas, and hopefully that would make others happy :)
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    Also, my ADHD keeps me from sleeping, and It bothers me lol
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    Anywho, I've been using my modded Wii to play a few games here and there, and finally installed a custom Wii theme thanks to Larsenv helping me in a call (I have a family edition, and I don't wanna brick the nand since I can't restore it) Went with the basic "Black" Theme, since I'm a huge fan of dark themes, and it's less of an eyesore at night
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    Larsen also helped me with my Dazzle setup, since the drivers for my model weren't online. I also helped dump that DVD with it, since I had a DVD drive.
  • GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs:
    And now pinnacle studio received a new update, and reset my my KEY, and he's trying to figure out why it did that.
    GameGenieLabs @ GameGenieLabs: And now pinnacle studio received a new update, and reset my my KEY, and he's trying to figure...