Xbox 360 Reset Glitch Hack patched on Phat consoles

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Fudge, Feb 15, 2012.

Feb 15, 2012
  1. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It is currently unknown if Slim consoles are affected by this update. In any case though, if you plan on RGHing in the future you should probably stay of LIVE.
     
  2. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Unless that patch occurred in the last 3 hours, I never received it. Odd.
     
  3. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Not everyone has received the update yet. You'll likely have it sometime tomorrow.
     
  4. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    And the cat n' mouse game goes on some more. Sucks that they can patch it on phats.
     
  5. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,274
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I saw people talking about a small update that didn't seem to do anything. Didn't figure it was just MS pulling a Nintendo, though.

    Wasn't it claimed that the RGH couldn't be patched out?
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,735
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    An interesting development, I think I might make a news post.

    Those wishing to reread how it all works http://gbatemp.net/topic/306685-x360-the-reset-glitch-hack/ has some on the underlying theory.
     
  7. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    if there is something i always think about its HW v SW. Any type of software can be done/hacked and prevented/secured but hardware... not possible if only hardware is used.
    For example, tony hawks required a peripheral, can u remake a software for that? but many games require a higher software/firmware version, and u can bypass that.

    we can transport so many software across the world in a few seconds but can we do the same for a simple thing such as a needle?

    if there is a more reliable hack then it has to be hardware and that even can be hacked but only by its incomplete software implementation. its just an opinion but i think it is the way of life.
     
  8. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,735
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not wishing to be the one that sends this right off topic

    Hardware- there is programmable hardware these days ranging from simple programmable chips (they are still awesome though- see how many little electronics projects contain something like an arduino) to CPLDs to full on FPGA devices that at the cost of extra power (as in energy) and expense (although far cheaper ones exist) can and do operate in the same realms as dedicated hardware (if no dedicated chip exists it is often cheaper to stick a FPGA in there rather than set up a fab for said chips). For my money this has blurred the line between hardware and software and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future.
    As for the peripherals- many things have been cloned but I look to the likes of the guitar hero patches for the DS where the addon was converted to buttons.

    As for sending stuff might I direct you towards CNC in the various forms it takes, 3d printing, selective laser sintering and that whole world ( http://www.shapeways.com/ might be of interest). I try to avoid those that have a tendency to gush about it but I would say it would be hard to underestimate the potential.

    On the matter of firmware unless it is truly tied to the likes of an FPGA as mentioned above (in which case it is probably just a lot trickier) most of what happens in consoles is either a simple check for new but using old methods (remember games take a while to develop) or still possible by various means. Indeed I am going to suggest that after implementation and troubleshooting most of computing revolves around making sure legacy stuff carries on working. Granted aspects of this are often considered some of the harder areas of computing/engineering in general but there are loads playing in that world.
     
  9. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    I won't go too far into it, but providing the details in the OP are true for all versions (CB updated, and I say provided because every update since the JTAG blocking CB update someone has come up with 'OMG CB has been updated!' posts which have proven inaccurate every time so far)... so long as you have your CPU key before you update you won't permanently lose your chance to use RGH, but it could take a great deal of time before a solid solution is released again for machines that are updated with a new CB.

    M$ kinda shot theirselves in the foot on ever blocking RGH like they did with JTAG by giving us some CB code that doesn't have any lockdown check (trinity/slim CB_A can work on all revisions and as proven with trinity can also be glitched)... but you still need to know your CPU key to take adavantage of it.
     
  10. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The claim of it not being patchable was for the slim I think.
     
  11. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,927
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm So gonna update my Xbox 360 Slim! with Kinect
    (It's not modded in anyway ;) and no intend to do so in the near future)
    (I'm not talking about my Xbox360 Phat wit X360Key in it :P )
     
  12. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,901
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    CB gets glitched so it "shouldn't" be patchable since it's the 1BL is stored in OTP and cannot be changed at all.

    It's kind of similar to the old Wii's with a vulnerable boot1.
    But we'll see if it is truly patchable.

    I'm going to update my flashed box anyway since I already got a glitched Falcon
     
  13. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Has there been any word on whether this has been verified okay for those of us using LT+ 3.0 ? Among other things, wondering whether this means I'll need to do my patching routine again. Strangely enough, never had success flashing from putting system update on a USB flash drive, but never had a problem with updating from online... then again, always took the precaution of flashing back to stock and ensuring it works before signing in and getting the system updates.
     
  14. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,901
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Afaik, you can update safely with LT 3.0 installed.

    This just seems to be an RGH blocking update.

    Source: Xbox scene
     

Share This Page