Would a new router help my PS3 get online..?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by xxteargodxx, Jun 21, 2011.

Jun 21, 2011
  1. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    I have a PS3 that is about 75 feet away from our router, it gets a signal strength on average of 70%. It can get online and browse the web but no matter what game I put in to play they all will not connect online. I called Sony up and told them the issue they said the PS3 needs a signal strength of at least 80% to play games online.

    What I don't understand is my cousin had his PS3 over our house and our signal strength wasn't 80% and his played games online just fine. So I either need to try a router that can send a stronger signal or wire it from my router to the system. Oh and my system is out of warranty so it'll cost $100 bucks PLUS shipping to send the bitch back to Sony for repairs.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Reduce the number of walls between the router and PS3?
     
  3. Jehuty25

    Member Jehuty25 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Country:
    United States
    Do yourself and everyone else a favor by using an ethernet cord for online gaming.
     
  4. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Don't need a new router, just needed to move it over another room and now the PS3 gets a 100% signal strength and there's no more issues.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    Or a more abstract idea. If moving is not an option at all and you have a laptop, try bridging the connection of your laptops wifi and it's ethernet port and hook up your PS3 wired that way. I do it sometimes because the PS3 only has 802.11g and my laptop has 802.11n.
     

Share This Page