1. HarvHouHacker

    OP HarvHouHacker Owner of the Rock Band Customs Project
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Let me preface this by saying - I will not upgrade to Windows 10. Please do not answer with "Upgrade to Windows 10", as this is not the solution I am looking for.

    For those who don't know, I am running a custom-built computer with an AMD Ryzen 3 2200G processor. Specs are here: https://www.amd.com/en/products/apu/amd-ryzen-3-2200g As you can see, it has Radeon Vega 8 graphics built in.

    My OS of choice is Windows 8.1 Professional - I had upgraded from Windows 7 due to the end of extended support. Unfortunately, this puts me in a terrible spot. According to my research, AMD stopped Radeon graphics support of Windows 8.1 back in the summer of 2017, and the Vega 8 graphics were released after the cancellation. My choices are:
    1. Upgrade to Windows 10 to install the drivers - something I will NOT be doing!
    2. Replace my chipset with one that is compatible with Windows 8.1; that would be a costly venture.
    3. Attempt to force Windows 8.1 to install the drivers designed for Windows 10. I succeeded to do so, but upon restarting to apply the changes, it freezes at the motherboard's logo.
    4. Search for a modified, working set of Vega 8 drivers that will work with Windows 8.1; so far, no luck.

    I'm reaching out to this community to see if anyone can help me with my problem. I'm trying to get the drivers working for some games and an emulator I want to use.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  2. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,973
    Country:
    United States
    I'd recommend installing a Linux distro. Gaming on Linux has come a really long way, especially for AMD systems. Lutris and Proton make it a breeze. The "hardest" part is just getting the Vulkan drivers installed and enabled. Your other option is to modify the driver installer to include your hardware's IDs so the driver gets forcibly installed, but this is incredibly difficult to do (I've tried in the past for my Mac since Apple hasn't maintained the Bootcamp GPU driver since 2017), and I believe AMD's installer now has a sanitation check before running to make sure it hasn't been modified or compromised, which causes even more headaches. Personally, I moved to Pop_OS because Windows has become absolutely abysmal to use, and gaming performance ended up being miles better anyway.

    Here's a screenshot of my Lutris library so far. All of these games play flawlessly, and I haven't been able to find a game that I can't get to run either through this or Steam's Proton.
    Screenshot from 2021-03-12 15-41-54.png

    Edit: I take that back. I have problems with MHW, but that's only because of the crack it uses. I haven't bothered to setup a Steam emulator for it yet.
     
    Last edited by Joom, Mar 12, 2021
  3. HarvHouHacker

    OP HarvHouHacker Owner of the Rock Band Customs Project
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    A great suggestion, however some programs I am trying to run don't work well or at all on Linux, as they are designed solely for Windows. Also, I already have a Ubuntu laptop.
     
  4. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,973
    Country:
    United States
    Which ones would these be? There's really only a tiny handful of things WINE can't run these days, especially if you use wine-staging. Lutris even provides helper scripts on their site for both games and applications. They utilize winetricks and perform the entire environment setup for you, so it's pretty much "click and go" these days.

    Here's a helper script for Sony Vegas, for example.
    https://lutris.net/games/vegas-pro-15-edit/
     
  5. HarvHouHacker

    OP HarvHouHacker Owner of the Rock Band Customs Project
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Stuff for the Rock Band Customs Project. RockBiink, MiloMod, C3 CON Tools, Rudi's Downloaders, etc. They weren't made by the developers for Linux, and I doubt that WINE can efficiently run them.
     
  6. tech3475

    tech3475 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,264
    Country:
    Worst case scenario, can you just buy a new GPU and disable the onboard?

    What happens if you run the AMD automatic detect and install utility?
     
  7. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,973
    Country:
    United States
    You got a link to any of these? I'm Googling around, but not really finding much. I'm willing to wager a lot of these tools were made in C#, or some other .NET language, which is incredibly simple to run under WINE.
     
  8. Hambrew

    Hambrew not your therapist
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Messages:
    540
    Country:
    United States
    No source in the RBCP GitLab to compile a native Linux version? That's a bit cringe. Also, looking in the README...
    If I were you, I'd take my chances and use a LiveUSB to test if they work.
     
  9. HarvHouHacker

    OP HarvHouHacker Owner of the Rock Band Customs Project
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    I could, but it might not function well.

    I get an error saying that my hardware does not support the OS; i.e. AMD Radeon will not work on Windows 8.1.

    I guess so? You can find most of that stuff here: https://rhythmgamingworld.com/forums/topic/list-of-all-authoring-stuff-reaper-magma-tutorials-etc/ Also, several of the developers are on my Discord; you're welcome to join and ask them.

    RBCP is a collection of software, not a source code for a single piece.

    I'll consider it only if the software I want to work will not work. Anyhow, most of the RBCP software works well; it's just stuff like RPCS3 that is giving me fits.
     
  10. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,973
    Country:
    United States
    I found the C3 Tools at least, and I was right about that. You get this without .NET 4 installed:
    Code:
    0024:fixme:mscoree:parse_supported_runtime sku=L".NETFramework,Version=v4.0" not implemented
    
    You just need .NET 4 installed, which winetricks can do for you easily.
    Code:
    winetricks dotnet40
    wine C3CONTools.exe
    
    And voila:
    Screenshot from 2021-03-12 16-07-17.png

    Awesome. I'll try a couple more here in a few, but I can't imagine they'd be all that hard to get running. With .NET applications, you just need the framework installed just like on Windows.
    If they're .NET, you can't really build a truly native Linux version as you can only build them as an EXE, and either run them with WINE or Mono. A Mono build would be more "native", but not by much.
     
    Last edited by Joom, Mar 12, 2021
  11. tech3475

    tech3475 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,264
    Country:
    Any particular reason? I ask because I’ve never heard of this happening before (only exception was some weird software/driver I was using).

    Or do you mean performance wise?
     
  12. HarvHouHacker

    OP HarvHouHacker Owner of the Rock Band Customs Project
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, that's awesome! I'll report that to the developers and see what they say.

    EDIT: This does not mean my problem is solved, however. I'm still looking to see if I can make Windows 8.1 do more before I decide to switch away from it.

    If I am to stick with Windows 8.1, most modern (no older than three years) chipsets don't support Windows 8.1. AMD Radeon has dropped support completely since 2017, so any AMD Radeon graphics chipsets I get for my system would not have drivers built just for Win 8.1. I don't know about Intel, but I'm pretty sure they are the same way.
     
    Last edited by HarvHouHacker, Mar 12, 2021
  13. tech3475

    tech3475 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,264
    Country:
    Ok, I thought it was just the GPU driver you were after.

    On a side note, if you do use Linux then you could potentially use Windows 8.1 in a VM if the software which can’t run under Linux isn’t too demanding.

    AFAIK this should bypass most of the driver related issues since they typically emulate their own chipset, gpu, etc. From my experience by default.
     
  14. CPG

    CPG not retarded trust me
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,060
    Country:
    Canada
    does windows 8.1 still work without the drivers? because i think the only thing the drivers do is bring the software and thats it.

    i am using windows 10 and ryzen 3 3200g with vega 8 incase you are wondering.
     
  15. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14,021
    Country:
    United States
    AMD drivers are fucking dogshit, period. I had to fiddle with some hacking on a mobile APU to get something moderately stable with their drivers, so try the following:

    1. Download and extract the AMD GPU drivers to wherever.
    2. Navigate to /Packages/Drivers/Display/WT6AINF
    3. Open up "C0365275.inf" in a text editor
    4. Find: "ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.10.0", and copy everything in this section. This is essentially how the software dictates which version of the driver you can install for your version of Windows.
    5. Find: "ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.3.1" < This is the code for Windows 8.1. Paste what you copied from the above under this heading. This will "force" the drivers to recognize your version of Windows as a valid version.
    6. Install the driver MANUALLY with Device Manager
    A. Press Win+R, type: devmgmt.msc and hit enter
    B. Find your AMD GPU in the list, right click it, and choose "Update Drivers"
    C. Choose "Browse my Computer for Drivers", and navigate to the folder with the modified .inf
    D. Drivers should then install, reboot
    I can't guarantee this will work perfectly for you, when I had to do this with a mobile APU driver I would occasionally get BSODs, but it's either this or update to Windows 10.
     
  16. HarvHouHacker

    OP HarvHouHacker Owner of the Rock Band Customs Project
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but I wanted the drivers to work. I'm now exploring alternate GPUs; NVIDIA looks good.

    Did that. I succeeded in getting them to install, but my computer hung at the boot screen when trying to start normally, so I had to boot into safe mode and uninstall the drivers again. After talking with others about it, they suggest it may be a kernel conflict. IDK. I would very much like to use the AMD GPU, but the drivers don't seem to "just work". I don't know if further modification is needed? I can give you all the relevant specs of my computer, and link to the latest driver package for Radeon Vega 8 so you can browse the files.

    EDIT: If you already have the latest Radeon driver package, I can skip sending you that package. Just compare it against my hardware specs.

    RE-EDIT: Here are some pics.

    Screenshot 2021-03-27 16:42:10.png Screenshot 2021-03-27 16:43:19.png Screenshot 2021-03-27 16:43:45.png Screenshot 2021-03-27 16:44:07.png Screenshot 2021-03-27 16:44:27.png
     
    Last edited by HarvHouHacker, Mar 28, 2021
  17. JanFralst

    JanFralst Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi Tom

    This method really sounds interesting to me. I have a laptop with a Ryzen 5 4500U (model: Acer Aspire A515-44) - and a would like to run Windows 8.1 on this one. I've tried your method modifying the .inf file. I tried on:

    Radeon Software Adrenalin 2020 Edition 21.3.2 Driver for Windows® 10 64-bit
    Radeon Software Adrenalin 2020 Edition 21.3.2 Driver for Windows® 7 64-bit

    None of these have the ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.3.1 option so I tried to create it in the .inf file - but I get an error like "hash value for....??...is missing". Do you have suggestion how to do this the right way - or if you maybe could guide me to some links....?

    Best Regards

    Jan
     
    HarvHouHacker likes this.
  18. HarvHouHacker

    OP HarvHouHacker Owner of the Rock Band Customs Project
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United States
    I agree. I also would like to know!
     
    JanFralst likes this.
  19. JanFralst

    JanFralst Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    I agree with you HarvHouHacker according Win 8.1. Of course I run both Win 10 and Linux on many machines - but in the Microsoft ecosystem I personally prefer Win 8.1.

    Why?

    A fresh installation of Win 10 has approx 150 background processes in idle state. With rather hard tweaking you may go under a hundred.

    Some simple tweaking of Win 8 takes you easily down to 20-25 background processes! Thats what I like!! I dont want my OS to be cooking under hood - I want to decide myself whats going on!!

    The free world of computing is tightened up by different means, and manufacturers. People have less possibilities to choose themselves.

    Legacy boot for example is also now a memory too - enjoy as long as its possible to turn off Secure Boot!!
     
    HarvHouHacker likes this.
  20. JanFralst

    JanFralst Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Sweden
    So, it would be very much appreciated if someone could and wanted to contribute with a deeper and more detailed knowledge on how to mod for example latest Adrenalin 2020 Win 7 drivers to work for Win 8.1!! If it is possible at all...??
     
    HarvHouHacker likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Windows, Drivers, Chipset