WiiKey block system update

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by oscgee, Oct 27, 2008.

Oct 27, 2008

WiiKey block system update by oscgee at 12:30 AM (2,057 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. oscgee
    OP

    Newcomer oscgee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I just installed a Wiikey, and I was going to test out spiderman web of shadows but it shows up saying I have to install a system update before I can play the game. The problem is that it's a PAL game and I have an NTSC system so I obviously don't want to brick it. I have the option for "BLOCK DVD SYSTEM UPDATE" turned on in the wiikey config but it seems it doesn't do anything... why doesn't it work? and is there any other way to skip the update?
     
  2. junk_man32

    Banned junk_man32 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    no, or wii update remover app
     
  3. Eikon

    Newcomer Eikon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    patch the game with brick blocker and re-burn.
     
  4. oscgee
    OP

    Newcomer oscgee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    ok I'll try that but does anyone know why the "block system update" wont work? I enable it but then after I try the game and go back to the cofigure disc it says that it's turned off again. I don't get it
     
  5. Chinman

    Member Chinman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    may sound stupid but did you save the config on the wiikey? also i think i read somewhere you have to turn devmode on for the block updates to work
     
  6. Chinman

    Member Chinman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    after you save, and then go back in the config, the options visually go back to the default, but it is still running the config you saved
     
  7. deadrabbit

    Newcomer deadrabbit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Boot through GeckoOS (homebrew) and it'll skip the update.
     
  8. oscgee
    OP

    Newcomer oscgee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i did make sure it was saved:) I will try the dev mode thing though I wasn't really sure what that was for
     
  9. Chinman

    Member Chinman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if that dont work, use dead rabbits answer

    next time get the ntsc one, it was out before the pal one i believe
     
  10. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Yeah, IIRC "block system updates" won't work without having DevMode on.
     
  11. oscgee
    OP

    Newcomer oscgee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    aha it does work now with dev mode turned on, thanks to everyone who replied:)
     

Share This Page