1. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,277
    Country:
    Italy
    @fledge68 Something is constantly corrupting my GC banners.
    From time to time some of them start showing as a garbled mess. Sometimes the games affected are still working, but most of the time they either cannot be launched anymore (Nintendont starts but black sreen) or are crashing wiiflow (Code Dump) as soon as the banner is showing up.
    I thought that clearing the banner cache folder could fix things up, but it does nothing.
    For the non-working games I have to use a new .iso file to make them work again. My GC games are on an usb HD Fat32
    It has been happening for a while now, and I'm wondering if it could be related to WiiFlow.
    have any of you had the same problem?
    I don't think it's a faulty hard disk, because it's new and it's working good with everything else.
     
  2. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,986
    Country:
    United States
    not sure why its doing that for you. i haven't had any problems.

    1. gc banners are not cached. that's why clearing the banner cache didn't help
    2. you said you have to use a new .iso file to make them work again. why? are the games on usb getting corrupted? i would think just rebooting the wii or restarting wiiflow would clear up your problem.
    3. i think you really need to do a scandisk or chkdisc or whatever the tool is called. to see if there's any files screwed up and to fix them.
    4. something else to try. try running basic wiiflow without themes and backgrounds and see if the banners still mess up.
    5. rename your wiiflow_lite.ini and let wiiflow make a new one.
     
    Tetsuo Shima and Hakaisha like this.
  3. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,986
    Country:
    United States
    i'm trying to get play neo cd games with retroarch with no luck. i have neogeo.zip and neocdz.zip. not sure if neocdz.zip is the correct one or if there are different ones. not even sure where it goes. i know neogeo.zip goes in the folder with the roms.

    also do i use fbalpha core or fbalpha neo geo core? a little help please.
     
  4. Wiimpathy

    Wiimpathy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    883
    Country:
    France
    Sorry if that wasn't clear but none of the official wii builds support neogeo cd.
    The one provided for wii is fba2012(split in neogeo,cps1...). It's the more recent fba that support neogeo cd : https://github.com/libretro/fbalpha
    It may require some changes to be 'plugin ready'. Last time I've read about it, there was also no wav, mp3 or ogg support.
     
  5. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,986
    Country:
    United States
    so your neoCD Wii Redux doesn't work? i seen a video on youtube - some guy shows how to set it up and played a game with it. he even showed mastershoes thread on darkumbra for downloading it.
     
  6. Wiimpathy

    Wiimpathy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    883
    Country:
    France
    What? Off course NeoCD-Wii is working(with a bug). You just need a specific bios and the game's files like it's explained on Wiibrew.

    I was refering to another possible way of running neogeo cd games with retroarch fba. It's another emulator that has nothing to do with neocd redux.
     
  7. suspendedhatch

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    To use the retroarch-wii fba alpha you need the exact romset for that particular version of the emulator. I have the version number written down somewhere but you can check it by loading the fba alpha core in RA and it will be displayed at the bottom.

    I went through a ton of trouble to get these working, then realized that many games are too slow or not working, so they'd need to be tested and deleted by hand. On top of that I couldn't find artwork to fit wiiflow. I ended up deleting all of it off the sd card.
     
  8. Wiimpathy

    Wiimpathy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    883
    Country:
    France
    Thanks for explaining me how fba works. :lol: But, I'm a bit familiar with fba now.
    Last year, I've added virtual memory to the fba neogeo core : https://gbatemp.net/threads/large-neogeo-games-support-and-cps3-tests.493767/

    But yeah, you're right all arcade emulators require a specific romset. For fbalpha2012 it's 0.2.97.30.
    A lot of games are working fullspeed (754 games): Compatibility list

    For arcade covers, what about this thread : https://gbatemp.net/threads/cover-collections-for-emulators-with-cover-support.324714/
     
  9. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,986
    Country:
    United States
    so what's the bug? when does it happen?

    also the guy in the video showed it via wiiflow but it didn't auto start the game he had to click start when neoCD wii loaded. is it not wiiflow plugin ready? can you make it take args?
     
  10. Wiimpathy

    Wiimpathy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    883
    Country:
    France
    Oh no it's still not clear and I have an awful headache today.

    Neocd-Wii has a workaround(a hack!) in the drawing function : https://github.com/Wiimpathy/Neocd-Wii/blob/master/src/video/video.c#L233
    Also see my comment here : https://github.com/Wiimpathy/Neocd-Wii/issues/1
    So for me, it's game over...

    Making a plugin would also be a pain. In fact, it's the only one I won't even try to do...

    There could be a better alternative with https://github.com/libretro/fbalpha. It's not available for the Wii(only fba2012 is). But it's not too hard to compile.
    Last time I tried the '--subsystem neocd' didn't work with args in rgui, it had to be hardcoded. I can't find my bloody test build though...
     
    fledge68 likes this.
  11. suspendedhatch

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    That's all it took for me to get retroarch fba working was to get the right rom set and set up the directories as specified.

    That's the thread I go to for covers but unless you like converting game names (including all the mistakes and variations) to mame style abbreviations, you're SOL.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Code:
    Setting Wii games partition to: 1
    Emu NAND Full Path = sd:/nands/default
    IOS Compatible NAND Path = /nands/default
    Creating Gamelist
    Games found: 1249
    Coverflow started!
    wiiflow main screen ready!
    Coverflow stopped!
    Creating Gamelist
    Games found: 640
    Coverflow started!
    Coverflow stopped!
    Creating Gamelist
    Games found: 640
    Coverflow started!
    Coverflow stopped!
    Coverflow started!
    Launching game GZLE01
    Coverflow stopped!
    Nintendont loaded: sd:/apps/nintendont/boot.dol
    Cleanup Coverflow
    Stopping sound thread
    Stopped sound thread
    MEM1_freesize(): 8871920
    MEM2_freesize(): 32219904
    Nintendont Game Path: /games/Legend of Zelda, The - The Wind Waker (USA)/game.iso, ID: 475a4c45
    Writing Arguments
     
     
  12. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,986
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the sd log but you left off the beginning which tells me important things like if ahbprot is disabled. And i can tell you are not using the latest wiiflow. Plus it shouldnt say anything after mem1 and mem2. Especially the crc. You mustve added those lines.
     
  13. Wiimpathy

    Wiimpathy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    883
    Country:
    France
    All FBA flyers are named correctly. Off course, it's better to sort your roms first. It's crazy to have a full romset with all clones/non working games.

    Well, ok it takes more than 5 minutes to do but there are many ways.
    With the compat linked above, it's just a matter of keeping the 'WORKING' column games and saving the zip names only as a simple text file, 'fba.txt' for example.
    Then write a batch that will copy or move the files to an Output folder. Like this :

    Code:
    for /f "delims=" %%L in (fba.txt) do copy "%%L" Output
    This list has almost no clones.

    There is that compat list too (with clones but more script friendly) : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...CclVfIhDfVW-SeN6mEdpYSK9VjQ/edit#gid=89942608

    More elaborated scripts can be written too. For Windows, someone wrote a powershell script called WiiFBASort.

    For little variations in name (amidar/amidaru), FuzzyRenameEXT is pretty good.
    There are also PC tools to manage roms like clrmamepro. Etc...
     
  14. suspendedhatch

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    No, I can assure you I didn't omit or doctor anything lol. Why would anyone do that? Maybe it's something weird my mac is doing? I see the date on the log file is march 21st... Let me run it again and see if it will create a new file.
    The meta.xml confirms it's 5.2.
    Yeah, it's not overwriting that file. I wonder how I got it to finally create it.

    *okay so apparently opening it up with Console (mac default app for .log files) is the source of the weird messages. I'll open it in my code editor from now on.
    I deleted the 3/21 wiiflow.log and now it's not recreating it. There must be some shutdown etc procedure of getting wiiflow to create the log.
     
    Last edited by suspendedhatch, Apr 4, 2019
  15. AbdallahTerro

    AbdallahTerro da KiNG
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6,051
    Country:
    Just droppin to say "hi" to everyone, especially wiimpathy and fledge and all my old friends.
    Hope you guys are doing fine and wish I still had some free time like the old days to mess with the code :)
    Keep it up :)
     
  16. Wiimpathy

    Wiimpathy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    883
    Country:
    France
    Hi Abdallah. I also hope all is well for you.

    Thanks so much for your packs and all the tutorials/info you wrote. To be honest, since your 'retirement' and with all WiiFlow novelties, new plugins, nobody has been able to release an updated pack and solid documentation.
    We miss you.:)
     
    Jochte, AbdallahTerro and kaisersozeh like this.
  17. kaisersozeh

    kaisersozeh GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    Antarctica
  18. suspendedhatch

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Code:
    Welcome to WiiFlow WFL 5.3.0 beta 3!
    This is the debug output.
    Real Wii
    AHBPROT disabled = no
    IOS58 v6176
    patched isfs_permissions 0 times.
    patched es_setuid 0 times.
    patched es_identify 0 times.
    patched hash_check 0 times.
    patched new_hash_check 0 times.
    Init ISFS
    Found WiiFlow Save
    Loading IOS Settings from wiiflow save
    Using IOS58
    FAT Partition at sd: mounted.
    Changing USB port to port 0....
     * * * * * * * * * * * *
     * HDD Information
     * Sectors: 976746239
     * Size [Sector Size]: 3.788 TB [4096]
     * * * * * * * * * * * *
    FAT Partition at usb1: mounted.
    Running sound thread
    Wiiflow boot.dol Location: sd:/apps/wiiflow
    Data Directory: sd:/wiiflow
    Wii Games Directory: %s:/wbfs
    Nintendont found
    GameCube Games Directory: %s:/games
    Loading cIOS map
    Found cIOS in slot 249
    Found cIOS in slot 250
    Found cIOS in slot 251
    Setting Wii games partition to: 1
    emu nand path = sd:/nands/default
    saves nand path = sd:/nands/default
    Bootup completed!
    Creating Gamelist
    Adding gamecube list
    Games found: 640
    Displaying covers
    Creating Gamelist
    Adding gamecube list
    Games found: 640
    Displaying covers
    Launching game GZLE01
    Nintendont loaded: sd:/apps/nintendont/boot.dol
    Cleanup Coverflow
    Stopping sound thread
    Stopped sound thread
    MEM1_freesize(): 8691696
    MEM2_freesize(): 34939648
    Nintendont Game Path: /games/Legend of Zelda, The - The Wind Waker (USA)/game.iso, ID: 475a4c45
    Writing Arguments
     
    Welcome to WiiFlow WFL 5.3.0 beta 3!
    This is the debug output.
    Real Wii
    AHBPROT disabled = yes
    IOS58 v6176
    patched isfs_permissions 1 times.
    patched es_setuid 1 times.
    patched es_identify 1 times.
    patched hash_check 0 times.
    patched new_hash_check 1 times.
    Init ISFS
    Found WiiFlow Save
    Loading IOS Settings from wiiflow save
    Using IOS58
    FAT Partition at sd: mounted.
    Changing USB port to port 0....
     * * * * * * * * * * * *
     * HDD Information
     * Sectors: 976746239
     * Size [Sector Size]: 3.788 TB [4096]
     * * * * * * * * * * * *
    FAT Partition at usb1: mounted.
    Running sound thread
    Wiiflow boot.dol Location: sd:/apps/wiiflow
    Data Directory: sd:/wiiflow
    Wii Games Directory: %s:/wbfs
    Nintendont found
    GameCube Games Directory: %s:/games
    Loading cIOS map
    Found d2x base 56 in slot 249
    Found d2x base 57 in slot 250
    Found d2x base 58 in slot 251
    Setting Wii games partition to: 1
    emu nand path = sd:/nands/default
    saves nand path = sd:/nands/default
    Bootup completed!
    Creating Gamelist
    Adding gamecube list
    Games found: 640
    Displaying covers
    Cleanup Coverflow
    Stopping sound thread
    Stopped sound thread
    MEM1_freesize(): 8728560
    MEM2_freesize(): 32271232
    
     
  19. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,986
    Country:
    United States
    So ya theres your problem. Ahbprot not disabled. Until you return to wiiflow. The forwarder or whatever you launch wiiflow is not disabling ahbprot. Try a different forwarder.

    @Wiimpathy @AbdallahTerro im actually in the pprocess of making a new wiiflow 5 masterpiece pack.
     
  20. AbdallahTerro

    AbdallahTerro da KiNG
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6,051
    Country:
    "retirement" is not the right word though
    My wii is still as good as new in the hands of my 2 sons now, so I still check it out from time to time
    And yeah you're right my latest wiiflow pack on mediafire has been downloaded for around 40,000 times now, I didn't feel like releasing any updates since 2016 though I still have lots of stuff in my "temp" folder.
    The main reason I stopped updating the pack beside lack of time was that gxarena.com was down and that's where all my http links, updates, banners and what not were hosted and I didn't find any reliable free alternative.
    I still hope that some day I might upload all the stuff again, I still have the devkit and sources so recompiling with the new links should not be a big issue.
    Anyways thanks and take care buddy

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    :P ninja'ed
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - WiiFlow,