1. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    It is possible the ROM is a bad dump. What game is it exactly, or is it multiple games stuttering? I'd like to test on my end to verify one way or another.
     
    xLAKITUx and alexander1970 like this.
  2. xLAKITUx

    xLAKITUx Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Sonic CD (USA) - regular, non revision from redump
     
    RunningSnakes likes this.
  3. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    @xLAKITUx
    I'm also using Sonic CD (USA), not sure if it is redump though. Using WFL, GensPlusGX, RA 183, RA-SS, I get random quick stutter on all. I tested Spider-Man, Cadillacs & have not seen any problems. Not sure if it is bad dump or emulator related. It could be isolated to Sonic CD, but im positive WFL is not causing the issue. I'll check if I have a different dump of Sonic CD to test and report back.
     
    xLAKITUx and alexander1970 like this.
  4. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    I tested iso/ogg & different bin/cue Sonic CD, all perform the same way (random quick stutters). I don't play alot of Sega CD but don't remember seeing this before & hope it is Sonic CD isolated. It is annoying when it happens but not game breaking imo.
     
    alexander1970 and xLAKITUx like this.
  5. xLAKITUx

    xLAKITUx Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you so much for looking into it, and for the earlier tip about CHD.

    Maybe there will be some breakthroughs in the Wiiflow Plugins megathread with Sega CD.
     
    RunningSnakes likes this.
  6. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,180
    Country:
    Italy
    I've just tested Sonic CD on RA. There are occasional frame skips for me too when running fast, nothing terrible though, it doesn't happen everytime. Music and sounds are playing good without stuttering.
    I've never had the luck to play it on original hardware, so I don't know if it could be normal behaviour (too many sprites at the same time?)
     
  7. xLAKITUx

    xLAKITUx Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    Ya know, I was gonna suggest the same thing - Is it possible that this is how it ran on original hardware?

    And I thought we were moving away from RA for the most part? I tested on the most recent standalone genplus gx plugin (I believe that's 1.7.5?)
     
  8. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,180
    Country:
    Italy
    I'm still trying to test various RA builds, with mixed results. I've found some stable cores that can cohexist with older RA versions (genplus gx libretro is one of them, and it works great) but some other cores are giving random core dumps with every single build I've tested.
    It's really frustrating and I know I should stop, but I really don't like to play without scanlines overlays, and I also wanted to give users a RA alternative whenever it's possible.
     
  9. Hakaisha

    Hakaisha GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Country:
    United States
    @xLAKITUx , @Tetsuo Shima , @RunningSnakes , are you loading these games from USB or SD?

    In my experience, the CD audio games like Sega CD and MSU1 only have these "stutter" issues when loaded from USB. The performance issues disappear when the games are loaded from SD.

    Storing these larger games on the SD card isn't an ideal situation, but it is the only solution that has worked for me. If anyone has a setup working where the cd audio games (sega cd, msu1, pce-cd) are performing without issues from USB, I am curious what your setup is. (file type, specific emulator, etc.)
     
    Last edited by Hakaisha, Jun 12, 2020
    RunningSnakes and xLAKITUx like this.
  10. xLAKITUx

    xLAKITUx Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    This makes sense in the limited amount that I know about how I/O works. From a really simple perspective, if you're running an emulator on an SD card and it has to pull that data off a secondary source (USB Drive), you introduce the potential for lag in I/O write.
     
    Hakaisha and RunningSnakes like this.
  11. Tetsuo Shima

    Tetsuo Shima GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,180
    Country:
    Italy
    I will try Sonic CD from SD.
    For PC Engine CD games I have no stuttering from USB, as reported here
    RA version is 1.8.8 (2020-05-25-nightly) All other RA version had the stutterings
    File type is .cue + single .bin
    Wiiflow on SD, games on USB

    Ah I've found out that it's not needed to enable CD Image Cache (from Quick menu -> Options).
     
    xLAKITUx, Hakaisha and RunningSnakes like this.
  12. RunningSnakes

    RunningSnakes GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2018
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    I'm loading from USB. I've just recently went back to SD/USB combo but my larger games (Sega CD, PCE CD) are on HDD & that is where it occurs. I can live with it, as Tetsuo said, it doesn't happen every play and it is random when it does occur. At least I'll have an excuse next time I try to finish Gate Of Thunder and fail.

    I have to install the PCE RA 1.8.8, have not done so yet.
     
    Last edited by RunningSnakes, Jun 12, 2020
    alexander1970 and xLAKITUx like this.
  13. hadi aulia

    hadi aulia Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Indonesia
    have you tried retroarch hexaexo edition?
     
    xLAKITUx likes this.
  14. C2PO

    C2PO Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello, is it possible to launch a Super Smash Bros Brawl mod with a code comprising more than 256 lines with Wiiflow lite? (example: Project M, SSB Legacy TE, SSB Legacy XP, Smash 2) I put the gameconfig.txt file in the wiiflow /codes/ folder with the corresponding GCT in wiiflow/codes/ gct but it doesn't seem to work :/
     
  15. MrSW

    MrSW GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    Brunei
    I had the same problem initially, try putting gameconfig.txt in the root of your device or in the "settings" folder, I can't remember which one was it, but one of them worked
     
  16. FanNintendo

    FanNintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    882
    Country:
    United States
    Hello Is there WFL Forwarder for Wii U and can u play on gamepad on vwii from Wii U off USB yet? Thank you :)
     
  17. Jochte

    Jochte Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Same issue for me. I spent time with Legacy XP, never did resolve for wiiflow even with gameconfig.txt in root and in settings folder - tried on both SD and HD. I did get it to work/load in usbloadergx with AXhooktype turned on for "brawl". I would much rather it worked with wiiflow (wiiflow forever!) but this is only workaround I could figure out. All the research I did led me to conclude that the 256 lines limitation is why I couldn't get it to work in wiiflow but it is only my best guess.
     
    Last edited by Jochte, Jun 14, 2020
  18. C2PO

    C2PO Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada

    I have already tried to put gameconfig.txt in settings or in the root but it seems that it is not taken into account. When I put it in wiiflow / codes / it seems to react to the game even if I get a black screen.

    I read in a post that there must be at least one active code in .txt format for wiiflow to react but I have not yet tried.
    I will continue the tests

    I'm afraid of arriving there, but I really want to use that Wiiflow, I will warn you if I find a solution (the I will test to make an iso brawl merged to the code so that the game loads the content in the SD but not sure it works).
     
    Last edited by C2PO, Jun 14, 2020
  19. fledge68

    OP fledge68 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,947
    Country:
    United States
    root:/wiiflow/codes is the correct folder.
     
    C2PO likes this.
  20. C2PO

    C2PO Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    So I have to understand why the mode is not loading, I am using Brawl with a different ID so that I can have a separate launcher by mod, but I should have tried with the original one to start. Thank you for your answer
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - WiiFlow,