Hacking Wii U Hacking & Homebrew Discussion

nolimits59

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
701
Trophies
1
XP
2,064
Country
France
Then connect to wifi and change DNS settings in options. But with the internet these days they can probably figure that out then. You could set a static route in your router and give the WiiU a DHCP reservation on its MAC in the router, then just set the static route in your router to go to 1.1.1.1 or something bogus for the WiiU's reservation address. Just make sure the wifi password isn't the same as your router admin password. ;)

But will it let acces to the internet ? I mean for netflix or webnav for expemple, i would like something that block update servers but let others services running.
 

Maximilious

Whistles a familiar tune
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
2,571
Trophies
1
XP
1,855
Country
United States
But will it let acces to the internet ? I mean for netflix or webnav for expemple, i would like something that block update servers but let others services running.

Then just block the update servers like every other tutorial (and I might add the original post of this thread) mentions. Should be able to if your router is good enough. I was only giving you those suggestions thinking you already did that. If you can't block the URL's, then buy a new router if you want that functionality. Can't help you past that...
 

DarkKaine

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
372
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
1,276
Country
Netherlands
For people that have issues getting the exploit to load (like me and SonyUSA) here's a fix that worked for both of us:

1) Clear all settings in your browser.
2) Open 4 tabs, in each load a website. Play a video or something on YouTube.
3) Close the browser.
4) Open the browser back up again, it should have remembered the layout from the previous session.
5) In the 4th tab open the exploit URL (you can use a bookmark too).

You only need to do this once, and it should forever work. If you are one of those unlucky people that can't seem to run the webkit exploit no matter what, try these steps and see if it helps. It might need some messing around but it should work eventually.
 

BullyWiiPlaza

Nintendo Hacking <3
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2014
Messages
1,932
Trophies
0
XP
2,467
Country
Germany
Thinking I should also store it as an XML but that takes a bunch of work to do and I've never learned how to parse it properly. Should probably make it as simple as possible, using pyGecko's interface (EG write strings, write memory, read and store memory)
It shouldn't be too hard. Consider something like the following schema:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<codelists>
<!-- Mario Kart 8 US -->
<codelist id="000500001010EC00">
<code name="L33t Code" author="NWPlayer123">
<poke>40000000 1337337</poke>
<poke>13371337 13371337</poke>
<poke>[[34000004] + 4A] + 1C 00000539</poke>
</code>
</codelist>
</codelists>
I'm not that much into XML either but this should kind of fit the purpose. Go ahead and make it awesome :)
 
Last edited by BullyWiiPlaza,

pedro702

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2014
Messages
12,719
Trophies
2
Age
33
XP
8,693
Country
Portugal
Just wondering would with golden45 loadiine or whatever its called isntead of running a game run a VC title instead? and still be able to use caffine to replace files for VC injection?
 

Bimmel

~ Game Soundtrack Collector ~
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
2,302
Trophies
2
Age
43
XP
3,790
Country
Gambia, The
Sorry, I know this has been asked before multiple times:

How to get rid of an update on the console when it is not installed yet?
 

VinsCool

Persona Secretiva Felineus
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
14,600
Trophies
4
Location
Another World
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
25,207
Country
Canada
  • Like
Reactions: Bimmel

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,749
Trophies
4
Age
45
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,648
Country
France
Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<codelists>
<!-- Mario Kart 8 US -->
<codelist id="000500001010EC00">*snip*
</codelist>
</codelists>
I don't know if we can retrieve the game version along with the titleID from memory, it could be added to the cheat file too, to prevent listing incompatible cheats.
<codelist id="000500001010EC00" version="1.2">
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Hello. I purchased mario maker and it asks me to update. I'm on 5.3.2. What should I do? Wait or update? I want to enjoy future homebrew but also want to play this game.
 

VinsCool

Persona Secretiva Felineus
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
14,600
Trophies
4
Location
Another World
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
25,207
Country
Canada
Hello. I purchased mario maker and it asks me to update. I'm on 5.3.2. What should I do? Wait or update? I want to enjoy future homebrew but also want to play this game.
Wait. There is a firmware spoof method coming soon, and the game was confirmed to be working :)
 

Marionumber1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2010
Messages
1,234
Trophies
3
XP
4,045
Country
United States
SD card access is theoretically possible from everywhere through patching a kernel syscall that requests access from IOSU, but afaik nobody managed to successfully patch it yet. It's not at all impossible though, likely just a matter of time, if something else doesn't hinder progress.

I do have code to patch IPCKDriver_SubmitRequest(), which means I can fake my identity to IOSU, but that won't necessarily be enough. The IPC block contains RAMPID and title ID, and uses this to check your permissions, so presumably the check will only succeed if the title/PID you specify is running. Therefore, you could probably run an SD app in the background and another app in the foreground, or vice versa, but you likely can't just give it apps that aren't running. I have not tried this, but it would be logical.
 

BullyWiiPlaza

Nintendo Hacking <3
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2014
Messages
1,932
Trophies
0
XP
2,467
Country
Germany
I don't know if we can retrieve the game version along with the titleID from memory, it could be added to the cheat file too, to prevent listing incompatible cheats.
<codelist id="000500001010EC00" version="1.2">
I believe that it won't be possible, at least not universally. Games have their own way of tracking the versions. We could start collecting memory dumps of different versions on Mario Kart 8 and compare the beginning values to see if something is suspicious such as the title id which always is on address 100136D0. Then we can make the distinction but overall we should forget about this versioning crap. Once everyone has the firmware spoofer, things will only be made for the latest game update since everyone will be able to access it. This is the only decent way of handling this issue anyway.
 
Last edited by BullyWiiPlaza,

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Former Staff
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,153
Trophies
2
XP
12,247
I believe that it won't be possible, at least not universally. Games have their own way of tracking the versions. We could start collecting memory dumps of different versions on Mario Kart 8 and compare the beginning values to see if something is suspicious such as the title id which always is on address 100136D0. Then we can make the distinction but overall we should forget about this versioning crap. Once everyone has the firmware spoofer, things will only be made for the latest game update since everyone will be able to access it without problems.
well you could always just have a dropdown list for people to select their version and filter out the codes for the other versions.......but yeah once everyone can get their updates i guess it makes more sense to just focus on the latest version :P
 
  • Like
Reactions: BullyWiiPlaza

Korin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
127
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
235
Country
So I'm using CCProxy and blocking:
*.cdn.shop.wii.com;*.wup.shop.nintendo.net;*.c.shop.nintendowifi.net;*.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com;*.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com
For some reason I keep getting a window (I can close out of it) that says I need to update to go online, and to update through system settings. Is there any way to remove this annoying nag?
 

VinsCool

Persona Secretiva Felineus
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
14,600
Trophies
4
Location
Another World
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
25,207
Country
Canada
So I'm using CCProxy and blocking:
*.cdn.shop.wii.com;*.wup.shop.nintendo.net;*.c.shop.nintendowifi.net;*.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com;*.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com
For some reason I keep getting a window (I can close out of it) that says I need to update to go online, and to update through system settings. Is there any way to remove this annoying nag?
I don't know if it could be removed.

Since they bumped the minimal required version, I keep having this popup on all my games, and during WiiU menu booting :(

I also cannot play unupdated games (splatoon and smash, that hurts me a lot)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Reecey

Korin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
127
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
235
Country
I don't know if it could be removed.

Since they bumped the minimal required version, I keep having this popup on all my games, and during WiiU menu booting :(

I also cannot play unupdated games (splatoon and smash, that hurts me a lot)
Oh well :/

Do you mean that you can't even boot those games or that you wish you could go online? Because I just checked now and I can definitely still boot Splatoon offline
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    I can't believe you got me with that
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I haven't been gaming for such a long time. Been mostly busy with sleep, hardware tinkering and checking GBAtemp frequently.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Hope you've had a good morning.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    It's going alright thanks :) I know what you mean with gaming time. It's precious where I can get it these days.
    +1
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    I think that's why I focus on just enjoying single player experiences that aren't too competitive
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    How are you doing?
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    There's also this thing where I'm hyperfocused at night and cannot get to sleep.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, I'm doing alright, thanks.
    +1
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    That must be rough. Productive I'm sure but hard to balance with daily life
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, Indeed. I've been working on getting this Infecutus chip to work on my PS2. But after soldering, I realised that a plastic piece was missing from the power ribbon cable to the power and eject buttons.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Now I could go with soldering the contacts from the cable to the connector on the mobo, but doesn't sound like a good permanent solution.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Man, that's beyond my brain :rofl: I'm no good with hardware for now. I'd like to get into hardmods in future though
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, Maybe start practice soldering. Get a cheap-ass soldering iron and follow some good YouTube tutorials.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Least my experience has gotten better than over a decade ago. My iron would constantly bump into components and break them.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Sounds good. I actually did soldering but like 16 years ago for school so uuuuh probably rusty haha
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, Same here. I did soldering at school from a teacher who I honestly liked since he had plenty of good electronics experience.
    +1
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    I wish I could play chess well
    +1
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Useless but a true art
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, I had a friend who had a glass chess set for their birthday.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    It was like all clear and fancy. Tbf I'm not too experienced with chess, but would like to learn someday.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    That sounds really cool
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    I know the basics but no strategy at all :rofl:
    Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans: I know the basics but no strategy at all :rofl: