Hardware Wii power adapters

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
I have a PAL Wii and a JPN Wii. Can I use the power adapter from my PAL Wii on my JPN one?

Any info?

Thanks.
 

happydance

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
598
Trophies
0
XP
349
Country
as long that the output is 12volts 3.7A your all good.

i use the same power adapter on all of my wii's (US wii and japan wii)

i even used the 12volts of a PC ATX power supply to power my wii, when i blew the power adapter by accidentally plugging a 110v power supply to a 220v wall socket
 

akress

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
1
Trophies
0
XP
5
Country
United States
?? Why cant I get that to work?? ive been trying to get my wii to work off a extra pc power supply but it doesnt want to? just stays with a red light, and ive checked the voltage and its right on
 

Sicklyboy

#JOYCONBOYZFOREVER
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
6,272
Trophies
2
Location
[̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
XP
7,260
Country
United States
happydance said:
as long that the output is 12volts 3.7A your all good.

i use the same power adapter on all of my wii's (US wii and japan wii)

i even used the 12volts of a PC ATX power supply to power my wii, when i blew the power adapter by accidentally plugging a 110v power supply to a 220v wall socket

Thats... fucking ghetto and awesome
biggrin.gif


I set up a PSU to turn on when it is plugged in (ground the green cable with a black on the 20/24 pin connector) then used it to power a hard drive. Every hard drive I used that with burnt out after a while though...
 

Donkey Plonk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
421
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
happydance said:
as long that the output is 12volts 3.7A your all good.

i use the same power adapter on all of my wii's (US wii and japan wii)

i even used the 12volts of a PC ATX power supply to power my wii, when i blew the power adapter by accidentally plugging a 110v power supply to a 220v wall socket
Ummm, no you aren't. Even going by what you just said.
Fair play on the PC PSU game, thats cool, but as for using a JAP power lead on a PAL wii...
If you plug a 110v PSU into a 230v wall socket, its gonna go bang
 

PsyBlade

Snake Charmer
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
2,204
Trophies
0
Location
Sol III
XP
455
Country
Gambia, The
Donkey Plonk said:
happydance said:
as long that the output is 12volts 3.7A your all good.

i use the same power adapter on all of my wii's (US wii and japan wii)

i even used the 12volts of a PC ATX power supply to power my wii, when i blew the power adapter by accidentally plugging a 110v power supply to a 220v wall socket
Ummm, no you aren't. Even going by what you just said.
Fair play on the PC PSU game, thats cool, but as for using a JAP power lead on a PAL wii...
If you plug a 110v PSU into a 230v wall socket, its gonna go bang
it think he knew how to choose the right PSU to use with both wiis
using the other one with either wii would be bad so in fact using the same is the best option
but i'd rather use sneek anyway


btw for the PC PSU guy
check that you use a 12V line not a -12V line
they give MUCH less power
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    x65943 @ x65943: java is the only right option