Wii power adapters

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by G0dLiKe, Nov 26, 2009.

Nov 26, 2009

Wii power adapters by G0dLiKe at 10:01 PM (1,337 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. G0dLiKe
    OP

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    I have a PAL Wii and a JPN Wii. Can I use the power adapter from my PAL Wii on my JPN one?

    Any info?

    Thanks.
     
  2. happydance

    Member happydance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Country:
    Philippines
    as long that the output is 12volts 3.7A your all good.

    i use the same power adapter on all of my wii's (US wii and japan wii)

    i even used the 12volts of a PC ATX power supply to power my wii, when i blew the power adapter by accidentally plugging a 110v power supply to a 220v wall socket
     
  3. akress

    Newcomer akress Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    ?? Why cant I get that to work?? ive been trying to get my wii to work off a extra pc power supply but it doesnt want to? just stays with a red light, and ive checked the voltage and its right on
     
  4. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Thats... fucking ghetto and awesome [​IMG]

    I set up a PSU to turn on when it is plugged in (ground the green cable with a black on the 20/24 pin connector) then used it to power a hard drive. Every hard drive I used that with burnt out after a while though...
     
  5. Donkey Plonk

    Member Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ummm, no you aren't. Even going by what you just said.
    Fair play on the PC PSU game, thats cool, but as for using a JAP power lead on a PAL wii...
    If you plug a 110v PSU into a 230v wall socket, its gonna go bang
     
  6. Spongeroberto

    Member Spongeroberto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    Bhutan
    All the Wiis work with the same power inside, so you can use any Wii as long as the adapter you use is right for your country.
     
  7. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    it think he knew how to choose the right PSU to use with both wiis
    using the other one with either wii would be bad so in fact using the same is the best option
    but i'd rather use sneek anyway


    btw for the PC PSU guy
    check that you use a 12V line not a -12V line
    they give MUCH less power
     

Share This Page