Wii doesnt reconize my HD anymore

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by damingraham, Nov 26, 2009.

Nov 26, 2009
  1. damingraham
    OP

    Member damingraham GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    k now i had some issues trying to install a preloader to get the wii to auto boot to the gx usb loader but i think thats all fixed now but in the mix of all of that i did something where the wii no longer finds the connected hd. *yes its connected to the correct port and lights on on the hd and the hd is still ok when i plug it up to the pc).
    so i think some cios or ios or w/e got changed to one that wont let it find the hd.
    the hd i have is on the ok list and i have used it before its a Western Digital My Passport 500 GB on a ntsc 4.1 wii. not sure what ios n stuff is installed.

    i looked for a few hours today and didnt find much on errors with hd other than (its broken or isnt supported lol)

    but as i know it isnt and it is there seems to be a small quick thing im missing here.


    any ideas?
     
  2. madcapslaugh

    Newcomer madcapslaugh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Country:
    Israel
    see if neogamma recognizes it, also try installing cIOS38 rev 14
     
  3. ballboff

    Newcomer ballboff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What file system is the drive formatted as? Is it FAT32, NTFS or WBFS?
     
  4. damingraham
    OP

    Member damingraham GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    im sure WBFS since i didnt format with the wii i used WBFS Manager 3.0 i think

    neogamma ? i thought that was just like a disc loader didnt know it worked with any hds. but ill install that rev 14 asap thanks
    what about cIOS38 rev15 though?
     
  5. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. madeirabhoy

    Member madeirabhoy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    does your pc recognise it using a wbfs manager?
     
  7. ballboff

    Newcomer ballboff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Neogamma also has usb support now, you get benefits from using usb loader gx or configurable usb loader though. I prefer wiiflow, but any of the usb loaders would do, as you can set individual settings for each game if you don't want to load the defaults. It's useful for some of those hard to load games.
     
  8. damingraham
    OP

    Member damingraham GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    yea it still does

    *edit. good some progress now. installed the rev 14 then installed the neo channel and rebooted wii. neo loads up and played a game. the gx usb loader almost loaded up . it got to the main screen with the games but didnt list any games cause it dumped on me the second the menu popped up
     
  9. damingraham
    OP

    Member damingraham GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
  10. damingraham
    OP

    Member damingraham GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    no more insight? which ios , cios or w/e to use for gxloader to work
     
  11. damingraham
    OP

    Member damingraham GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    k i think gx usb loader is the issue. it gave me a dump on its channel and via hbc but neo gamma and another usb loader loaded fine
    i just perfer gx cause of its easy gui for the wife and kids
     

Share This Page