wii cannot read disk

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by samsamim, Dec 3, 2007.

Dec 3, 2007

wii cannot read disk by samsamim at 3:27 AM (4,025 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. samsamim
    OP

    Newcomer samsamim Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    WHAT?HAPPENED!!! [​IMG]
    my wii was ok yesterday and now when i tried 2 play it the disk cant be read
    it is a jap wii 3.1j update.... all of the disks cannot be read, and was working perfectly yesterday
    when i insert the disk, it run for like 10 sec, and then some white word appears said something like --press restart and then take out the disk then close the power and read manual--

    any1 hav problem like this?????? [​IMG]

    btw...any1 fail 2 take apart wii ? want 2 see if any lines' broken but afraid 2 do it
     
  2. Kyokokoko

    Newcomer Kyokokoko Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Italy
    Your post is not very easy to understand. Is this your problem?
     
  3. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Check your cables maybe one got loose.
     
  4. samsamim
    OP

    Newcomer samsamim Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    ok....basically my wii can play all the games yesterday,
    but today when i want to play it, it doesnt work

    messages showed up, it says to take out disk and close the power then read the manual

    message have a black background and white words

    my wii is japanese

    it is updated to 3.1j

    sry its unclear...i was in a hurry and i type it in the short way (2=to,too 2morrow=tomorrow)

    and im afraid of taking my wii apart to check if cable fall off... can you show me a video ? and are the chances i'll mess up my wii?

    and no, i used the orginal disk (copy) not backup
     
  5. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    You don't specifically say you have a modchip, but I assume you do since you're posting this here.

    Sounds like a loose connection with your modchip. If originals don't play, that's usually the cause (if the right connection is broken that can happen).

    Where and how was your Wii modded? What kind of modchip?
     
  6. samsamim
    OP

    Newcomer samsamim Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    will... i dont really kno what mod chip it is, since its a gift to me
    is there any way to know what mod chip it is without taking wii apart?

    wii modded in taiwan...that's all i know

    and if it is broken mod chip connection, how can i fix it myself???

    i heard rumors that wii will lock itself if u try to take it apart...is it true?

    (struggling wheather to take wii apart...)

    once again... jap wii and 3.1j update...
     
  7. Dylaan

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Well it'll certainly lock itself if you break something, but I opened mine myself and put back together just to see if I could. (Before WiiKey arrived). You do need a Triwing Screwdriver though...
     
  8. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    You need a triwing screwdriver, a solder, solderiron (If not enogh solderiron on the solderpat), a steady hand, a brain.

    But thats only IF it is gotten loose.
     
  9. samsamim
    OP

    Newcomer samsamim Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    well... 2 day i take my wii apart, and found no caple loose, nothing wrong..
    only thing that look like a problem is that there's a burn mark on the IC (connected 2 the mod chip)
    so i suspect it might come when some1 is modding my wii, the hot rod that puts them together

    i still dont know what my mod chip is...but it looks blue from the back.... anyone know what the mod chip is?
     
  10. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    take a picture of it and put it up
     
  11. Rammoth

    Member Rammoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United States
    Your laser could also be busted.

    This happens when you use bad quality media to burn your dvd's on. There are some places where you can replace the laser..
     
  12. samsamim
    OP

    Newcomer samsamim Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States

    yep busted...
     

Share This Page