Why no Dark Dawn piracy patch?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by NJim, Dec 9, 2010.

Dec 9, 2010

Why no Dark Dawn piracy patch? by NJim at 4:42 AM (4,575 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. NJim
    OP

    Newcomer NJim Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there a reason nobody is working on one?
    People instantly jump on fixing the antipiracy for like every game ever, but then this one comes out and nobody bothers.
     


  2. Kikaru

    Newcomer Kikaru Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Acekards?
    Retro's fix? Works on my TTDS perfectly fine.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Patches stopped before this game, they haven't been coming out for weeks.

    Any cart that's not a total piece of shit can play the game. Even stuff with no official firmware updates that can run YSMenu/TT crap can do it because even it's got the game patched.

    If your cart can't even run YSMenu and has no official support, drop it and get a real cart. Even the original R4 has better support nowadays.
     
  4. 727

    Member 727 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    i still have my original r4 and thats all ive needed because it can play 99% of everything but it doesnt work for this game. it would be nice if there was an official ap patch but golden sun isnt as popular as pokemanz.
     
  5. chrisruls00

    Newcomer chrisruls00 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    Also, if you are trying to use YSmenu and this game still doesn't work, try formatting your card. That's what I had to do to play it on my M3 Real. Just make sure to backup data before formatting it.
     
  6. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,574
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    Get Wood R4 and never worry about game compatibility ever again.
     
  7. mrgone

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    also: don't trim the rom
     
  8. The Composer

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    I agree with that. But at the same time, its BS.

    Why? Because when there was no Wood, and when EZ Flash and other old cards ruled, R4 sucked.
    I bet that when asked back there, you would have given the same answer.

    Drop R4 and get a real cart.


    So basically, that's not a good answer. Note that he didnt ask about carts.
     
  9. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    Everybody has at least one card now that can play the game. So there's no real need for a patch.
     
  10. NJim
    OP

    Newcomer NJim Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Australia
    Well, I have a CycloDS and there havn't been any firmware updates for ages.. Is it worth sticking with it or should I just buy a new one?
     
  11. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    Wood firmware killed the thirst for patches
     
  12. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there was a loader update for the cyclods on the 25.11.2010 i would hardly call that ages ago
     
  13. SirCB85

    Member SirCB85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Germany
    You should consider that if a game you want to play has AP fpr many people here it seems like a single day without a patch or fwupdate is an eternity ;-)
     
  14. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    I would stick with the CycloDS, but maybe get an R4 or DSTT to work while CycloDS is waiting for a firmware update. That is what I do. Still love the CycloDS GUI better than any. I also have a DSTWO.
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I would have given the same answer because it would have been a correct answer at the time.

    Or are you suggesting I can predict the future? [​IMG]
     
  16. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    If they really aren't prepared to wait at all, they really should just buy the game. I'm not sure why everyone forgets that's an option.
     
  17. Spenstar

    Member Spenstar "Leave it to me"

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,053
    Location:
    Why would you like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think pirates even know what the word "buy" is anymore. [​IMG]
     
  18. Necron

    Member Necron Lurking~

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    861
    Location:
    Mi casa
    Country:
    Chile
    So they probably got their cards by gift
    I just buy a game when it deserves it (and it needs to be good, not something I liked for a month)
     
  19. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    So, I'm assuming you buy all your games, right? 'Cause it sure sounds like you're excluding yourself from the "pirates" mentioned in your reply.
     
  20. Spenstar

    Member Spenstar "Leave it to me"

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,053
    Location:
    Why would you like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    I was joking when I said that, haha.
     

Share This Page