Homebrew Why does no homebrew run on FWV <4?

Kows

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I would've thought the lower the firmware, the more exploitable it is. Apparently not, does anyone know the reason for this? Is it because the 3ds did not need to use the items to perform homebrew, therefore there was no access to them? Sorry, I am new to the 3ds hacking community.

dpad_5678

Ape weak on own. Ape strong in unity.
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Firmwares 3.x and below are just so out of date they didn't bother making HBL payloads for them. They only did for 4.x since the MSET (DS Profile Exploit) was widely used then.

daxtsu

Trophies
XP
Country
Antarctica
The question is broad, so I'll try answering it from a few different angles:

1. Why does no homebrew (let's assume the Homebrew Launcher here) run on firmwares like 4.0?

The answer to this one is simple: the *hax payloads (which the Homebrew Launcher runs on top of) require things from newer firmwares to run, in order to provide more and better features, sort of like how commercial games (Zelda, Fire Emblem, etc.) typically require newer firmwares in order to use new features as time goes on.

2. I would've thought the lower the firmware, the more exploitable it is. Apparently not, does anyone know the reason for this?

It's true, but there's no reason to stay on firmwares that low (or below 4.x) anymore, since Nintendo added critical things, like the 6.x save key encyption change (https://www.3dbrew.org/wiki/Savegames#6.0.0-11_Savegame_keyY) as well as home menu themes in 9.0 (https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Nintendo...HOME-Menu-Themes/HOME-Menu-Themes-923157.html , this is listed as critical, because they ended up being a homebrew entrypoint!). That 6.x save key presented a lot of problems for people until 9.2 became the "golden" firmware to be on.