why did my ip get banned

aenoch

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
748
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Ludington, Michigan
XP
300
Country
United States
Just tryied. Accessing gbatemp. On 4g (boostmobile\sprint) got a ip is blocked error and clicked the link. Searched my ip and it said. January 15th. Username Tiamara. This is all from the stop spam website. Im able to most this because im on wifi. I mostly use gbatemp on 4g so this is a problem for me
 

aenoch

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
748
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Ludington, Michigan
XP
300
Country
United States
Well i cant most the time i check. Temp. On work breaks or when im out. Im almost never home. And when theres ether a oroblem with my wifi or i didnt pay it i tether my phone
 

TeamScriptKiddies

Licensed Nintendo (indie) Game Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Planet Earth :P
XP
1,703
Country
United States
Well i cant most the time i check. Temp. On work breaks or when im out. Im almost never home. And when theres ether a oroblem with my wifi or i didnt pay it i tether my phone

I find if I try to access gbatemp through my VPN or tor I get blocked for the same reason (on my pc). Never had an issue on my phone though (don't ever use a vpn or tor on my phone though, that's what public wifi is for ;))

A lot of forum spam comes from tor nodes and VPN's hence why they block known IP's of both by default. I can't say why you're phone's IP is being blocked by default thought, that's just strange. Have you run a virus scan on your phone as of recently? Perhaps you have a botnet that's lurking in there, that's been spamming other forums from that IP that use the same blacklist without your knowledge, so your phone's been blacklisted.....
 

aenoch

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
748
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Ludington, Michigan
XP
300
Country
United States
not sure ive never done a virus scan on my phone. it got banned some where between 9am and when i posted this its now 335 pm i checked the site when i woke up sprint towers must have people using same ips or something inless that dumb spam site ive never even seen before banned a range of ips nd mine just happened to be in that range. i know i havent personaly spammed anything. the gbatemp error page i got said not to contact them because they cant unban it but it also said that if somehow it gets unbanned to wait a few hours before trying to get back in. so ill try and contact the stop spam site and report back what happens later
 

migles

All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
8,034
Trophies
0
Location
Earth-chan
XP
5,234
Country
China
When you use 4G lots of people share the same IPs. Maybe someone else came on here spamming and the entire IP range was banned.

this, also, dynamic ip, when you connected you could got a previously banned ip, just restart the internet and you should get another one

explanation:
not sure how it works on mobiles, but usually on adsl ISP provides you dynamic ip, instead giving a dedicate ip to each client, they cicle it (user with ip ending at 33 disconnects and its available to another user) this way they save on the limited ips
 
  • Like
Reactions: TeamScriptKiddies

aenoch

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Messages
748
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Ludington, Michigan
XP
300
Country
United States
Thanks. I feel dumb not trying that in the first place. I have experience with ips and such on home internets etc and i know how to reset ips. Im currently posting this on 4g. This is what i did. For thoes of you that get this problem on your phones. First i tryied what was sugested. Turning data on and off etc but the ip was still blocked. I knew that going into airplane mode completly resets all signals. (I do this when my phones internet is slow or not working) so i went into airplane mode. Let it sit for about a minute. Then turned airplane off. I checked fire fox. And i was able to get on the site. Checked dolphin but. It was still blocked. I checked dolphin again about half hour later. And all is good thanks for the help
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol 48