Which chip is better to have when modding a wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cihccihtog, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. cihccihtog
    OP

    Newcomer cihccihtog Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    So I've been reading my butt off the past couple days about modding and trying to decided whether I wanted to attempt to mod my wii myself. From what I've gathered from www.wiidrives.com my new wii has the D3-2 chip which if I understand correctly you cannot play dvd's on. Which probably isn't a big deal to most but since my husband blew up the PS3 that was our only method of watching dvd's.

    So I have my new wii that says it has a GC2-D3-2 (v2) chip or I just found a used wii for sale with a GC2-D2B chip. Which would be better to have for soft modding?

    Thanks!
     
  2. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    personally I would recommend no chips nowadays... just softmodding especially with your wii.
    My favorite modchip still would be the wiiwasp.

    anyway it's up to you [​IMG]
     
  3. cihccihtog
    OP

    Newcomer cihccihtog Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I guess I should rephrase what I wrote which orginal chip would be better to have when soft modding a wii. Thanks!
     
  4. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    oh... maybe i got you wrong... my english is terrible... sry...

    easy said, as older drivechip as better.... properly... [​IMG]
    as far as i know softmodding works with all drivechips, but i'm not sure if anything is different then the DVD-R thing with the newer wiis.
     
  5. joe_blow

    Newcomer joe_blow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    The older the better, preferably one that can load bootmii as boot2. That way if things go wrong you can restore your Wii from a backup.
     
  6. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Your post doesnt make sense. They are talking about a D3-2 drive set. Means about the MotherBoard OF THE DVD-ROM DRIVE. NOT the motherboard of the WII. Yeah. you can just switch drives to be able to read backups with dvd, BUT about bootmii as boot 2, it will NOT CHANGE because the only thing you do is switching dvd drives.
    Example,
    I have a computer with xp, if i change my dvd-rom cuz its old, will it change my computer to vista? NO, cuz you are only changing the dvd and not changing between vista and xp.
     
  7. vegemikee

    Member vegemikee GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Country:
    Australia
    go with the WODE, as it supports wbfs loading, etc etc.
     
  8. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    but you also have a bulky kind of thing on the bottom of your wii, and a cable coming out of the case [​IMG]
     

Share This Page