1. Tir

    OP Tir GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    With my J Kingston 2GB? My M3 Lite seems to have crapped itself and I was looking at replacement options, my heart was set on splurging for a CycloDS but seems that will still have problems with my Micro SD. And seems the Acekard 2 is even worse. Do any exist that got around this problem?

    I know it's not such a major issue, but who knows if the new Castlevania (can't wait) will have this problem even worse.
     
  2. wilddenim

    wilddenim Candy!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Country:
    I've got CycloDS with 8GB SanDisk Class 4 MicroSDHC - no problems.
     
  3. Swip

    Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    With a Jap kingston in the cyclo you shouldn't have any problems with castlevania intros'. But with the AK2
    the game will play fine but the intro will be jerky.
     
  4. Tir

    OP Tir GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Not really the intro I'm worried about, just freezing in gameplay. And from reading around a bit it looks like the M3 Real has the least issues with Micro SD compatibility/freezing? Don't really want to buy another M3 product though...

    Guess I should ask about the freezes with The World Ends With You as well, anyone tried a 2GB Kingston + CycloDS with that?
     
  5. knightguy363

    knightguy363 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    where do you look at the class of the sd card?
     
  6. Toni Plutonij

    Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,152
    Country:
    Croatia
    There is a patch that removes some sounds from game, and lowers a possibility to freeze, but aside that, I've managed to play the game on M3 Simply SanDisk 1 GB for 5 hours until it started to freeze very often..
    I've managed to end the game with my M3 Real, and now CycloDS Evo, using SanDisk 4 GB SDHC Class 2..
     
  7. Zankurou

    Zankurou GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United States
    Acekard 2.
     
  8. abaddon41_80

    abaddon41_80 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    United States
    It has never skipped for me with an AK2, EDGE, DSTT, or EZFlash V w/ Sandisk 2GB
     
  9. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,483
    Country:
    United States
    works fine for me
     
  10. iwakura

    iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Country:
    United States
    if there is built in memory into the card, then it should run at optimal speeds, and there shouldn't be any freezing. however, if you're using a card that has external memory, you need a fast operating microSD. the japanese 1GBs are tested to be pretty fast - they are reported not to have any problems with castlevania, and I personally didn't have any problems with it either
     
  11. superrab

    superrab Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Works perfectly on the Acekard RPG NAND memory.
     
  12. Xann

    Xann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Just finished the game last night. I turned off the music completely and play the soundtracks on my computer while playing the game. Although it freezes occasionally, but still acceptable for me at least.
     
  13. DeMoN

    DeMoN GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,662
    Country:
    United States
    My CycloDS with a 2GB Kingston Taiwan doesn't lag PoR's intro nor in game.
     
  14. MrBubbles

    MrBubbles GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United States
    Portrait of Ruin cannot run perfectly on any card. The problem is with the game itself. I own PoR and it has crashed randomly. It's a known glitch with the game and no one seems to know why it randomly crashes.

    Be it on the real card or microSD, it'll crash.

    Some are less likely than others, but theres no 'perfect' fail-safe.
     
  15. Kaos

    Kaos Good show!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    The CycloDS runs The World Ends With You perfectly with ANY MicroSD card.
     
  16. claudekennilol

    claudekennilol GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    United States
    I've played the actual game from its card for tens of tens of hours and I've never had that happen, where did you hear this? The only people I've heard complain about this are those using flash carts.
     
  17. Joe88

    Joe88 [λ]
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    12,483
    Country:
    United States
    I find it to be people using certain microsd cards
    such as the kingstons from taiwan and sometimes sandisks, some of the other off memory brand cards that perform really bad in speed read and write tests as well
     
  18. Densetsu

    Densetsu Pubic Ninja
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Country:
    United States
    Class 4 logo

    Class 6 logo

    Though the class logo won't necessarily appear on all SDHC cards. If you buy at a store, it's usually printed somewhere on the package. If you order online, it's usually stated somewhere in the product description.
     
  19. Heran Bago

    Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,088
    Country:
    United States
    The official PoR game cart.

    It's a good game.

    Bull. The real cart works just fine. Maybe it's a physical problem for you as a couple of my DS games crash at the slightest touch... or randomly. Could be a cart-specific problem.
     
  20. Cermage

    Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    look for a class 6 card. i have one myself and its running fine with my ak2.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Castlevania, problems, freezing