Which cards DON'T have freezing problems with Castlevania: PoR?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Tir, May 9, 2008.

  1. Tir
    OP

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    With my J Kingston 2GB? My M3 Lite seems to have crapped itself and I was looking at replacement options, my heart was set on splurging for a CycloDS but seems that will still have problems with my Micro SD. And seems the Acekard 2 is even worse. Do any exist that got around this problem?

    I know it's not such a major issue, but who knows if the new Castlevania (can't wait) will have this problem even worse.
     


  2. wilddenim

    Member wilddenim Candy!

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got CycloDS with 8GB SanDisk Class 4 MicroSDHC - no problems.
     
  3. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    With a Jap kingston in the cyclo you shouldn't have any problems with castlevania intros'. But with the AK2
    the game will play fine but the intro will be jerky.
     
  4. Tir
    OP

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    Not really the intro I'm worried about, just freezing in gameplay. And from reading around a bit it looks like the M3 Real has the least issues with Micro SD compatibility/freezing? Don't really want to buy another M3 product though...

    Guess I should ask about the freezes with The World Ends With You as well, anyone tried a 2GB Kingston + CycloDS with that?
     
  5. knightguy363

    Member knightguy363 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Australia
    where do you look at the class of the sd card?
     
  6. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    There is a patch that removes some sounds from game, and lowers a possibility to freeze, but aside that, I've managed to play the game on M3 Simply SanDisk 1 GB for 5 hours until it started to freeze very often..
    I've managed to end the game with my M3 Real, and now CycloDS Evo, using SanDisk 4 GB SDHC Class 2..
     
  7. Zankurou

    Member Zankurou GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Acekard 2.
     
  8. abaddon41_80

    Member abaddon41_80 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Country:
    United States
    It has never skipped for me with an AK2, EDGE, DSTT, or EZFlash V w/ Sandisk 2GB
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    works fine for me
     
  10. iwakura

    Member iwakura HHNNNNNNGGGG

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    if there is built in memory into the card, then it should run at optimal speeds, and there shouldn't be any freezing. however, if you're using a card that has external memory, you need a fast operating microSD. the japanese 1GBs are tested to be pretty fast - they are reported not to have any problems with castlevania, and I personally didn't have any problems with it either
     
  11. superrab

    Newcomer superrab Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Works perfectly on the Acekard RPG NAND memory.
     
  12. Xann

    Newcomer Xann Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Just finished the game last night. I turned off the music completely and play the soundtracks on my computer while playing the game. Although it freezes occasionally, but still acceptable for me at least.
     
  13. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    My CycloDS with a 2GB Kingston Taiwan doesn't lag PoR's intro nor in game.
     
  14. MrBubbles

    Member MrBubbles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Portrait of Ruin cannot run perfectly on any card. The problem is with the game itself. I own PoR and it has crashed randomly. It's a known glitch with the game and no one seems to know why it randomly crashes.

    Be it on the real card or microSD, it'll crash.

    Some are less likely than others, but theres no 'perfect' fail-safe.
     
  15. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    The CycloDS runs The World Ends With You perfectly with ANY MicroSD card.
     
  16. claudekennilol

    Member claudekennilol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    United States
    I've played the actual game from its card for tens of tens of hours and I've never had that happen, where did you hear this? The only people I've heard complain about this are those using flash carts.
     
  17. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I find it to be people using certain microsd cards
    such as the kingstons from taiwan and sometimes sandisks, some of the other off memory brand cards that perform really bad in speed read and write tests as well
     
  18. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    Class 4 logo

    Class 6 logo

    Though the class logo won't necessarily appear on all SDHC cards. If you buy at a store, it's usually printed somewhere on the package. If you order online, it's usually stated somewhere in the product description.
     
  19. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,854
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    The official PoR game cart.

    It's a good game.

    Bull. The real cart works just fine. Maybe it's a physical problem for you as a couple of my DS games crash at the slightest touch... or randomly. Could be a cart-specific problem.
     
  20. Cermage

    Member Cermage GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,702
    Country:
    Australia
    look for a class 6 card. i have one myself and its running fine with my ak2.
     

Share This Page