When starting the Cyclo for the first time.....

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by caffolote, Aug 29, 2008.

Aug 29, 2008
  1. caffolote
    OP

    Member caffolote GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Country:
    United States
    What files do you put for the microSD?

    First, you have to put the update file in the root. Once it updated, it will make a CycloDS folder by itself, right? On the root, I create a Games and a Homebrew folder. The Moonshell app goes into the CycloDS folder. Is that all there is to it?
     


  2. Tragoedia181

    Banned Tragoedia181 B*tch I Look Like Goku!!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    Country:
    United States
    yep that it you should also make a folder for video and Skins
     
  3. caffolote
    OP

    Member caffolote GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Country:
    United States
    Alright thanks.
     
  4. LuOmeoga

    Member LuOmeoga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    Actually what the Cyclo does is all you have to do is load the new firmware one time and it will update it on the card itself and delete the folder you had with the updated firmware on your MicroSD
     
  5. caffolote
    OP

    Member caffolote GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Country:
    United States
    Where do you put the music and videos? Does it go somewhere in the moonshell folder?
     
  6. Tragoedia181

    Banned Tragoedia181 B*tch I Look Like Goku!!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    Country:
    United States
    the video must be in .dpg format and put the Video Folder on the root my your micro sd card
     
  7. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    No, nothing goes in the moonshell folder except moonshell skins. Music and videos go in the root, just like your ROMs. If you like to be organized then you can create a folder to put them in.
     
  8. MaNsiu58

    Newcomer MaNsiu58 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Singapore
    I bot a new sd card. Do I just copy everything from my current sd to the next one? or must I do the update again?
     
  9. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    No you don't need to update again, the update is stored in the Cyclo's on-board memory. [​IMG]
     
  10. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Actually, when you get the CycloDS you don't have to do anything special with the MicroSD at all, although it's advised you update to the latest firmware.
     
  11. ShiningSaber

    Member ShiningSaber Tiger

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Clemson, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't matter what folders the videos are in, since Moonshell can browse your microsd.
     
  12. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Also while we're on topic, can anyone tell me where skins go?
     
  13. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In skin, in the cyclods folder.
     
  14. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    It can't browse its own folder (the moonshl) folder. So don't put music or videos in there.
     
  15. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Also have you ever tried holding SELECT when booting up a game but couldn't get RTS to initialize? It happens to me a lot before.
     
  16. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    1. Make sure RTS is enabled in the settings menu
    2. Make sure you have enough space on your MicroSD.
    3. Make sure you start holding select before pressing A when loading up a game.
     
  17. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    For some reason Moonshell wont play my music files. They always freeze. Do they need to be at a specific format? My files are in .m4a format.
     
  18. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Don't think that's supported. I just use .mp3 and they all play fine.

    Yeah, Moonshell can't play .m4a music files. DSOrganize can play some though, but the quality might not be the best. I suggest converting to .mp3
    (who the fuck uses .m4a anyways? I've never even heard of it)
     
  19. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah they were like that when I got them from some site. I'll try converting them.

    Also, how come in some games my save doesn't work when I set it to Normal, but it does work when I set it to Alternative? Do you need to set it to Alternative to use RTS?
     
  20. ShiningSaber

    Member ShiningSaber Tiger

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Clemson, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    It's one of the unprotected formats that itunes uses.
     

Share This Page