Whats the best RAM PAK device?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by epicelite, May 29, 2008.

May 29, 2008
  1. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    EZ Flash 3 in 1 looks pretty nice, but before I go spending money on it what all is there, or would it be be better to just go down to a game store and get the DS browser and use that RAM pak?
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The official browser RAM pak is probably the worst choice for a RAM expansion simply because it only has 8MB of RAM, and it doesn't do anything other than act as a RAM cart.

    The 3-in-1 has 16MB of RAM, and it can also run GBA games and act as a (crappy) rumble pack. The eWin Expansion Pack and the M3 Real GBA expansion both have 32MB of RAM (and of course they can run GBA games as well).
     
  3. lewjay

    Member lewjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Ewin 2in1 w/ Acekard 2 bliss loader works great. No need to patch anything, just plug it in and it works.
     
  4. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    lewjay, does Bliss also work with the browser without patching, or just GBA games?

    -Bri
     
  5. go185

    Member go185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    No browser patch needed
     
  6. lewjay

    Member lewjay GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Yep, it was truly a transparent operation. I just dropped in a clean rom of the ds browser and it worked. [​IMG]
     
  7. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know which ram expansion packs are best for overclocking? The one I bought doesn't seem to overclock at all.
     
  8. Rice923

    Member Rice923 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    What is the upside of having more MB's of RAM? Is it faster, clearer browsing, etc?
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    None, if you only use the official browser. It's only designed to use 8MB, so that's all it uses, regardless of how much is available. Homebrew on the other hand can use the RAM for any purpose, and more is always better when it comes to memory.
     
  10. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    So where can I get one of these 32MB of RAM carts for DS lite cheap?
     
  11. Rice923

    Member Rice923 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    You can order one of those M3 Real Ram cartridges from realhotstuff.com. I think it's around $20 if I remember correctly.

    edit: nvm it's only $7 but it doesn't come with gba support. It's the gba expansion cartridge thats $22.
     
  12. Foxle

    Member Foxle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    United States
  13. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    The eWin 2in1 is available at psxboy.com for around $14 shipped.

    -Bri
     
  14. epicelite
    OP

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I was looking at that but deal extreme makes me sign for packages over 15.00 and I have no way to get to the post office when I am not there to sign, and I never am.
     
  15. Rice923

    Member Rice923 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    Why do you need to sign? I didn't sign to receive my AK2 (came today).
     
  16. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    It shoould not make you sign, even if you use USPS.

    The only time it does that is if you choose a specific USPS type in which you have to sign for (In order to stop theft)
     

Share This Page