OP
Chief Editor
Trophies
Website
opencritic.com
XP
Country
United States
There's a plethora of different ways to play older games not on their original hardware. Ranging from a powerhouse PC, to a Wii U, to smaller little things like the Pi and such. Which one is the best in terms of portability (not meaning handheld--I'm talking about things you can plug into your TV) in being able to take it with you easily, AND having the most coverage of systems playable?

I thought about it for a bit. The first thing that came to mind is the Wii U--it has nearly every possible Nintendo game worth playing on it. GameCube, Wii, virtual console, Wii U, it's a monster of a system. But at the same time, it's a tad bit heavier than the Wii, and it also requires to potentially have the Tablet, and a swath of different controllers. Plus, it's power brick is a little beefy.

Then you have the little portable mini computer things, like the Pi. I have little to no knowledge on these, or how easy they are to set up, other than that they're small. As far as I'm aware, they also only emulate very retro systems, maybe up to the N64/PS1 max, if even possible?

Then, there's the PlayStation TV. It has retro consoles up to around the SNES/Genesis era, GBA, PSP-Vita, and PS1. Not bad. It's also incredibly tiny, has a very small power cord, making it very easy to carry around.

What's the best option for having a little emulation powerhouse that you can easily take with you to a friend's house, plug into a TV, and enjoy the most amount of games from?

x65943

i can be your sega dreamcast or sega nightmarecast
Supervisor
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
XP
Country
United States

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Trophies
XP
Country
United States