What to do NOW so if Wii bricks, we're ok

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by steam, Dec 1, 2009.

Dec 1, 2009
  1. steam
    OP

    Newcomer steam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    Can we a "Do these as Brick insurance" info?

    There are some very knowledgeable people on here so i was wondering can you guys pls give us n00bs a clear, easy way to "brick insure" our wii? So that, if ever our wii bricks, we can come back from it?

    For example, my wii is 3.4u, hbc, ios14, neogamma. What do i install NOW, so that i can help come back from a brick.

    Thanks!
     
  2. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
  3. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    IOS14??? You mean cIOS38 rev14?

    Bootmii as boot2 is best. Sad thing is that new wiis can't use it. The Bootmii IOS is useless as brick protection. Bootmii/boot2 makes the wii brick-proof, even from uninstalled system menus and menu IOSes. Only thing that could brick a bootmii/boot2 wii is a boot2 update failure during an official 4.2 update.

    Next best is preloader. If you can't use bootmii as boot2, you should have this. Protects against all bricks (banner, theme brick, etc.). Basically everything EXCEPT uninstalled system menu/menu IOS.
    A newer preloader, Priiloader, spelled with an ii, is similar to the original preloader, but made by a different person.

    Finally, consider keeping the Indiana Pwns save installed (even if you don't have the game!). That way, even if preloader fails, a chip can be used to autoboot Indiana Jones and hopefully unbrick the thing. This is especially important on Korean Wiis, where region changing can brick them with Error #003.
     
  4. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    just look at the link that jaz has adviced to you. it has everything you need.
     
  5. steam
    OP

    Newcomer steam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    thank you all...will look into it

    ..so i guess since i have 3.4u, mine is one of the older wii's?...and so i should do a bootmii/boot2
     
  6. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    definitely.
     
  7. DKAngel

    Member DKAngel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    659
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    you will find you probibly cant seems to be wii's with 3.2 and lower that had the vulnerability
     

Share This Page