What is Cloudflare and how can I speed it up?

Nikokaro

the most valuable game... is that of our life
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
1,791
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
4,835
Country
Italy
Would anyone be able to tell me what Cloudflare (DdoS protection) is and how it works precisely? I understand that it checks my browser, but what specifically? The history, cache, stored data? But above all: why in my case the control lasts more or less ten minutes, while for others a few seconds? And still this morning I couldn't access here in any way. In my case, I use Android Chrome on Smartphone or Tablet,
if you need to know.
Thanks.
 

Nikokaro

the most valuable game... is that of our life
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
1,791
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
4,835
Country
Italy
Thanks @linuxares. Unfortunately, in the cache I have important data like passwords for this and other more important sites that (stupidly) I didn't note down, and don't remember anymore. Can you, or anyone else, tell me what part I can delete of the cached data without being logged out of the various sites where I'm registered?
 

RocaBOT

Yo best puppy (but automated 🙃)
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
157
Trophies
0
XP
842
Country
United Kingdom
Application cache on android is a finicky thing. Look at the options inside your app (and not the ones in the Android settings) to see if you can delete browsing cache alone (instead of the whole "app cache" like in the Android settings), since that would be the same as content cache on desktop browsers (hence not containing passwords).
On an other note, there may even be a page in the options of your browser to see the stored passwords, so you can save them somewhere more secure, maybe check it out just in case that exists (as it does on desktop browsers) ;)
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,723
Trophies
4
Age
44
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,466
Country
France
I'll rant here too!

I had issues loading gbatemp yesterday from my phone. It checked, and checked, and checked loop for 10 minutes.
It worked when using wifi, but didn't when using Phone Data connection. it eventually let me see it after 10 minutes, but if I'm not home I don't have wifi available.

Plus, on computer since gbatemp uses cloudflare, I often get page loaded twiced when I click on a link, so I have to "go back twice" to return to previous page :/
 

Nikokaro

the most valuable game... is that of our life
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
1,791
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
4,835
Country
Italy
Thank you both. @Cyan, as you can see, the exact same thing happened to me, yesterday I couldn't get into the site until late in the evening, and after 12 minutes of Cloudflare checking my browser. This morning the same thing. I take comfort that I'm not the only one.
 

Nikokaro

the most valuable game... is that of our life
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
1,791
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
4,835
Country
Italy
@RocaBOT, you were right! There is a page in Chrome that stores passwords, username and linked site. I copied all of them down. Now I might as well delete the browser cache, which is what's causing the problems. All these informations was helpful, but I think I'll give the points to you in the end. For now, I'll wait.
 

RocaBOT

Yo best puppy (but automated 🙃)
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2020
Messages
157
Trophies
0
XP
842
Country
United Kingdom
Very glad to hear your browser was advanced enough to have that separate page to retrieve your stored information, it should be a norm but definitely is missing in some cases. I hope that helps with cloudflare while the website is forced to use that (and also hoping we'll get better solutions soon, I know too well that web/IT admin tasks are not the easiest, and finding the best solution and putting it in place can be long and time consuming. Best of luck to the staff working on that <3)

@Thesolcity the thing is he's using an android-powered device, so web browsers are sometimes not well designed on there, and the system has an "application cache" system that stores all the local user data of the app, so if he was to clean that instead of the in-browser content cache, he'd have deleted all the user data of his browser - including saved passwords and cookies!
 

Nikokaro

the most valuable game... is that of our life
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
1,791
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
4,835
Country
Italy
Important:
Before clearing all the cache on my smartphone, I tried to connect here on my tablet, after completely clearing its Chrome cache. To my surprise and disappointment, it still took several minutes to let me in.
So it seems to be a problem with Android Chrome, independent of the size of the cache to check!
And as I read in the recent thread in the Discussions and Suggestions section, it also affects Android Firefox. At this point I'm waiting for other solutions...
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: don't see where they could. but cool