Translation [W.I.P] McDonald's eCDP - Fan Translation (Alpha Patch 0.5 - Easy menu!)

TheHomebrewerGuy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
203
Country
United Kingdom
[This is a public alpha test release - Patches not final. Work in Progress mod.]
Test Release - Patch will be available for download
EDIT - For more information about the future of this translation, please visit page 4 of this thread.

As soon as this ROM was released,
Everyone. And I mean everyone. Wanted an English patch.

And that's where fans come in!
Yes you heard it right, I have been making, developing, and working on a McDonald's eCDP english patch.
I know you're thinking: "Why release it early?"
Well, I want to get this out for everyone to enjoy, and it'd probably take me way too long if I only uploaded the finished ROM.
For now, I'm releasing patches, one by one; so stay updated!
Right now this is a test patch.
Here are some screenshots!
Here's what it looks like!
cbac77880d2546d99ee735ff9fae05ac.png

0adc37b1dc406174ad8c4ad7d8e1daca.png

62958d8f0e62ead228d95127f1715f52.png

fe4dc4761fce77bc5b77d3bf774c4ec4.png
Most of the menu is translated, and here is my progress.

Login Screen - 100% Translated
Title Screen - 100% Translated; needs cleaning up on the buttons.
eCDP Excercise:
Self-Study - Partially Translated; Checklist and Gameplay text needs some translating.
Self-Check - W.I.P; French Fry quiz 50% translated: Others still W.I.P.
SOC Guide - Coming in a later patch
Challenge the McDonald's - Coming in a later patch
MGR Mode:
Button descriptions translated (Showed on top screen)
Translated Menu - Crew Entry - 100% Translated
All will change in another public alpha test.

Version: Patch 0.5 - Menu Translation Update
Download: eCDP Patch 0.5.zip

How to patch your ROM:
You'll need:
xDelta UI
eCDP ROM (Un-Patched)
eCDP Patch File

First, extract xDelta UI into a folder of choice.
Then, open xdeltaUI.exe; you should see these 2 tabs:
"Apply Patch" and "Create Patch"
You'll already be on Apply Patch, but check anyway.
For "Patch", insert the .xdelta patch file you downloaded.
For "Original File", insert the original eCDP Japan ROM.
Lastly, pick a destination in "Output File"
(Make sure to name it with ".nds" at the end.)

Now open your emulator of choice.
Find the patched file you named, then open it using the emulator.
Now; don't actually click anything yet, as the game won't let you.
What you should do at this point is load the .sav file that comes with the eCDP ROM.
Then you're done.
Enjoy!

Let me know your feedback to make the new patch even better!
Enjoy playing the alpha!
 

Attachments

  • eCDP Patch 0.5.zip
    19.4 KB · Views: 1,880
Last edited by TheHomebrewerGuy,

KabanFriends

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
17
XP
18
Country
Japan
This project looks very nice! Can I help with this project? I'm a Japanese person and I translated the game by myself, but I'm currently stuck at complex strings because don't have so much knowledge about DS Romhacking, so I think it would be cool If I could help translate this game with your help!
 
Last edited by KabanFriends,

User670

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
17
Country
China
Hi.

Looks like you have been able to do quite a bit in terms of rom hacking... something we at the speedrunning discord server struggle to do.

Also semi-generic question, it seems relatively easy to translate the game into English (where English characters are also a part of Shift-JIS), but is it possible to translate the game into other languages that have non-Shift-JIS characters? If yes, how? (edit font to map a character to another?)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Julie_Pilgrim

TheHomebrewerGuy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
203
Country
United Kingdom
Hi.

Looks like you have been able to do quite a bit in terms of rom hacking... something we at the speedrunning discord server struggle to do.

Also semi-generic question, it seems relatively easy to translate the game into English (where English characters are also a part of Shift-JIS), but is it possible to translate the game into other languages that have non-Shift-JIS characters? If yes, how? (edit font to map a character to another?)
If you would want to edit the game to support other characters, you would need to edit the font that is in the game files. Though, you can't add/map it to said specific character.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

This project looks very nice! Can I help with this project? I'm a Japanese person and I translated the game by myself, but I'm currently stuck at complex strings because don't have so much knowledge about DS Romhacking, so I think it would be cool If I could help translate this game with your help!
Cool! I'll see later in the future.
 

OscarPlays9483

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
14
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
87
Country
United Kingdom
I've noticed a couple small issues with the patch in-game, the 10:1 in the self study section on the list says 2:1 and the quarter pounders says "quater", not sure if that was intentional or not, and also in the main menu where is has my history theres half of japanese characters just kinda there. just wanted to let you know,
 
Last edited by OscarPlays9483,

TheHomebrewerGuy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
203
Country
United Kingdom
I've noticed a couple small issues with the patch in-game, the 10:1 in the self study section on the list says 2:1 and the quarter pounders says "quater", not sure if that was intentional or not, and also in the main menu where is has my history theres half of japanese characters just kinda there. just wanted to let you know,
"10:1" was an issue in translation. This wasn't intentional. "quater" is a typo I overlooked and didn't really notice. I'll also clean up the main menu's buttons, they annoy me too. Thanks for your feedback!
 

qbdp

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 23, 2020
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
364
Country
United States
Used to be store manager of McDonalds. It sucked. I could see this actually being useful because trainees could take it home and they're not screwing up product when they mess up.

Makes me wonder if the McDonalds DSi was locked to only play that cartridge. What's to stop a trainee from bringing in like... Animal Crossing and playing that instead?
 
  • Like
Reactions: banjo2

Dumbfreak

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 28, 2020
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
234
Country
United States
@TheHomebrewerGuy
Hello, can you explain how to play to me please?
I use desMUME and open the game and then i select "import backup memory" (because otherwise is greyed out) and select the .sav file it won't let me enter the password.
It always says "starting for the first time requires a staff account".

And then the 3rd option asks for 3 things. What are those 3 things? I know one is 482500. What's the rest?
3 times 482500 doesn't work. I tried many combinations. Please stop my pain:

1) ???
2) ???
3) ???
 
Last edited by Dumbfreak,

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,420
Trophies
1
XP
6,888
Country
United States
@TheHomebrewerGuy
Hello, can you explain how to play to me please?
I use desMUME and open the game and then i select "import backup memory" (because otherwise is greyed out) and select the .sav file it won't let me enter the password.
It always says "starting for the first time requires a staff account".

And then the 3rd option asks for 3 things. What are those 3 things? I know one is 482500. What's the rest?
3 times 482500 doesn't work. I tried many combinations. Please stop my pain:

1) ???
2) ???
3) ???
Use the first option
 

Dumbfreak

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 28, 2020
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
234
Country
United States
As i said before, the first option says "starting for the first time requires a staff account".
I imported the .sav but still.
 
Last edited by Dumbfreak,

Dumbfreak

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 28, 2020
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
234
Country
United States
No dice.
I cleanup the /Battery dir on DesMUME.
Open the game.
I see it creates a .dsv small (8.11KB) inside Battery
I do File > Import Backup Memory...
I leave it auto, find the .sav press OK
I notice the .dsv file on /Battery is now 64.1 KB (So import worked)
Game resets itself.
I click Enter Password and see error "Starting for the first time requires a staff account".

What am i doing wrong?
 

TheHomebrewerGuy

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 20, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
203
Country
United Kingdom
No dice.
I cleanup the /Battery dir on DesMUME.
Open the game.
I see it creates a .dsv small (8.11KB) inside Battery
I do File > Import Backup Memory...
I leave it auto, find the .sav press OK
I notice the .dsv file on /Battery is now 64.1 KB (So import worked)
Game resets itself.
I click Enter Password and see error "Starting for the first time requires a staff account".

What am i doing wrong?
Close DesMUME. If that doesn't work, try loading the .sav then pausing, then reloading the ROM. It doesn't work on your first try, keep in mind.
 

Shadow#1

Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
11,420
Trophies
1
XP
6,888
Country
United States
I have some updates, however the new patch is not ready yet. I'm translating some quizzes, and I've encountered my first bug while translating. It won't take that long, but slowly but surely, I will get this translated properly.
Thanks for this info can't wait
 

Dumbfreak

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 28, 2020
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
234
Country
United States
Found the cause! ! It's the second option not the first i was using!! WORKS now!
Untitled.png


@TheHomebrewerGuy There's a github i found about a translation project is it you? search for "user670 eCDP-translation" (i can't post links). If it's not you maybe join forces? If you want to.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I am slightly annoyed I just bought bioshock on steam but it was like $8
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    I've catered for Epic before, pretty cool folks.
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    I think I already have it - but it's a good game so IMO the more people that can play it the better
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I guess it's not a huge bad thing to have a game on different platforms just in case of hacks :tpi:
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    My biggest issue with Epic was the incredibly disingenuous way they dealt with Apple and the app Store - I happen to think that Apple are the classic evil corporation, so it takes a lot to be even more cunty than them - but Epic managed it..
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    People build over hatred for companies but a huge majority still buy their products or take what's free
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    I don't actually hate them - if anything I was just amused to discover that they had actually managed to make Apple look like they were in the right - it takes serious levels of assholishness to do that
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If I have an enjoyable time using something that's all that should matter
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah, this is a games site, and I would have thought that most people would care about games ahead of anything else - although some of the comments on here make me wonder sometimes.
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    I just checked, and I have Bioshock 1/2 (normal and remastered) and Infinite on Steam
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Some people remain loyal and don't forget the negatives over the positive people try to do that's just life
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Can't remember when I bought them - probably during some sale
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah, the most obviously deranged indication of this are the heavy-duty console warriors
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    It happens outside of gaming it's just life
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah, fanbois will fanboi
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Kinda makes me sad everyone is believing in emulation gives less of a reason for consoles to exist
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    I appreciate the convenience of emulation - but at the same time there is a feeling you get from using original hardware that's hard to match.
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I feel like consoles will always be here just less of a demand
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be...