1. pauleigee

    OP pauleigee Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering if it is at all possible for the vita to play PC games. I have one particular i would love to have with all the time (Killing Floor). I just really think that if any portable console can do it, it would be this one. I also think if any community can get it done, it would be this one. Let me know what you think about this idea.
     
  2. Ryupower

    Ryupower Brood
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,973
    Country:
    United States
    the only way, will be if the game was ported to the vita

    THERE IS NO HACK FOR THE VITA, the unlocks vita mode

    there is JUST a SMALL one the let you run SOME PSP USER MODE homebrew

    NOT VITA MODE STUFF
     
  3. Hadrian

    Hadrian Everybofy knows badgers like MASH POTATOES!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,982
    Country:
    United States
    :creep:

    No dude, maybe one day it might be slightly possible but in the meantime it'll be cheaper to buy a laptop. Older PC games I can't see why not, you know...when this thing is actually hacked.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. pyromaniac123

    pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Country:
    I'm playing crysis 2 on my vita right now.
     
    2 people like this.
  5. raulpica

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,066
    Country:
    Italy
    Won't ever ever happen.

    The max you'll be able to run will be Win95 games at BEST with a highly optimized emulator. Don't think of anything made after 2003.
     
    3 people like this.
  6. frogboy

    frogboy lacking both style and grace
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2,433
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, here's what I think:

    NO.
     
  7. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Cynical Absurdist
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,467
    Country:
    Poland
    How about: HBL+PortableVNC? It's not going to work pretty, but it'll do... that is, if he can launch HBL on his Vita.
     
  8. Zerosuit connor

    Zerosuit connor Baby I'm Back ♥
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Country:
    I was going to say read the stickies, but are there even stickies for this level of ignorance?
    @[member='raulpica']
     
  9. raulpica

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,066
    Country:
    Italy
    Everyone has to start somewhere, don't be so harsh :yay:
     
  10. pauleigee

    OP pauleigee Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    C'mon guys have a little faith. I would love to see a port version of Killing Floor, but what about the remote play feature. If you can play PS3 games on it, why not PC games?

    pyro how are you playing Crysis 2?
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. raulpica

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,066
    Country:
    Italy
    Killing Floor is closed source. Won't happen.

    Only the original devs can do it, and I'm sure they won't, as most developers just prefer to develop completely new games instead of porting old ones.

    The remote play function is spefically made for Sony consoles, and it just streams the Video to the Vita, and the Vita streams the controls back to the PS3. You aren't really playing the game on the Vita.

    Pyro was just kidding, there's no way to have Crysis 2 on the Vita.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. omatic

    omatic GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    United States
    He was being sarcastic. Also, game developers have to specifically implement remote play in the games they develop. You would have much better luck asking the Killing Floor devs to port the game to PS Vita.

    Edit: raulpica beat me to it.
     
  13. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    You can't port without the original source code for the game.
     
  14. prowler

    prowler Sony
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,476
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    Bitch, I'm running Windows 8.

    [​IMG]
     
    5 people like this.
  15. Advi

    Advi GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    Even if the source is freely available, it still might not be possible. The vast majority of computer games run on Microsoft Windows, and I'm pretty confident that they aren't willing to port their proprietary APIs to a competitor's device.
    Same reason free and open source programs like Notepad++ lack ports to multiple operating systems.
     
  16. RchUncleSkeleton

    RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,133
    Country:
    United States
    really? you think the most a quad core processor that is capable of running anywhere from 800mhz to 2ghz per core will only be able to emulate a Windows 95 game that maxes out at around 133mhz? Not to even mention the GPU which is about 1000 times more powerful than anything ever conceptualized during the Windows 95 days. Wow, that just baffles me how you could say something so ignorant! The fact is you have no idea if or when it will be possible.
     
  17. pauleigee

    OP pauleigee Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I hear you, I'm just throwing it out there. I know its early yet and it going to take time but there is always a way.
     
  18. Advi

    Advi GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    You do know that the specific architecture of a processor matters far, far more than clock speed and number of cores, right? And that running a program compiled for one ISA on another--in this case, running an x86 program on an ARM processor--requires substantially more processing power than would be required to run it natively?
    There is a reason compatibility layers like Wine are only available for x86-compatible processors and that we don't have PS3 emulators.
     
  19. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Cynical Absurdist
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,467
    Country:
    Poland
    Seeing that Windows is recieving the ARM treatment and Bochs/similar emulators are getting better and better each release I wouldn't be suprised if there was a bright future for Vita in that department.
     
  20. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    The Vita does not have a quad-core processor clocked 800mhz to 2ghz per core.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - playing, games,