Hacking vita playing PC games

pauleigee

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
United States
I was wondering if it is at all possible for the vita to play PC games. I have one particular i would love to have with all the time (Killing Floor). I just really think that if any portable console can do it, it would be this one. I also think if any community can get it done, it would be this one. Let me know what you think about this idea.
 

Ryupower

Brood
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
2,979
Trophies
0
Website
techmantis.net
XP
2,156
Country
United States
the only way, will be if the game was ported to the vita

THERE IS NO HACK FOR THE VITA, the unlocks vita mode

there is JUST a SMALL one the let you run SOME PSP USER MODE homebrew

NOT VITA MODE STUFF
 

Hadrian

Everybody knows badgers like MASH POTATOES!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
16,984
Trophies
2
Age
41
XP
4,696
Country
United States
:creep:

No dude, maybe one day it might be slightly possible but in the meantime it'll be cheaper to buy a laptop. Older PC games I can't see why not, you know...when this thing is actually hacked.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

pyromaniac123

ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
2,006
Trophies
1
XP
1,742
Country
I was wondering if it is at all possible for the vita to play PC games. I have one particular i would love to have with all the time (Killing Floor). I just really think that if any portable console can do it, it would be this one. I also think if any community can get it done, it would be this one. Let me know what you think about this idea.

I'm playing crysis 2 on my vita right now.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 2 people

frogboy

lacking both style and grace
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
2,434
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
1,716
Country
United States
I was wondering if it is at all possible for the vita to play PC games. I have one particular i would love to have with all the time (Killing Floor). I just really think that if any portable console can do it, it would be this one. I also think if any community can get it done, it would be this one. Let me know what you think about this idea.
Okay, here's what I think:

NO.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,398
Trophies
2
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,306
Country
Poland
I was wondering if it is at all possible for the vita to play PC games. I have one particular i would love to have with all the time (Killing Floor). I just really think that if any portable console can do it, it would be this one. I also think if any community can get it done, it would be this one. Let me know what you think about this idea.
Okay, here's what I think:

NO.
How about: HBL+PortableVNC? It's not going to work pretty, but it'll do... that is, if he can launch HBL on his Vita.
 

pauleigee

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
United States
C'mon guys have a little faith. I would love to see a port version of Killing Floor, but what about the remote play feature. If you can play PS3 games on it, why not PC games?

pyro how are you playing Crysis 2?
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,713
Country
Italy
Killing Floor is closed source. Won't happen.

Only the original devs can do it, and I'm sure they won't, as most developers just prefer to develop completely new games instead of porting old ones.

The remote play function is spefically made for Sony consoles, and it just streams the Video to the Vita, and the Vita streams the controls back to the PS3. You aren't really playing the game on the Vita.

Pyro was just kidding, there's no way to have Crysis 2 on the Vita.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

omatic

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2007
Messages
408
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
United States
Website
Visit site
XP
251
Country
United States
C'mon guys have a little faith. I would love to see a port version of Killing Floor, but what about the remote play feature. If you can play PS3 games on it, why not PC games?

pyro how are you playing Crysis 2?

He was being sarcastic. Also, game developers have to specifically implement remote play in the games they develop. You would have much better luck asking the Killing Floor devs to port the game to PS Vita.

Edit: raulpica beat me to it.
 

prowler

Sony
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
9,475
Trophies
0
Location
Ragol
XP
3,294
Country
Zimbabwe
Bitch, I'm running Windows 8.

uUEyK.jpg
 
  • Like
Reactions: 5 people

Advi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
1,140
Trophies
0
Age
28
Website
www.fletchowns.net
XP
152
Country
United States
You can't port without the original source code for the game.
Even if the source is freely available, it still might not be possible. The vast majority of computer games run on Microsoft Windows, and I'm pretty confident that they aren't willing to port their proprietary APIs to a competitor's device.
Same reason free and open source programs like Notepad++ lack ports to multiple operating systems.
 

RchUncleSkeleton

Skeletron 9000
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,133
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
California, USA
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
331
Country
United States
Won't ever ever happen.

The max you'll be able to run will be Win95 games at BEST with a highly optimized emulator. Don't think of anything made after 2003.
really? you think the most a quad core processor that is capable of running anywhere from 800mhz to 2ghz per core will only be able to emulate a Windows 95 game that maxes out at around 133mhz? Not to even mention the GPU which is about 1000 times more powerful than anything ever conceptualized during the Windows 95 days. Wow, that just baffles me how you could say something so ignorant! The fact is you have no idea if or when it will be possible.
 

pauleigee

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
United States
I hear you, I'm just throwing it out there. I know its early yet and it going to take time but there is always a way.
 

Advi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2009
Messages
1,140
Trophies
0
Age
28
Website
www.fletchowns.net
XP
152
Country
United States
Won't ever ever happen.

The max you'll be able to run will be Win95 games at BEST with a highly optimized emulator. Don't think of anything made after 2003.
really? you think the most a quad core processor that is capable of running anywhere from 800mhz to 2ghz per core will only be able to emulate a Windows 95 game that maxes out at around 133mhz? Not to even mention the GPU which is about 1000 times more powerful than anything ever conceptualized during the Windows 95 days. Wow, that just baffles me how you could say something so ignorant! The fact is you have no idea if or when it will be possible.
You do know that the specific architecture of a processor matters far, far more than clock speed and number of cores, right? And that running a program compiled for one ISA on another--in this case, running an x86 program on an ARM processor--requires substantially more processing power than would be required to run it natively?
There is a reason compatibility layers like Wine are only available for x86-compatible processors and that we don't have PS3 emulators.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,398
Trophies
2
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,306
Country
Poland
Won't ever ever happen.

The max you'll be able to run will be Win95 games at BEST with a highly optimized emulator. Don't think of anything made after 2003.
really? you think the most a quad core processor that is capable of running anywhere from 800mhz to 2ghz per core will only be able to emulate a Windows 95 game that maxes out at around 133mhz? Not to even mention the GPU which is about 1000 times more powerful than anything ever conceptualized during the Windows 95 days. Wow, that just baffles me how you could say something so ignorant! The fact is you have no idea if or when it will be possible.
Seeing that Windows is recieving the ARM treatment and Bochs/similar emulators are getting better and better each release I wouldn't be suprised if there was a bright future for Vita in that department.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,920
Country
United States
really? you think the most a quad core processor that is capable of running anywhere from 800mhz to 2ghz per core will only be able to emulate a Windows 95 game that maxes out at around 133mhz? Not to even mention the GPU which is about 1000 times more powerful than anything ever conceptualized during the Windows 95 days. Wow, that just baffles me how you could say something so ignorant! The fact is you have no idea if or when it will be possible.
The Vita does not have a quad-core processor clocked 800mhz to 2ghz per core.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Years gone by so quick