Hacking Vita emulators

Eyesenish

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
154
Trophies
0
XP
282
Country
Canada
ok so i have 2 vitas under 3.60 atm wich im thinking of manually update to 3.60 the hack but i was wondering for the emulators atm is there any that actually work flawlessly yet and by that i mean full speed and perfect sound? i heard n64 is bad, and GBA is a little ruff too..so if emulation is really what im after is it worth hacking them?
 

Fugelmir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
642
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
2,796
Country
Canada


Retroarch:


SNES is pretty much flawless. Star Ocean, Tales of Phantasia and Super Mario RPG, SMW2 work perfectly. 60 FPS.
FF6 doesn't run properly. While cores can run the speed at a perfect 60fps, the sound modulation doesn't execute properly so the pitch is often wrong.



I used the wonderswan color and played dicing knight (the most difficult WS game to run) and it runs perfectly.

NES Just Breed and Mr Gimmick, the most difficult to run, work 100%. Seems perfect.


Gameboy/color is perfect

GBA -- both GPSP and VBA need work but they're currently sitting at 40-50fps.


PicoDrive -- Genesis/SegaCD work 100%

Yabause -- very slow sega saturn ~5-20fps

PS1
- Untested

MAME/FBA etc -- Untested but I hear good things
 

Aneesh India

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
140
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
India
XP
215
Country
India
I am on 3.60 henkaku.
Can i know which emulator would be my best bet to play mario ?
My mom loves it.
Just asking a suggestion. The classic mario should be ok. But, i loved the nds mario though.
 

Fugelmir

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2016
Messages
642
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
2,796
Country
Canada
I am on 3.60 henkaku.
Can i know which emulator would be my best bet to play mario ?
My mom loves it.
Just asking a suggestion. The classic mario should be ok. But, i loved the nds mario though.

For Super Nintendo. Retroarch core SNES9x 2005, for Nintendo, Nestopia
 

Eyesenish

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
154
Trophies
0
XP
282
Country
Canada

Retroarch:


SNES is pretty much flawless. Star Ocean, Tales of Phantasia and Super Mario RPG, SMW2 work perfectly. 60 FPS.
FF6 doesn't run properly. While cores can run the speed at a perfect 60fps, the sound modulation doesn't execute properly so the pitch is often wrong.



I used the wonderswan color and played dicing knight (the most difficult WS game to run) and it runs perfectly.

NES Just Breed and Mr Gimmick, the most difficult to run, work 100%. Seems perfect.


Gameboy/color is perfect

GBA -- both GPSP and VBA need work but they're currently sitting at 40-50fps.


PicoDrive -- Genesis/SegaCD work 100%

Yabause -- very slow sega saturn ~5-20fps

PS1
- Untested

MAME/FBA etc -- Untested but I hear good things

ok and all these are running on henkaku 3.60?
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,410
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
13,075
Country
United States
Has someone gotten GPSP Kai to work with VHBL? It says something about unable to load prx file.:unsure:
I think the retro arch emulators should be okay for the Vita, though since i have personal problem with using retroarch, i prefer to use the PSP emulators, i manage to install VHBL on my vita last night and installed some emulators that work just as fine.

The emulators on the Henkaku showcase seem to have issues, The Genesis plus gx is nothing like the Wii port. It has no 6. button support, no save states, or fast forward, and all roms have to be zip, but it can play sms and GG games but not sega cd. also the audio.... other than that, it works like it should. It even loads the Pier solar and the great architechs rom which is 8MB. (one sonic rom hack had issue though) But without actual emulation features is just a bare bones console emulator. Pico drive PSP is better than that but not by much but i still will use it for now.

So if anyone has a way to load GPSP with VHBL please let me know. :)
 

metroid maniac

An idiot with an opinion
Member
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
2,094
Trophies
2
XP
2,755
Country
Has someone gotten GPSP Kai to work with VHBL? It says something about unable to load prx file.:unsure:

I might have gotten it running one time, but I can't figure out how I did it.
Right now I have tempgba4psp, it works but I don't use it much.
That error is occurring because you're running VHBL instead of an eCFW. It's trying to load a kernel plugin.
 

cvskid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
2,812
Trophies
2
XP
3,477
Country
United States
standalone catsfc emulator that is on the henkaku showcase page works great. Even runs SA-1 games like dbz hyper dimension and super mario rpg legend of the seven stars.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SuperDan

spacelaces

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
66
Country
Gambia, The
http://wololo.net/2016/05/11/psppsvita-gba-emulator-uo-gpsp-kai-v3-4-test-4-build-225/

this is the latest gpSP version for VHBL and it runs just about every game at full speed with sound fully working on most games aswell. In fact I haven't found a game that didn't run full speed.
Download the emulator and replace the Eboot.PBP and the dir.cfg file with the ones found in the comment section of the article to make it run on VHBL.
 
Last edited by spacelaces,
  • Like
Reactions: cvskid

cvskid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
2,812
Trophies
2
XP
3,477
Country
United States
http://wololo.net/2016/05/11/psppsvita-gba-emulator-uo-gpsp-kai-v3-4-test-4-build-225/

this is the latest gpSP version for VHBL and it runs just about every game at full speed with sound fully working on most games aswell. In fact I haven't found a game that didn't run full speed.
Download the emulator and replace the Eboot.PBP and cfg. file with the ones found in the comment section of the article to make it run on VHBL.
Only games i came across with issues are kingdom hearts chains of memories which freezes during the opening video so you need to make a savestate when it freezes then reload it. The other game is double dragon advance usa which seems to freeze randomly. The JPN version works fine though.
 
Last edited by cvskid,

spacelaces

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
66
Country
Gambia, The
Only games i came across with issues are kingdom hearts chains of memories which freezes during the oprning video so you need to make a savestate when it freezes then reload it. The other game is double dragon advance usa which seems to freeze randomly. The JPN version works fine though.

I can hit you up with a kh save on the first savepoint in the game if u need it :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: cvskid

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,410
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
13,075
Country
United States
http://wololo.net/2016/05/11/psppsvita-gba-emulator-uo-gpsp-kai-v3-4-test-4-build-225/

this is the latest gpSP version for VHBL and it runs just about every game at full speed with sound fully working on most games aswell. In fact I haven't found a game that didn't run full speed.
Download the emulator and replace the Eboot.PBP and the dir.cfg file with the ones found in the comment section of the article to make it run on VHBL.
I did what you said, every time i load it i get MESSAGE.CFG ERROR!!!!
 

SuperDan

Im Aware ... Im Unaware
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2016
Messages
3,478
Trophies
1
Location
Londoner , Living In Louisiana ...
XP
6,532
Country
United States
standalone catsfc emulator that is on the henkaku showcase page works great. Even runs SA-1 games like dbz hyper dimension and super mario rpg legend of the seven stars.

catsfc emulator that is on the henkaku is what i stuck with & works perfectly with all my Snes Roms..
Custom / Hack Snes Roms
about 500 Games....
 
  • Like
Reactions: cvskid

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,410
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
13,075
Country
United States
catsfc emulator that is on the henkaku is what i stuck with & works perfectly with all my Snes Roms..
Custom / Hack Snes Roms
about 500 Games....
I don't mean to trouble you but have you tested all advanced programming games, like Star ocean or tales of phantasia, or even some 6MB romhacks? :rolleyes:
 
  • Like
Reactions: SuperDan

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @SylverReZ, not to be intrusive but since when do you have your daughter?