Using the Gamecube AR on Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Lucky Dearly, Dec 8, 2009.

Dec 8, 2009
  1. Lucky Dearly
    OP

    Newcomer Lucky Dearly Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    dunno if this is the right place for this topic but I'm interested in getting my Wii to work with my old AR for Gamecube for Gamecube playing use
     
  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If I'm right - you're asking if it's possible to use the old AR for the Gamecube (which IIRC was a small CD & a memory card that plugged into a Gamecube slot) on the Wii

    Bad news I'm afraid - it won't work, especially if you've upgraded the firmware on the Wii

    I had one when the Wii first came out & it didn't work (although I'm sure it did work on some older games BEFORE I upgraded the firmware).

    I contacted the manufacturer (Codemasters) & their answer was basically - "No chance. The device was built for the Gamecube & not for the Wii. the hardware is designed differently" (admittively it was many years ago & I may of forgotten most of their reply - but you get the gist of it)

    I may be wrong - & perhaps some1 else can confirm this
     
  3. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't tested this, but it's worth a try...
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=126170
     
  4. Lucky Dearly
    OP

    Newcomer Lucky Dearly Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    thanks, I'll give it a try.
     

Share This Page