USB Loaders just emulate Wii Optical Drive?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by yunior597, Aug 18, 2010.

Aug 18, 2010
  1. yunior597
    OP

    Newcomer yunior597 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    Hello, well recently me wii optical drive just got damaged and a disc got stuck... now while trying to Load by usb loaders, which worked perfectly before the accident, it takes me long time to load, and after that it just Says Error: Eject the disc and turn off the wii or something like that.

    I have the same error with Virtual Console or Wiiware, when i try to load them, it just say eject the disc...

    If i remove my Wii Optical Drive, could i still play by usb normally?
     
  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,549
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yep, sounds like your broken drive sends strange signals or something like this to the wii, so it would be better to remove it (the easiest thing is to remove the two wires to the mainboard) then it should work.
     
  3. Richardarkless

    Member Richardarkless GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes if you remove the drive everything should still work as usb loaders dont use the disk drive at all unless you want it to rip a game or load a game off a dvd then it most likely come back with no disk is inserted or something like that

    Is the disk still stuck in there, maybe you can use tweezers to take it out
     
  4. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
    USB Loader ACCESS to your USB! Jeez
     
  5. JonthanD

    Member JonthanD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Sitting
    Country:
    United States
    To add to this you can get a new drive, I am not sure if this web page is not supposed to be listed here or not but if its not Mods please delete it and yell at me or something lol

    www.dealextreme.com

    I just checked and they are sold out of the D2B and D2C drives [​IMG] Maybe they will get more in some time? Would have been nice for less then 50$
     
  6. yunior597
    OP

    Newcomer yunior597 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    ok seems ill have to remove my crap drive.
     
  7. rip-it-up

    Member rip-it-up GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i,m pretty sure that the wii turns it self off if it has no drive connected
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I thought if you remove the drive, then most stuff stops working. If some general hardware init routine can't init the drive, it will return an error, no matter if the program actually uses or needs the drive or not.
     
  9. alexcalibur

    Member alexcalibur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard the same thing as WiiPower. Of course I've never actually tried it, so I don't really know. But from what I've heard if you take out the whole dvd drive the Wii won't really work. You need some kind of dvd drive, even if it's broken, for the Wii to work.

    Again, I've never done it, so it could use some confirmation.
     
  10. Tom191

    Banned Tom191 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Canada
    The system menu will still run without the drive connected, but most usb loaders will fail to load a game without the drive connected. I just tested this out myself right now and I tried with SM 3.2-4.3 and every SM still ran fine. I even waited for about 5 minutes and also went into the mii channel and my wii never locked up. I hope this answers your question or helped add a little insight.
     
  11. yunior597
    OP

    Newcomer yunior597 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    Wow this really something bad at all... i mean why usb loaders have to be attached to the Wii drive? developers should do something about it, or maybe find a fix by Cios.
     
  12. geoflcl

    Member geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    United States
    Again, it's just how the Wii works. It's all hard-wired to be clingy to the drive and whatnot. So it'd be a pain in the butt to do something like that, in any aspect.
     
  13. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I remember some guy installed his HDD inside the Wii, by removing the disc drive, and it worked just fine, do the test and report the results my man...!!
     
  14. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I remember seeing that video. I think you still need the drive board installed for it to work
     
  15. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Correct, I was going to do that too, but then I didnt want to take apart a perfectly good Drive and the cost of broken drives is ridiculous.
     
  16. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    use the board off the drive you have in your wii just disconnect the ribbon cables to the laser and stuff.

    It's probably something stupid like a fault micro switch on the drive mechanism not making contact or something
     
  17. happydance

    Member happydance GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    469
    Country:
    Philippines
    i know usb loaders still need the actual drive/board to function, but what about sneek?
     
  18. yunior597
    OP

    Newcomer yunior597 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Dominican Republic
    You may find this weird but after i sent my wii to a technical to repair the drive, i can't load from USB anymore, the drive is working perfectly, but the loaders just get stuck and doesnt show up any game....

    I tried CFG, Wiiflow 2.1, neogamma, uloader...
    I tried diferents cios, 222,224,249 base 56,38, even 249 rev17, and nothing fix the problem.

    I also cleaned the nand and uninstalled darkcorp, and doesnt work either.

    I think its the HBC Channel 1.08 with base 58 that cause me the problem i dont know why...
     
  19. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    uninstall IOS58, and reinstall HBC, on my Wii it says that it's hanging off IOS56...!! [​IMG]
     
  20. gaojiugao

    Newcomer gaojiugao Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    ShangHai
    Country:
    China

    Your old drive board has been changed with D3/Mini board which can't supported Backup Disc running.
     

Share This Page