Hacking USB Loader GX Not Detecting HD Anymore

ToolPunk

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
205
Country
United States
I have been playing my games from an external HD for almost a year now using USB Loader GX. Just a couple days ago when I loaded up USB Loader GX, it said waiting for HD, counted down and then loaded and said no device.

I have tried removing USB Loader GX and putting it back on there fresh. I tried updating it.

Nintendont has no issue seeing the HD and playing GC games.

My PC shows nothing wrong with the drive.

Please help I cant figure out why USB Loader would stop detecting the HD when everything else sees it with no problem.

Thank You.
 

mary1517

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
108
Trophies
0
Age
33
Website
www.behance.net
XP
306
Country
Poland
Oh that title... And for a moment I thought there was a HD upscaler in some new USBLoader updates for the vWii that I didn't know about or something, but that's just HDD misspelled...
Anyway, I had an exact same problem not so long time ago. And the solution was rather frustrating:
Try pluging in the HDD to a different USB port. I don't know why, but it worked for me. Now I just have to remember to always plug in to the same one. The others won't detect my HDD at all.

I assume you didn't do anything special that would cause the USBLoader to stop working? It just like... happened? Or did you install/update/change anything in your console between the time it worked fine and just stoped?
 

ToolPunk

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
205
Country
United States
I was using the same exact version as before when this happen. This time though, I boot up the Wii U and I had forgot to have the drive on before starting USB Loader. I shut down the wii u and turned the drive on. This time and since then, when I boot up USB Loader it wont detect the drive. Like I said above I tried updating USB Loader, deleting it and redownloading it. I can launch Nintendont from HBC and load GC games off the HDD no problem. USB Loader just says Waiting for HDD... counts down and then loads with no games or HDD detected. I am using d2x-v10-beta52-vWii. Western Digital Blue 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s WD5000AAKX
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,749
Trophies
4
Age
46
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,662
Country
France
so it's a different issue than the other thread.
the loader doesn't mount the HDD at all and continue without HDD.

The other thread is finding HDD, mounting it, and freeze there indefinitely.


Did you update your WiiU?
I think the new WiiU version is shutting down non WiiU HDD.

Nintendont is using IOS58 to mount the HDD, you can try using it too.
You can go to USBLoaderGX > Settings > Loader settings > Loader's IOS : 58
it should automatically edit your meta.xml to tell the loader that you want to use IOS58 at boot.
 

ToolPunk

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
205
Country
United States
Changed Loader's IOS to 58 and then checked wii games and all is well. I would love to know if all these new Nintendont settings in the newer version would let me see and load the GC games on my HDD from the USB Loader menu just like the wii games.
 

TotalInsanity4

GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
10,800
Trophies
0
Location
Under a rock
XP
9,814
Country
United States
Changed Loader's IOS to 58 and then checked wii games and all is well. I would love to know if all these new Nintendont settings in the newer version would let me see and load the GC games on my HDD from the USB Loader menu just like the wii games.

Just set GameCube loader to Nintendont and specify the game path to usb:/games
 

ToolPunk

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
205
Country
United States
set GameCube loader to Nintendont but where do I put usb:/games? The GC Source only says Main Path or SD Path or Main Path/SD Path. Also, do the GC games need to be on a separate partition?
 

TotalInsanity4

GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
10,800
Trophies
0
Location
Under a rock
XP
9,814
Country
United States
set GameCube loader to Nintendont but where do I put usb:/games? The GC Source only says Main Path or SD Path or Main Path/SD Path. Also, do the GC games need to be on a separate partition?

Set "Main path" to Nintendont and go to "Custom Paths" and make sure that the GameCube path is set to usb:/games. Sorry, I wasn't as clear as I should have been the first time
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,749
Trophies
4
Age
46
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,662
Country
France
You are all mixing settings locations.
There are different settings, to affect different things in the loader!

The path where you store your games :
Settings > user path > Gamecube Main folder : set this path to your USB:/games/ folder. it's the "main" path, the one used to dump games to ISO. You can set it to SD if you want. no need to be USB.
Settings > user path > Gamecube SD folder : This path needs to stay on SD. It's the path used by DIOS MIOS Lite by default, as DML can't launch from USB.

If you set these two settings to different folders, the loader will load either both or only one, depending on another setting.
Settings > Loader settings > Gamecube source : Set this to define the priority for the games.
SD only : displays only ISO located on SD folder
Main only : display only the ISO located on Main folder
SD+Main : display in priority games located on SD folder if there are duplicates, then load the other one from Main folder
Main+SD : display in priority games located on Main folder if there are duplicates, then load the other one from SD folder
Auto : The priority for games to display is based on the current detected/installed MIOS :

DIOS MIOS : USB, then SD
DIOS MIOS Lite : SD, then USB
MIOS : (sorry, I don't remember the priority. too many things to remember)


You can also select the external loader to use :
Settings > Loader settings > Gamecube mode :
MIOS : use the installed MIOS in the MIOS slot to launch gamecube (MIOS, cMIOS, DIOS MIOS, DIOS MIOS Lite)
Devolution : use devolution
Nintendont : use nintendont


Then, if you want to display gamecube games in the loader, don't forget to enable gamecube as Game's origin : 4th icon in the top menu.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TotalInsanity4

ToolPunk

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
205
Country
United States
OHHH! I'm sorry guys I didn't even realize there was a custom paths. I Set Custom Paths>Gamecube Main folder>usb1/games. I set Loader Settings>GameCube Settings>GameCube Source>Main Path. I Set Loader Settings>GameCube Settings>GameCube Mode Nintendont. Now My games show on the list with the wii games and run from USB Loader GX. THANK YOU BUNCHES!
 

ToolPunk

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
205
Country
United States
Restarted Wii U, this time when launching a GC game it took me to Nintendont and the arrow was already on the game I wanted to launch. Is this the way it works? NVM Turning on Auto boot allows the game selected in USB Loader GX to auto boot when Nintendont launches.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,749
Trophies
4
Age
46
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,662
Country
France
If it could launch nintendont without warning or errors, it means it detected that you have nintendont's boot.dol located in your sd:/apps/nintendont/ folder.
When launching a game, it should launch nintendont automatically.

If you still hear the Wii menu music, I guess it means the loader didn't shutdown and is stuck somewhere between shutting down process and before launching nintendont.
Without a debug log it's hard to tell what's wrong or where it hangs.

Did you try multiple times? with different games?


edit:
Ah, you posted before me. I see it works now.
Autoboot should be enabled by default, you modified that setting to disable it, or it wasn't enabled by default?
 

ToolPunk

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2014
Messages
60
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
205
Country
United States
No I had turned it off because that setting was off in nintendont. I see though, that setting works differently from within USB Loader. Thank you for the help, it is running great now.
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,749
Trophies
4
Age
46
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,662
Country
France
in nintendont, it's off by default (or else it wouldn't ask you what game you want to launch, it would try to autoboot last played game .... which doesn't exist yet)
But you can enable it in nintendont just before launching a game, and next time you boot nintendont, it will autoboot the last played game.

when using a loader, it's editing the config file used by nintendont to "fake" the last played game, and autoboot the one you just selected.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Anyone wanna play with my joydock
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Biomutant looks cool tho, may have to try that
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    Usually when such a big title leaks the Temp will be the first to report about it (going off of historical reports here, Pokemon SV being the latest one I can recall seeing pop up here)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I still like how a freaking mp3 file hacks webos all that security defeated by text yet again
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    They have simulators for everything nowdays, cray cray. How about a sim that shows you playing the Switch.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's called yuzu
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I want a 120hz 4k tv but crazy how more expensive the 120hz over the 60hz are. Or even more crazy is the price of 8k's.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No real point since movies are 30fps
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Not a big movie buff, more of a gamer tbh. And Series X is 120hz 8k ready, but yea only 120hz 4k games out right now, but thinking of in the future.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Mostly why you never see TV manufacturers going post 60hz
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I only watch tv when i goto bed, it puts me to sleep, and I have a nas drive filled w my fav shows so i can watch them in order, commercial free. I usually watch Married w Children, or South Park
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Stremio ruined my need for nas
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I stream from Nas to firestick, one on every tv, and use Kodi. I'm happy w it, plays everything. (I pirate/torrent shows/movies on pc, and put on nas)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kodi repost are still pretty popular
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    What the hell is Kodi reposts? what do you mean, or "Wut?" -xdqwerty
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Google them basically web crawlers to movie sites
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    oh you mean the 3rd party apps on Kodi, yea i know what you mean, yea there are still a few cool ones, in fact watched the new planet of the apes movie other night w wifey thru one, was good pic surprisingly, not a cam
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Damn, only $2.06 and free shipping. Gotta cost more for them to ship than $2.06
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I got my Dad a firestick for Xmas and showed him those 3rd party sites on Kodi, he loves it, all he watches anymore. He said he has got 3 letters from AT&T already about pirating, but he says f them, let them shut my internet off (He wants out of his AT&T contract anyways)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's where stremio comes to play never got a letter about it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I just use a VPN, even give him my login and password so can use it also, and he refuses, he's funny.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I had to find and get him an old style flip phone even without text, cause thats what he wanted. No text, no internet, only phone calls. Old, old school.
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtu.be/z9E_uv5IT-o?si=0qMdVEnRK8mmclzS