Updated DSTwo.nds for BAGPlug & iMenu & future Menus

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by BassAceGold, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. BassAceGold
    OP

    Member BassAceGold Testicles

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    Canada
    Took some time today to update the core loader behind these menus.
    More information + download here.
     
    Sicklyboy, Boriar, Mikesahhh and 3 others like this.
  2. 2ndApex

    Member 2ndApex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Country:
    United States
    Glad Homebrew Reset is finally working but is NeoDS (newest ARG compatible version) giving white screens to anyone else?
     
  3. BassAceGold
    OP

    Member BassAceGold Testicles

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    Canada
    Did it previously work with the old DSTwo.nds?
     
  4. 2ndApex

    Member 2ndApex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    Country:
    United States
    Just tested it out again to make sure. Indeed it does.
     
  5. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the update BassAce, i really like the HB soft-reset

    i have the same issue when trying to direct boot a NeoGeo game with DSiXL or 3ds .
    What's really weird is that it works on my DSL.

    edit: did some digging around and testing on my card. I noticed that the NeoDS moonshell version accesses the extlink.dat file in the moonshl2 folder when you direct boot a game with BAGPlug.
    Too bad the NeoDS mod doesnt use args instead of extlink.
     
  6. Mikesahhh

    Newcomer Mikesahhh Mikes

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is so awesome loving the homebrew to menu reset!
     
  7. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    Nice! The new loader works for returning to BAGPlug from Moonshell2 (the old version would take you back to EOS). Just rename the DSTwo.nds to DSI2.nds and put it in the moonshl2/resetmse folder.
     
  8. BPSpike

    Newcomer BPSpike Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Argentina
    Does this work with the DSTwo EOS as well, or it's just for custom menus like BAGPlug, iMenu & etc?
     
  9. BassAceGold
    OP

    Member BassAceGold Testicles

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    Canada
    Just for custom menus. EOS has its own built in loader for running homebrew.
     
  10. geekboy1011

    Newcomer geekboy1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Bass Does this support multiple boot choices like spinal_cords version does?
    He has a setup where if you hold L+R on boot you get a menu to choose which menu to boot or set as default
    Code:
    [boot_settings]
     
    file = /_imenu/dstwo.plg
     
    opt1 = /_imenu/dstwo.plg
    name1 = iMenu
     
    opt2 = /_bagui/dstwo.plg
    name2 = BAGUI
     
    opt3 =
    name3 = -
     
    opt4 = /moonshl2/moonshl2.nds
    name4 = Moonshell 2
     
    opt5 = /_dstwo/_dstwo.nds
    name5 = DSTwo Plugin Menu
     
    opt6 =
    name6 =
     
    opt7 =
    name7 =
     
    opt8 =
    name8 =
     
    opt9 =
    name9 =
     
    opt10 =
    name10 =
    
    The boot.ini was formatted as such. I found it quite useful when I kept breaking stuff or was trying something new and didn't have a chance to fix it when it broke and I was on the go
     
  11. BassAceGold
    OP

    Member BassAceGold Testicles

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    Canada
    It does not have a multi-boot menu. I'll look into it though, when I have the time.
     
    Boriar likes this.
  12. geekboy1011

    Newcomer geekboy1011 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much :D it was the main reason I switched to spinals version ^^
     
  13. BruceBaldock

    Newcomer BruceBaldock Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Homebrew soft Reset works great with nesDS
    and works with gameyob before you have selected a game but if you have loaded a game and then try to soft reset it will give you a Guru Meditation Error
    and if used with lameboy it doesnt do anything
    and also does nothing with DSJenesis
     
  14. BassAceGold
    OP

    Member BassAceGold Testicles

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    Canada
    Homebrew exit to menu is something programmers need to add to their programs themselves. It's not a soft reset in the sense that it patches in an exit routine complete with key combination, but rather exits when the homebrew being run calls for it to do so. All this loader does is install a bootstub in the ram which is executed when the exit() function is called, following what Homebrew Menu does.

    So basically, any homebrew relatively old won't have an exit to menu feature; they will need to be updated.
     

Share This Page