Hacking Unsure on best way to update. Using Luma3DS on 11.5.0-38E

Ki18

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2015
Messages
216
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
159
Country
Hi,

Have not touched my 3ds in ages and looking to come back to update it. My System Version is the above and I currently have Luma3DS installed although I'm unsure of which version. Both are obviously out of date and I'm unsure of what the best method of updating is, whether I update Luma first or my System Version. I'm very hesitant to touch anything without some form of confirmation if possible as I understand Nintendo has made some big changes in 11.8 and the last thing I want to do is break anything.

I understand you probably deal with a question as stupid as this probably every day, but confirmation/help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
 

Hunter

i'ma stuffup the board
Former Staff
Joined
Nov 20, 2003
Messages
2,642
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Website
www.bundleupdates.com
XP
2,202
Country
Australia
turn off your 3ds,
hold select and turn on your 3ds

you will see Luma Configuration

if you have 7.0.5 or lower. follow https://3ds.hacks.guide/a9lh-to-b9s
if you have 7.1 follow https://3ds.hacks.guide/updating-b9s
if it is higher than 7.1 just update your Luma install https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-luma-updater.471739 for a automated updater
or https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases the 9.1 release there to update to the newest manually

after luma has been updated to 9.1, you can update your system firmware
 

Ki18

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2015
Messages
216
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
159
Country
turn off your 3ds,
hold select and turn on your 3ds

you will see Luma Configuration

if you have 7.0.5 or lower. follow https://3ds.hacks.guide/a9lh-to-b9s
if you have 7.1 follow https://3ds.hacks.guide/updating-b9s
if it is higher than 7.1 just update your Luma install https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-luma-updater.471739 for a automated updater
or https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases the 9.1 release there to update to the newest manually

after luma has been updated to 9.1, you can update your system firmware

Thanks man, I will do this now and get back to you.

keep it out of date and avoid the hassle. you won't gain anything from updating to 11.8 since big N will ban you sooner or later.

I'm picking up Monster Hunter Generations Ultimate on Switch on Tuesday and think I need it updated to transfer from Monster Hunter Generations. Otherwise, my 3DS would still be unused.
 
  • Like
Reactions: naddel81

Mikemk

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,010
Trophies
1
Age
26
XP
2,296
Country
United States
I'm picking up Monster Hunter Generations Ultimate on Switch on Tuesday and think I need it updated to transfer from Monster Hunter Generations. Otherwise, my 3DS would still be unused.

Nintendo can detect piracy now. Use an official eShop/cartridge version of the 3DS game or you'll get banned.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
16,982
Trophies
2
XP
15,968
Country
United States
It is in fact true. If you go online with a freeshop game, Nintendo will detect and ban the fake... ah, what's it called? certificate?
No, they cannot. The 11.8 update only affected the kind of authorization needed for eShop downloads. It is safe to go online with games that were previously installed using freeShop, FBI, etc.
 

Ki18

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2015
Messages
216
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
159
Country
turn off your 3ds,
hold select and turn on your 3ds

you will see Luma Configuration

if you have 7.0.5 or lower. follow https://3ds.hacks.guide/a9lh-to-b9s
if you have 7.1 follow https://3ds.hacks.guide/updating-b9s
if it is higher than 7.1 just update your Luma install https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-luma-updater.471739 for a automated updater
or https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases the 9.1 release there to update to the newest manually

after luma has been updated to 9.1, you can update your system firmware

Ok, so looks like Luma is currently v8.1-7xxx, so looks like I'll be updating my Luma install.

Also, I remember installing A9LH but I understand Luma now requires Bootstrap9, which I am again unsure if I have. I have this - https://3ds.hacks.guide/a9lh-to-b9s to follow, so I'll make sure I have it installed before I mess with Luma, is that correct?
 

Hunter

i'ma stuffup the board
Former Staff
Joined
Nov 20, 2003
Messages
2,642
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Website
www.bundleupdates.com
XP
2,202
Country
Australia
It is in fact true. If you go online with a freeshop game, Nintendo will detect and ban the fake... ah, what's it called? certificate?
they have been able to detect piracy since the gateway was released, they just do not act on it, unless people cheat online or play games before release.....

the 11.8 update that everyone is scared of....... is just a server side update to block apps like freeshop etc

so please stop spreading false information
 
  • Like
Reactions: Savior-X and NFates

Hunter

i'ma stuffup the board
Former Staff
Joined
Nov 20, 2003
Messages
2,642
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Website
www.bundleupdates.com
XP
2,202
Country
Australia
Ok, so looks like Luma is currently v8.1-7xxx, so looks like I'll be updating my Luma install.

Also, I remember installing A9LH but I understand Luma now requires Bootstrap9, which I am again unsure if I have. I have this - https://3ds.hacks.guide/a9lh-to-b9s to follow, so I'll make sure I have it installed before I mess with Luma, is that correct?
as stated in my post above, you only needed to change b9s if you were on 7.0.5 or lower of Luma,

you currently have 1.2 or 1.3 of b9s
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
16,982
Trophies
2
XP
15,968
Country
United States
they have been able to detect piracy since the gateway was released, they just do not act on it, unless people cheat online or play games before release.....

the 11.8 update that everyone is scared of....... is just a server side update to block apps like freeshop etc

so please stop spreading false information
Nintendo can detect pirated games online only if it's a cartridge backup using a flashcart like Gateway. CIA-installed and freeShop-installed games use the console headers instead of a unique cartridge header, and they're indistinguishable from legitimate games as far as online play goes.

Edit: And pirated games will only be detected using something like Gateway if it's a public header that's being used, not a private one.
 
Last edited by Lacius,

Ki18

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2015
Messages
216
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
159
Country
as stated in my post above, you only needed to change b9s if you were on 7.0.5 or lower of Luma,

you currently have 1.2 or 1.3 of b9s

My apologies. That's what I get for only half reading what you had posted. Thanks.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

as stated in my post above, you only needed to change b9s if you were on 7.0.5 or lower of Luma,

you currently have 1.2 or 1.3 of b9s

So I've chosen the link to have the auto update and I'll just install the CIA of it. Hopefully everything from here is self explanatory.
 

Hunter

i'ma stuffup the board
Former Staff
Joined
Nov 20, 2003
Messages
2,642
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Website
www.bundleupdates.com
XP
2,202
Country
Australia
My apologies. That's what I get for only half reading what you had posted. Thanks.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



So I've chosen the link to have the auto update and I'll just install the CIA of it. Hopefully everything from here is self explanatory.
correct, the updater will also ask if you want to install the update to ctrnand also, do this (A +X)

DjvPAB0.png
 

Ki18

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2015
Messages
216
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
159
Country
correct, the updater will also ask if you want to install the update to ctrnand also, do this (A +X)

DjvPAB0.png

So I installed the .CIA of the automatic installer but there is nothing on my Home Screen. I'm going to try doing it manually. Is it just the boot.firm file I need to copy over?
 

Hunter

i'ma stuffup the board
Former Staff
Joined
Nov 20, 2003
Messages
2,642
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Website
www.bundleupdates.com
XP
2,202
Country
Australia
So I installed the .CIA of the automatic installer but there is nothing on my Home Screen. I'm going to try doing it manually. Is it just the boot.firm file I need to copy over?

the icon on your home screen should be

upload_2018-8-27_1-28-7.png


but yes, the boot.firm is the only thing you need to copy of you do it manually
 

Ki18

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2015
Messages
216
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
159
Country
the icon on your home screen should be

View attachment 141178

but yes, the boot.firm is the only thing you need to copy of you do it manually

What I think has happened is that I had 2 outdated Luma updaters and it had updated one and I didn't realise it. So I deleted them both, did a fresh install of the CIA and it's there now.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/KYyRMdx.mp4