U4.2 Empty Save Slot Problem.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Ivoire, Nov 28, 2009.

Nov 28, 2009

U4.2 Empty Save Slot Problem. by Ivoire at 4:33 PM (1,640 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Ivoire
    OP

    Newcomer Ivoire Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    I recently upgraded to U4.2 without a problem, for the most part.

    Going through the Data Management screen and into the Save Data one for the Wii, I see two random blank spots before the top row of saves. So it looks like:

    [Blank] [Blank] [Game Save] [Game Save] [Game Save]

    I tried using a new game to see if a save could fill those blank slots, but instead the blanks get pushed to the side. I also tried using using AnyTitle Deleter, to see if there was something there, but... I saw nothing. I did see though, two Weather (HAFE, HAFA) and News (HAGA, HAGE) Channels, however only one set show on the Wii main menu, if that matters any...

    So... basically, I want to get rid of those two annoying blank spots in the middle of my saves.

    Thanks for reading, and hopefully helping.
     
  2. DarkBowser

    Newcomer DarkBowser Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Austria
    Why don't you delete the doubled Weather and News Channel?
     
  3. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    don't delete the double channels that is normal have them on my Wii in ATD
     
  4. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What do you mean by blank ?

    Do they have question marks for a picture ?
     
  5. Ivoire
    OP

    Newcomer Ivoire Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Don't delete the channels, alright. I kind of thought that'd be bad to do.

    @Slimmmmmm

    Nope, they're just... blank. When I hover over them, they pop-out like normal saves, just with no picture and no text, can't click on them either.

    Edit: Here's a picture.
    http://img132.imageshack.us/g/1128091236a.jpg/
     
  6. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some files are corrupt on the Wii.
    Only a format will fix this, take the necessary precautions, and make backups of things as you will lose things if you dont.

    Remember sometimes a format can cause a permanent brick (early sys menu + preloader etc, there are other things too)

    You're on 4.2 so you have a smaller chance of a brick, if you have any system menu mods (cMenu, themes,preloader etc remove first) Also note you would need to redo a lot of things after a format.

    If in any doubt ask first [​IMG]
     
  7. Ivoire
    OP

    Newcomer Ivoire Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Oh geeze...

    Alright, hum... SaveManager through Homebrew Channel would back up all my saves, right?

    What would I have to do after preforming a format? I have Bootmii as a boot2, so I don't use preloader, and all those themes and other stuff is just too flashy for me to worry about.

    As of current, all I have are what's necessary to run backups (Not USB) and wad files.
     
  8. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should be cool to format.

    [​IMG] bootmii on BOOT2 is great, you can go back at anytime to your last nand backup (you have backed up your nand I assume)

    Right the easiest way to backup everything is just dump the NAND using bootmii.

    Then to get your saves, miis or Wiiware etc you can extract the nand.bin using Wii NAND Extractor --> http://sites.google.com/site/parannoyedwii
    Once you format you will need to re-install your saves, miis and Wiiware etc. You won't lose bootmii on boot2 or your cIOS though.

    Link fixed
     
  9. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    his old nand backups will be no good without betwin cause format changes console ID or something
     
  10. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What ? Ah yeah I get you but that's not a problem [​IMG]

    I'm saying this is what I think he should do.

    1 - Backup nand (just incase anything goes wrong he can get it back to what it is now, BUT more importantly to get all saves, wiiware, miis etc in one easy step)
    2 - Format Wii (that should fix the bug)
    3 - Extract his old nand dump and retrieve the saves, miis, Wiiware etc
    4 - re-install all his saves etc back to the "fixed" wii
    5 - check all is cool, it should be if it is backup the "fixed" nand

    I think this is the quickest easiest solution to his problems. Obviously I've simplified it to easy to read steps, he might need advice on how to get the miis or saves back where they go. If he does I'm sure he will post and we can cross that bridge then.
     
  11. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    hmmmm i had that problem too on 4.1 but now i am on 4.2 it dissepeared i have no clue on why this is... but i had only one save game like that :s and no savegame was corrupted as all the saves still worked...
     
  12. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm not sure but I think it's a corrupt uid or other file and not a save.
     
  13. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
  14. Ivoire
    OP

    Newcomer Ivoire Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, so, I just did the format...

    My old nand dumps won't work anymore? That... kind of sucks. Now I need to find that old U3.2 nand and delete it along with the 4.0 and 4.2 (old.)

    @Slimmmmmm
    Are you sure it's possible to get the saves from the old nand? Because.. if not, well, I've got no saves. xD

    Ah well, even if it isn't they're just games. As long as those two damn squares stay gone! >.>;
     
  15. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you made your nand.bin backup last, will be the EXACT point your saves etc were at, I hope you took my advise and made one before formating, if not your saves will be older by however long it was from the time you made that nand.bin.

    So to get your saves, extract your last made nand.bin with Wii NAND Extractor --> http://sites.google.com/site/parannoyedwii
    Browse the NAND to --> title/00010000/ copy it and everything inside for ALL Wiidisc based game saves in one easy go.
    title/00010000/4e414a39/ Get a batch renamer from here http://tinyapps.org/file.html or somewhere , drag all the folders from inside the 00010000/ folder onto a batch renamer and tell it to add 00010001 to the start of the folder names or write a batch script for it yourself.

    So the /4e414a39/ folder now looks like /000100014e414a39/ etc (rename them all like this)

    Rename the 00010000 folder to "savegames" and put that folder on the root of your SD card.
    SD/savegames/000100004e414a39/ http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Savegame_Manager

    Install your saves again (1 at a time though) some games might say you need to play them first, the easiest thing to do is play it, make a save, quit and delete that save. Then you'll be able to install your backed up save from the SaveGame Manager.

    Thanks tj_cool & hany, I just talk rubbish [​IMG] .
     
  16. Ivoire
    OP

    Newcomer Ivoire Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I've got all my saves backed up, renamed, and ready to be transferred back at my own leisure, thank you Slimmmmmm for all the help.

    I'd also like to thank everyone else who participated in this topic.

    I have one last question: Will my old nand backups still work? Just want to be sure before I delete them.
     
  17. hany

    Newcomer hany Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Sweden
    The savegames are stored in the 00010000 folder not 00010001 (to much triiforce maybe?)
     

Share This Page