Twilight Princess will not load on CFG

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by the_randomizer, Jul 23, 2011.

Jul 23, 2011
  1. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I know you guys helped decide on a USB HDD, what to install with ModMii and so on, but now I'm faced with an issue; Twilight Princess will not run on CFG. The program tells me that it was ripped "correctly" but when I open my HDD on my PC, it tells me the wfbs file is 494MB, roughly half of what it should be. I deleted it, checked my HDD for errors and defragged it. Nothing. I then used CleanRip, got to about 85% and then it told me the DVD motor stopped. But when I made it in CFG, I load the game, it freezes for about five seconds, and then kicks me out to the HBC menu. I cleaned the disc to get any dust off of it, and it still didn't work. What's going on?! I installed all the WADs (cIOS, etc) that ModMii generated before getting my HDD last week, so, who knows. Oddly enough, the game itself loads find via the Disc Channel, but not on CFG. What can I do?

    Games I ripped to HDD

    Donkey Kong Country Returns
    Mario Kart Wii
    Dawn of the New World
    Super Mario Galaxy 2
    Twilight Princess

    The first four work, TP does NOT.

    That doesn't make sense.

    Here's a MS Word document that shows all installed cIOSes http://www.filefactory.com/file/cc843a0/n/sysCheck.csv
     


  2. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure how you managed to load CFG loader or run any games whatsoever, you don't have cIOS. You need to follow a hacking guide and install a cIOS. Try doing that than re-ripping the game. If it doesn't work, try ripping the game in USB Loader GX
     
  3. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    That would certainly explain the odd behavior. D'oh! What cIOS guide do you recommend? ModMii? That's what I used, but if there's something better, please let me know.

    I did however, install these files via MMM, which the ModMii guide generated http://www.filefactory.com/file/cc84349/n/wre.bmp so I may have uploaded the wrong file (that is, the Word document). Yeah, I just realized that.
     
  4. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    Just rehack your wii with modmii and you'll be good.

    Note: Some douche nozzles reported modmii as being infected with virus's so your virus scanner may bring up false positives. Just ignore them they aren't virus's
     
  5. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    AdAware came up with a false positive, wouldn't let me add it to a whitelist, so I got rid of AdAware. Should I even install the option that makes the Wii safe from bricks (the WADs you can install with ModMii)?
     
  6. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    Your choice
     
  7. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, and once I do that, I'll dump a txt file indicating what has been installed, etc and hopefully, the bloody thing will load Twilight Princess. Oy gevalt, this is frustrating.
     
  8. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea the extra brick protection is always nice. Wont take much longer to install it all either.
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Next time you want to post a list of IOS's, follow the syscheck guide in my signature.
     
  10. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    Yeaaaah, Sorry about that. I feel kinda bad for not doing that. [​IMG]
     
  11. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    Lulz don't sweat it bro it's all good just use the advice for next time xD
     
  12. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    Will do [​IMG]
     
  13. dexter222

    Member dexter222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Land of Fruits and Nuts
    Country:
    United States
    When I answered you in the other thread I assumed you'd already installed your cIOS DOH!

    I highly recommend d2x v6 249[56] and 250[57]
     
  14. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    Looks like those were downloaded via ModMii (in the Wad folder in COPY_TO_SD), so once I use MMM, they will be installed. That might explain why Snes9xGx freaked out on me. It's times like this I feel I don't deserve help from you guys.

    UPDATE 10:08 AM - Installed all necessary WADs via MMM and attempting to reinstall Twilight Princess via CFG. It darn well better work this time and not give me a 500MB wfbs file! Do I need to do anything else?
     
  15. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    For the love of all that's holy! IT STILL DOESN'T WORK!!

    Will post system information momentarily - Assuming SysCheck doesn't stay on "testing cIOS vulnerabilities" for five minutes. Do I change the cIOS under MMM or what? It didn't give me a choice to scan the cIOSes with SysCheck, it just started the second I opened it up. Then the DVD slot started blinking.

    Here is my SysCheck Report
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the syscheck. You don't need to apologize or feel bad about asking for help, if we didn't want to help you, we wouldn't have posted. Trust me, compared to some of the mistakes I've seen some people make (usually because they refuse to follow directions), you are an expert at this. [​IMG]

    When was the last time you updated Cfg USB Loader? Almost all versions of Cfg (including the alphas and betas) are stable, but there have been a few versions that have problems.

    The latest version is v70.
     
  17. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    I switched to v70-222 and tried that, but to no avail, so as a last ditch effort, I'm trying CleanRip. After that's done, I'll merge the ISO files and convert it to WBFS. I believe the command for that is "copy /b file1+file2 newfile". Newfile being "ISO", right?

    Weird. The HDD motor shut off after twenty minutes. Curse you power-saving features!!
     
  18. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Don't bother with CleanRip, your just going to keep having this problem. Use the regular version of Cfg v70 and see if that works.
     
  19. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,304
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I tried that too but to no avail. I'm thinking some stupid power-saving feature is kicking in.

    HDD Info

    Brand: Western Digital
    Model: MyPassport (midnight black)
    Size: 500GB
    Partition: FAT32, which is the recommended one

    This is listed as one of the many compatible HDDs that work with USB loaders

    I've tried both v70 and v70-222 versions of CFG but neither can rip an image larger than 494MB. The game should be around 1.4GB.

    If after doing all this, and it still doesn't work, then the disc is screwed up. Right now I'm attempting to write to an 8GB SD card to bypass it.
     
  20. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Btw, My TP game (USA) is 1.07GB.
     

Share This Page