(TUTORIAL) MS-DOS, Win 3.1 on NES Mini w/ DosBox

Mnecraft368

I hate my name.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
1,759
Trophies
0
XP
2,666
Country
United Kingdom
MS-DOS Setup POC
just cuz



FLASHING LIGHTS!!!


Hello :D

I will be telling you how to get MS-DOS and/or Windows 3.1 on a NES Classic Mini (for the people who can get one)

Note: This will require you to have hacked the nes mini with hakchi2 and know the proccess of adding custom games to it. Also you must have RetroArch installed to it.

Instructions
  • Goto http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/linux/armhf/latest/ and download "dosbox_libretro.so.zip"
  • In the retroarch folder (place to put your ROMS) go to the cores folder and delete everything (to make just enouph space to fit the OS(es)
  • Put the dosbox_libretro.so file into the cores folder
  • Create a .img file with 20-25mb space (i used 25)
  • Look online how to get ms-dos running in dosbox and install it using the .img file you made on a pc/laptop (most guides explain how to make the img file)
  • just a note i cannot provide windows 3.1 or ms-dos install disks as they are Microsofts
  • after installing MS-DOS on a pc go to the roms folder inside retroarch and put your .img file you installed MS-DOS onto in there. Btw if you wanted windows 3.1, install that while the .img is on your pc/laptop and add it into autoexec.bat
  • at the bottom of this page you will find a boot file, preset to boot "c.img" so name your .img file to "c.img" without speech marks
  • before flashing check the size of retroarch by going into the "games" folder (in your hakchi2 folder), right click and hit properties and make sure its under 30mb (Mine was 29mb but it worked fine)
  • if your file size is ok you can flash retroarch to your NES using hakchi2
  • On the nes go into retroarch, load core, cores, dosbox_libretro.so
  • then click load content, start directory, nesdos.bat
  • If all done correctly (probably not this is a crappy rushed guide) you should boot into MS-DOS (or win3.1 if you installed it
  • Enjoy this POC :D
  • Extra: Wii Controller users in 3.1 you can control the arrow keys (ive been told) and so i want you to play minesweeper if you can :D (requested by @nesito but i couldnt do it cos i dont have a wii controller)
I hope you enjoy :D
the below file is a premade loader for MS-DOS (or anything you install to c.img)

Also you may notice it runs into drive e:
this is cos retroarch stole drive c:
 

Attachments

  • nesdos.zip
    228 bytes · Views: 571
Last edited by Mnecraft368,

VirgileVILE

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
95
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,328
Country
France
Honestly, I have no interest in running Windows on the nes mini. But on the other hand, the use of Dosbox interests me. Can you explain how to launch simple games with this module?
 

Mnecraft368

I hate my name.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
1,759
Trophies
0
XP
2,666
Country
United Kingdom
Honestly, I have no interest in running Windows on the nes mini. But on the other hand, the use of Dosbox interests me. Can you explain how to launch simple games with this module?
you should be able to put the games files in the roms folder of retroarch then create a batch file to run the game. Although i wouldnt bother as people have said it can be slow
 

Dannydsi3d

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
38
Country
United States
MS-DOS Setup POC
just cuz



FLASHING LIGHTS!!!


Hello :D

I will be telling you how to get MS-DOS and/or Windows 3.1 on a NES Classic Mini (for the people who can get one)

Note: This will require you to have hacked the nes mini with hakchi2 and know the proccess of adding custom games to it. Also you must have RetroArch installed to it.

Instructions
  • Goto http://buildbot.libretro.com/nightly/linux/armhf/latest/ and download "dosbox_libretro.so.zip"
  • In the retroarch folder (place to put your ROMS) go to the cores folder and delete everything (to make just enouph space to fit the OS(es)
  • Put the dosbox_libretro.so file into the cores folder
  • Create a .img file with 20-25mb space (i used 25)
  • Look online how to get ms-dos running in dosbox and install it using the .img file you made on a pc/laptop (most guides explain how to make the img file)
  • just a note i cannot provide windows 3.1 or ms-dos install disks as they are Microsofts
  • after installing MS-DOS on a pc go to the roms folder inside retroarch and put your .img file you installed MS-DOS onto in there. Btw if you wanted windows 3.1, install that while the .img is on your pc/laptop and add it into autoexec.bat
  • at the bottom of this page you will find a boot file, preset to boot "c.img" so name your .img file to "c.img" without speech marks
  • before flashing check the size of retroarch by going into the "games" folder (in your hakchi2 folder), right click and hit properties and make sure its under 30mb (Mine was 29mb but it worked fine)
  • if your file size is ok you can flash retroarch to your NES using hakchi2
  • On the nes go into retroarch, load core, cores, dosbox_libretro.so
  • then click load content, start directory, nesdos.bat
  • If all done correctly (probably not this is a crappy rushed guide) you should boot into MS-DOS (or win3.1 if you installed it
  • Enjoy this POC :D
  • Extra: Wii Controller users in 3.1 you can control the arrow keys (ive been told) and so i want you to play minesweeper if you can :D (requested by @nesito but i couldnt do it cos i dont have a wii controller)
I hope you enjoy :D
the below file is a premade loader for MS-DOS (or anything you install to c.img)

Also you may notice it runs into drive e:
this is cos retroarch stole drive c:
Can you do a tutorial video on it? It's a little confusing.
 

Mnecraft368

I hate my name.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
1,759
Trophies
0
XP
2,666
Country
United Kingdom
err on what part? Image making or loading on the nes? (btw i thought nobody cared about this thread anymore :))

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

probably wont show the image making as there are many tutorials out there
 

Dannydsi3d

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
38
Country
United States

Mnecraft368

I hate my name.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2015
Messages
1,759
Trophies
0
XP
2,666
Country
United Kingdom
Well I'm not interested in running Windows on it yet but I was wondering about running dos games on it like Doom.
Then why did you ask for help on image making?

For Doom, you're better off running a source port.

Quick search on Google finds https://github.com/elhobbs/prboom3ds . Not sure if there's any other ports that have been updated more recently.
Pretty sure there is a .so file (for nesmini) somewhere else

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

cause thats a 3ds homebrew app :P
 

GerbilSoft

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2012
Messages
2,379
Trophies
1
Age
33
XP
3,977
Country
United States
Then why did you ask for help on image making?


Pretty sure there is a .so file (for nesmini) somewhere else

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

cause thats a 3ds homebrew app :P
Bah, thought this was a 3DS thread for some reason.

Since it runs Linux, the original PrBoom would work: http://prboom.sourceforge.net/linux.html (assuming you replace the NES Mini frontend with a generic Linux distro)

Can't seem to find the version compiled for the NES Mini frontend, though.
 
Last edited by GerbilSoft,

MelonGx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
1,648
Trophies
0
XP
887
Country
China
I personally don't use OP's method to make a DOSBOX game work.
I use my own method:
- Add a DOSBOX game in Hakchi2 by choosing the game's main .EXE file only
- Change Command Line Arguments into /bin/dosbox /usr/share/games/nes/kachikachi/(DOSBOX Game ID)/(Main .EXE)
- Manually copy the entire game into /usr/share/games/nes/kachikachi/(DOSBOX Game ID)/ with either Clovershell + Linux commands or Hakchi 2.16's FTP server

But OP's method may be better on deleting DOSBOX games.
My method requires manually deleting them with Clovershell + Linux commands or FTP server.
 
Last edited by MelonGx,

Dannydsi3d

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
38
Country
United States
I personally don't use OP's method to make a DOSBOX game work.
I use my own method:
- Add a DOSBOX game in Hakchi2 by choosing the game's main .EXE file only
- Change Command Line Arguments into /bin/dosbox /usr/share/games/nes/kachikachi/(DOSBOX Game ID)/(Main .EXE)
- Manually copy the entire game into /usr/share/games/nes/kachikachi/(DOSBOX Game ID)/ with either Clovershell + Linux commands or Hakchi 2.16's FTP server

But OP's method may be better on deleting DOSBOX games.
My method requires manually deleting them with Clovershell + Linux commands or FTP server.
I've tried that but it's not booting up the game. I'm using version 2.16c. I have the dosbox core.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: I do live in the vortex of materialism of any place I've ever been