Turtle Beach PX21 problem

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by overslept, Oct 30, 2010.

Oct 30, 2010

Turtle Beach PX21 problem by overslept at 2:32 AM (3,625 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    My PX21s arrived today. Yay! [​IMG] Very happy. I've run into a problem however.

    I play my PS3 through HDMI on an Asus monitor (NOT a tv.) This is the included diagram in the manual for HDMI setups:

    [​IMG]

    I've skipped step 2, as I only need the sound through my headset.

    I've also had to ditch the PX21 audio cable (the one with a 3.5 at one end and two piggyback white/reds on the other) because my monitor has no red/white, only a 3.5.

    So I moved my PS3 reeeally close to my monitor, hooked up the USB to the PS3 and the 3.5 to my monitor. I've changed the audio options in my PS3 to "Audio Input Connector / Scart / AV multi", but I can't get the sound to come through the headphones. I got the mic working just fine. Any help?
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,391
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    it seems like a screen problem
    you shouldnt need to change any options in the ps3 since your are outputting to hdmi then taking the sound from the screen
     
  3. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    That's strange. I can't find any settings on the screen to change audio outputs.

    It's an ASUS V242h, if that helps.
     
  4. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
  5. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I would, if my monitor had red/white ports. It doesn't.
     
  6. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need it connected to the TV/Monitor. red/white prongs just needs to be connected to the headset prongs
     
  7. p1ngpong

    Former Staff p1ngpong The King is Dead

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,395
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Maybe I misunderstood, but are you saying you just used the USB cable, but have not plugged in any other cables to the headset? Because that diagram says usb is just used for power, regardless of the fact that your monitor has no audio inputs you should use the PX21 audio cable because its the only thing that delivers the audio to the headphones, then select AV as the audio source.
     
  8. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    ^ the USB powers it and needs it for the mic. Audio purly comes out from the white/reds he ditched.
     
  9. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    But my monitor has no red/whites! What else am I supposed to do?
     
  10. p1ngpong

    Former Staff p1ngpong The King is Dead

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,395
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    You don't need to plug it into the monitor, just plug the audio outs from the AV cable into the PX21 audio cable.
     
  11. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Wow! It worked! Thanks everybody. I had no idea that I should be still using the PS3 A/V cables. Thanks again guys!

    Can't wait to try these babies out on CoD4
     
  12. Bloodgod

    Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Tell me how it goes. I always thought about getting a secondary headset to use if my AX Pros die.
     
  13. overslept
    OP

    Member overslept WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WALLY WORLD

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Unbelievable sound. I'm moving from a crappy monitor's speakers to this, so pretty much anything will sound fantastic at this point.

    Chat boost is a nice touch. Comfy earphones, too. Easy setup if you're not a total tool like me.

    Also, if you want to ever go surround sound with these, you can always upgrade with the Ear Force DSS.
     

Share This Page