Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Penny Morecash

    OP Penny Morecash Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Country:

    What are the limitations that would make it not work?
     
  2. jrebey

    jrebey GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Is oot required? Didn't they get kernel access with ninjhax?
     
  3. Plasma Shadow

    Plasma Shadow GBAtemp's Artificial Lifeform
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The fact that they cannot emulate .cia as they need kernel access was what I was getting at.
     
  4. jrebey

    jrebey GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    She's talking about getting kernel access via OOT to make this work. The only real hurdle (if she can get kernel access via exploit which disables signature checks) is loading the game into the sky via diskwriter. I personally thinks it's much easier to write an exploit that loads .cia and .3ds from the internal sd than messing with the sky.
     
    SLiV3R likes this.
  5. Penny Morecash

    OP Penny Morecash Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    GW is only a dumb card, everything that does is in software on the 3DS.
    From what i've read, the only thing special about the GW is it has special commands for security and NAND ability (Pokemon).
     
  6. jrebey

    jrebey GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    By security do you mean their drm checks to make sure you are using a real gateway card?
     
  7. Penny Morecash

    OP Penny Morecash Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Exactly!
     
  8. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25,785
    Country:
    Poland
    The GW is indeed a "dumb card" and so is the Sky3DS judging by what you're doing. At that point you can scratch the Sky3DS out of the equation, use the entry point exploit to downgrade, install a CFW, run an EmuNAND partition from your SD card, install your eShop games and cartridges there and live happily ever after, no flashcart required. You're overcomplicating something that's really simple, you're trying to weld wheels onto a boiler in an attempt to turn it into a steam train - the Sky3DS isn't fit for purpose in this scenario. I'm eagerly awaiting future reports though, go on ahead, I'm just saying that it seems like busy work for me.
     
    gamesquest1 likes this.
  9. Penny Morecash

    OP Penny Morecash Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Country:

    I understand what you're saying but I'm on the learning steam train and my boiler hasn't exploded yet!:rofl2:
     
    Foxi4 likes this.
  10. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25,785
    Country:
    Poland
    Fair enough, just keep in mind that there are solutions for your "problem" and they're, arguably, much better than your approach. :P This'll come in handy when you try to put the binaries onto the Sky cart:

    https://github.com/lukas2511/sky3ds.py/wiki/Disk-Layout

    Should give you all the necessary info regarding flashing your malformed creation custom ROM onto the Sky3DS' file system.
     
    Penny Morecash likes this.
  11. Penny Morecash

    OP Penny Morecash Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Country:

    I shouldn't need to worry about the layout, I'm guessing the DiskTool thingy will do all that for me.
     
  12. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    14,932
    i think the point is that setting the requirement of "making a cfw so i can run eshop games from sky3ds" is the issue here, the "from sky3ds" amendment is a complete waste of effort....you riding your boiler way past your actual destination when if you stopped and dropped the sky3ds requirement you would literally be better off, sell your now "pointless dumb card" and have your rom loader cfw.....sure ride your boiler there, but dont carry it off with you once you reach the station

    not to mention your even further complicating things by choosing a random not very well documented exploit such as oot when a much more logical choice of Spider or CN exists and would be 100 times a better choice for someone looking to make their own cfw, at this point i feel like your off on a 1000 mile road trip to buy something that they sell next door to you
     
    Foxi4 likes this.
  13. WateredFire19

    WateredFire19 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    642
    Country:
    United States
    .3DS / 3DZ ROM's are executables. Like a .exe on Windows. CIA's are archives. They cannot be run directly, but are installed through a CIA manager such as, Big Red Menu, Big Blue Menu, DevMenu, and FBI. Think of them as .ZIPs. Just because there's an .EXE inside of it, doesn't mean you can just run the .zip. You have to extract it, and in the case of a 3DS, install it. Sky3DS is only capable of running executable. Now, if someone would make a 9.X CFW that patched out signature checks , AND Sky3DS updated thier template where you can write the CIA manager as a .3DS file to the MSD, you could run the CIA manager from the Sky3DS on the CFW, install the CIA manager as a .CIA and run it from the CFW.
    BUT IT WOULDN'T HAPPEN
     
    SLiV3R likes this.
  14. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25,785
    Country:
    Poland
    Provided you nail the layout, sure.
     
    WateredFire19 likes this.
  15. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    14,932
    there is everything already in place for if someone actually managed to make a cfw and owned a sky3ds, run CN, use FBI, install dev menu/FBI and there you go done, no need for anything new from sky3ds team....ofc if you where making a cfw you could just as easily make your own custom install protocol like the leaked 4.x cfw and not even need CN, there is pretty much no reason for someone looking to make a o3ds cfw to even think about CN or OOT as an entry point when any exploitable console also has access to the spider exploit or to downgrade to 4.x and use MSET (baring the odd consoles that dont have a browser installed which is like 1/10000 consoles)

    the fact the OP doesn't seem to understand these basic facts doesn't exactly fill me with belief they will get very far
     
  16. AquaX101

    AquaX101 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    716
    Country:
    United States
    Her name is Penny Morecash, I just noticed lol
     
  17. SLiV3R

    SLiV3R 3DS Friend Code: 0473-9069-2206
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,283
    Country:
    Are you telling me that it is possible to run CIAs via CN and FBI?
     
  18. Penny Morecash

    OP Penny Morecash Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Country:

    Yes my last name is Morecash and my parents thought it would be great 'fun' to call me Penny!
    Had all the jokes when I was younger but now everyone I know thinks it's a great name.:grog:
    I guess it's better than being called 'Needie':lol:
     
    AquaX101 likes this.
  19. jrebey

    jrebey GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    So I do see her point in what she is trying to accomplish. She wants to have everything she needs to run eshop content conveniently packed in the Sky3DS. The process would be something like load OOT/CN and run the exploit, then eshop content just shows up in the Sky3DS as another game. No messing with the internal SD card at all. And hey, if she gets it working and provides the info on how to do it then others can take the work further than she wants to by extending it to CFW.

    Or maybe she'll just see the err of her ways and go straight to CFW :)

    She's like a few hours into this.. she may just want to test her own theories.. I get like that sometimes. I wanna code something to see if I was right.. then I go back and make something better after I've learned how to do it. I'll personally give her the benefit of the doubt.. but I won't follow this thread for months :)
     
    Zidapi likes this.
  20. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    14,932
    no you can install them, but unless your in a cfw with signature checks patched you can only install signed content
     
    SLiV3R likes this.
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - working, Trying, Sky3DS

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.