Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tvo770

    tvo770 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    No I mean are you going to use an actual Ocarina of Time card or you going to sky emulator Ocarina of Time. I didn't really make it super clear the first time.
     
  2. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25,815
    Country:
    Poland
    It's same difference, it doesn't matter what she uses, the exploit will work all the same.
     
  3. Duo8

    Duo8 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,578
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Well how far have you gotten?
    AFAIK just patching the ncsd/ncch sig check will work.
     
  4. tvo770

    tvo770 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    Won't she need to make some slight changes in the code if she does sky or am I miss informed.
     
  5. Foxi4

    Foxi4 On the hunt...
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25,815
    Country:
    Poland
    That'll sort out the encryption and signature problems, it won't sort out the fact that the ROM is read from a completely different device than it's supposed to or the problem of putting it on the Sky3DS in the first place (then again, you could just manually burn it to an SD, I suppose). It's really easier to load from the 3DS' SD card, forget the Sky altogether, it's only necessary for the entry point.
    Misinformed. There are readily-available Sky3DS-compatible exploited save files for Ocarina.
     
  6. Duo8

    Duo8 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,578
    Country:
    Vietnam
    If you rebuild the ROM into a card ncsd it should work, as with GW before the CIA thing.
     
  7. tvo770

    tvo770 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    wouldn't be easier to use oot to boot in to the Gateway menu ues it to downgrade to 4.5 and then install custom firmware?
     
  8. Duo8

    Duo8 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,578
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I think he's using N3DS.
     
  9. tvo770

    tvo770 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    She already said it was old.
     
  10. jrebey

    jrebey GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States

    No.. she said:

     
  11. Osmosis

    Osmosis Accidents Happen. Don't be one of them.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    823
    Country:
    United States
    Cubic Ninja. Best bet on 9.0 O3DSXL.

    Heck, just NinjaHax your O3DSXL. You wouldn't even need Gateway and could use your Sky3DS to install it.

    Or does NinjaHax only work on 4.5? I forget... I thought 9.3 blocked it. So a 9.0 O3DSXL should work.

    Not sure if NinjaHax does everything Gateway does, but I know it does homebrew and has kernal access. So... yeah. NinjaHax.

    I understand your good intentions on using Sky3DS, but if you're going to NinjaHAx you don't need the Sky3DS except to run Cubic Ninja to install. Then you can play all the .CIAs you want without the Sky3DS.

    Basically, using Sky3DS to play .CIA is overkill. You'd be much happier just running NinjHax. Play Coin gen, pokegen, system backup, homebrew, and I think it does .CIAs and whatnot.

    The good news is that having a Sky3DS you could just pop in a blank 4GB mSD and put Cubic Ninja and ZOOT on it for the sole purpose of installation for the O/N 3SDXL.

    Good news is you're still on 9.0. You are epic. So jelly.
     
  12. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    14,945
    yeah as i said earlier even thinking of using sky3ds for this purpose is pointless, you can use spider to run your hack so CN/oot are completely un-needed and saying you dont want nintendo checking what your playing so you only want to play it from sky3ds is also backwards, nintendo are just as likely to ban you or do whatever it is your worried about for playing eshop games from a cart, when they where never ever released on a cart and as such even more obviously not legit than installing the cia and running the games from where they where meant to be played from.......so once you reach that obvious realization, it begs the question, of why be so attached to sky3ds, if you have a cfw that lets you install roms, sly3ds is a useless over complication

    you would be pretty much going out of your way to make sky3ds their own GW software when it would actually be easier to just make a cart free cfw, only way doing what your planning to do would make sense is if sky3ds where paying you for your effort....or your a mug
     
  13. Osmosis

    Osmosis Accidents Happen. Don't be one of them.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    823
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, and before you do ANYTHING...

    Download the Gateway Ultra Pack 3.1 and find the loader.dat file. put it on the root of your SD and backup your sysNAND and dump your carts.

    BACKUP BACKUP BACKUP

    Or you end up regretting it like me.

    Then decide where to go from there. If you're looking at writing code and testing, you may want to consider a hard mod usb port. Makes restoring MUCH easier in case you brick it.
     
  14. tvo770

    tvo770 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    she also said this
     
  15. Penny Morecash

    OP Penny Morecash Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    I have made great progress!
    All parts of the jigsaw have been found, I just need to piece them all together.

    I need to port the OOT exploit to O3DS but I'm hoping that isn't too hard. If someone has already done so please let me know.
     
  16. thorasgar

    thorasgar Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,780
    Country:
    United States
    You know if you pull this off and play your cards right you can become quite wealthy. Many others have tried and failed.

    I have learned to never tell anyone they cannot do something. Who knows maybe you are "The One".

    Good luck.
     
    AquaX101 and kirekun like this.
  17. Penny Morecash

    OP Penny Morecash Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    I know what you people are saying about exploits have already been made but with the likes of KARL (that's like pulling teeth) and all the others, I guessed it's about time I learnt something about the 3DS.
     
  18. Penny Morecash

    OP Penny Morecash Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Country:

    Thanks for the comments, not too sure how I would make any money from this and I don't want to. This is just to get a little more out of my Sky3DS card.
    I know that this isn't possible on later firmwares but we'll still have a working card.
     
    SLiV3R likes this.
  19. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18,816
    Country:
    Norway
    They don't work because not being 1:1 they're not signed/encrypted correctly. GW can get around this with kernel access but they used to be unplayable on GW too before they added the patches to bypass signature checks.
    Since Sky3DS just emulates a cart with hardware and isn't a software hack, it can't patch the system. So this will never be possible with Sky3DS alone, some CFW might enable it to work in the future but at that point you could just use CIAs instead and save yourself the hassle of using a Sky3DS.
     
  20. Plasma Shadow

    Plasma Shadow GBAtemp's Artificial Lifeform
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,570
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I honestly cannot see this working due to the limitations of the Sky3DS, but good luck nevertheless!
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - working, Trying, Sky3DS

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.